You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #2

in #science7 years ago

I was on a hike with my daughter and we were looking for a geocache on rabbit trails that went through low growth pines. My daughter could walk under the growth while I crouched and crawled. We had fun; it was like getting off the main trail and discovering the land of fae or something. Anyways, I took notice of a lot of interesting growth in these hidden trails and snapped away with my camera. One of the most interesting were these light green stalks that were topped with a cup.


Right click "view image" to see larger
It was about a week ago, elevation approximately 2,100 feet, Anchorage, Alaska. I did not touch or smell it. haha. You can get an impression of the size by looking at the moss, lichen, and pine needles surrounding it.
Sort:  

Those are Pixie-cup lichen (Cladonia fimbriata) apothecia/fruiting bodies.
Nice pic!

I posted the rest of the photos from that outing if you'd like to check them out. It's the most recent blog entry on my profile.

That short time made me want to buy a macro lens again. I had one a long time ago for my film camera. I may even just snag a macro tube for now (they convert your existing lenses to macro focus by mounting them further from your camera body... and they're cheap). It's a very fun aspect of photography, I just might be using it on ice crystal formations more than anything else with the harsh winter of Alaska quickly approaching. :(

Hah, well imagine that. Guess that's why it was like "discovering the land of fae". Thanks for the compliments on the photo. I took a couple more I'll likely be posting soon. There's some amazing stuff when you get down and look at nature's little details.

There really is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44