You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #2

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Alright! Now I know what that beetle is AND got 3 SBD! Cool beans, thanks mountain.

I remember catching those newts in a lake in Washington when I was a kid with my cousins. Didn't know they were poisonous, but we also never considered eating them. Haha

Sort:  

Eating newts is, thankfully, not generally an activity most kids get excited for.

Yeah! I figure if I keep this up for long enough, people might start posting on it more, too. Or, depending on how much attention this gets, I might have to put it on hold until I get more followers.

I'll look forward to more participation as well, because I'll learn from what others post here too. Who knows what kind of crazy things people can find where they live. That's what I love about following your blog: I always learn something interesting.
Also, the parenthetical comment in the memo for the 3 SBD made me laugh. Did you have to put a classifier on "best"? :)

I can sometimes be too honest for my own good. It was a good one, though, and it did really make me work to ID it.

No worries brother, like I said, it gave a me a good chuckle. Glad I could help you stretch your research muscles. I'm going to participate again this week with a photo I'll use soon in a post. I went on a hike and explored some less traveled land... let's just say my 4 year old daughter could walk standing up, but I was crawling. I found some very interesting flora and fungi I had never noticed before. I'll avoid fungi though since that's not really what you're looking for, but to be honest, the photo I'm considering posting here... I'm not really sure if it is or isn't technically fungi.
Guess I'll find out soon enough!

As long as it isn't for foraging purposes, I'll probably give it a try- but honestly, I'm much, much weaker on identifying fungi than the others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45