Fuji 5Lakes Training Blog - 10/19/2017 - Running nervously on an overpass not made for pedestrians (how it feels to be an anarchist, every day)

in #running7 years ago (edited)

highway-overpass.jpg

Living life as an anarchist is kind of like the run I took tonight--along a long, narrow overpass (an elevated section of road heading downtown)--with no sidewalks and all traffic flying at you from behind. Just waiting for the cops to pull up any second and tell me to get the hell off because this is not a "pedestrian" thoroughfare. Just waiting for some idiot driver to fly by and come close to smashing me into the concrete wall at my side.

Those of us who are aware of the evil nature of the state pretty much feel like this every day. One never knows when the state is going to take an interest in your personal affairs: your finances, what plants you may or may not have in your home, your opinions on politics, whether or not you are collecting rainwater on your property. Actually, the list of things the government deems legitimate reasons to cage and kill human beings is virtually endless.

For those that are aware, and that love peace, justice, freedom, and humanity, to call this "highly unsettling" would be an understatement. It's an absolute living nightmare.

Well, how do I deal? I try to have a good attitude, remain grateful for how fortunate I am in this life, and try to utilize said good fortune in the service of others on the same path, when I can. And. I run. I got the hell off of that overpass as soon as the road got too, too narrow. I got what I came for. A view of the twinkling lights of the city downtown.



Tonight's Run.


DISTANCE: 5.01 miles
AVG. MILE TIME: 9'55"
THEME SONG: "Apartment Story" - The National

Oh, we're so disarming darling, everything we did believe
Is diving, diving, diving, diving off the balcony
Tired and wired we ruin too easy
Sleep in our clothes and wait for winter to leave Hold ourselves together with our
Arms around the stereo for hours
La, la, la, la, la While it sings to itself or whatever it does
When it sings to itself of its long lost loves
I'm getting tied, I'm forgetting why

~*~

PREVIOUS FUJI 5LAKES TRAINING BLOGS:


~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I once lived in Canada, circa 2011. In a middle of the forest as I thought (before I started to travel the world on Google Earth). You see from the birds-eye view it really looks like an agglomeration of houses.

But when you're 17 and literally just started to live your first life after a prison of a Ukrainian high-school, you have no car and you're living in the suburbs of Peterborough, Ontario, going to Trent University it feels like a forest. Like a large still forest, you can't escape. Because escape is a product of time, like any action.

And so I ran. I read books and ran. Exercising nothing but my imagination on high doses of endorphins. My heart is pounding, my legs are burning and I finally become aware of my body. That’s how I was born; when I first felt alive. I’m not numb. I can move. I have the freedom to move; move fast.

It's April, so the snow has melted making it physically possible to step on the firm ground. I’m running through the pages of thoughts, I’m seeing the pictures of the different worlds. I’m reading through lives of people in favor. I’m at the start of my marathon. I drop the University and start to travel.

Once you feel this freedom the running gives you, you can’t go back to being numb anymore. You can’t stop the wheels of your brain. Your burning.

Burn bright child. There is not so much time left for us. Burn till you turn into an old crunchy coal. We shall talk about it once you get there. But for now, try to tickle the ceiling of the sky with your flames so you can hear this warming laugh of the Universe.

I'm kinda surprised no police stopped you on that run.

They even picked on me when I was taking out the garbage to the garbage station which is only 40 meters from my house. It was a hot and humid summer night here in Niigata (you know those actually great nights) and I wasn't wearing a t-shirt.
Enough reason for them to stop me, lecturing me about "THIS IS JAPAN" BS and make me go back home. One guy even asked me for my residence card, that request I answered with a almost yelling "I'm living in this house".
That made them finally leave me alone.
No freedom for topless men!!

However, take care running on streets bro, some drivers here are just nuts..

That's nuts man! Doesn't it make you feel good to know that you pay their salaries so they can go around and harass guys trying to take out the garbage?

Heh.

Thanks man. I'll be careful for sure. Lots of drivers here certainly are not paying attention.

Maybe I should have mentioned it ;)

Still makes me angry when I see them cruising in my yard

good playlist for running is imperative :D
Nice one ;)

To give thanks for the many facilities with which we have counted since our birth and to realize the number of human beings who have not been so lucky is my starting point. From there the good attitude comes to me alone seeing how lucky I am. Having said that, we have been able to see the entrails of the beast (puppet governments run by huge corporations) from my point of view we also have the duty to try to make our people close to us aware of the real situation in which we live.
The vast majority of people know what the status quo is but they are afraid to look at it head-on, accept it, and take steps within their reach to try to change it. At least that's my opinion.

When the road is beautiful, our journey or race will be also beautiful... So, keep running dear friend until you reach your destiny, with your power of "freedom", "love "and" steem"...I have seen lot of incidents has taken place due to unawareness or mistakes for others in our roadtrip.. So, never let to happen such incident, be careful in your every footstep, and running patiently.. Our good wishes and hopes are always with you friend..Take care.. have a nice time ahead..

Thanks so much. I will keep this advice close to my heart.

Hope so dear friend! Take care and have a good day..If you are interested in seeing the another festival of light celebrate here, then invite heartfully to view my yesterday's post... the great "Diwali festival" and egarly waiting for your comment...

I know..you love to take risks..What is life if no risk is taken and if there are no challenges in front of us.. All the best for your run..

Please be careful with your run friend. Yes I agree that you have the vision to find the right way but if from the back and as you mentioned above will.... So please you are my inspiration and good friend,I really care for you though I am not coming to your post regularly due to some problems, I never can forget your supports and appreciation. You know friend I often talk to my friends about you and your strong images and will power. So "please don't ever want to under estimate others "please don't take it another way, I am your great fan so this is my care and love for you. Wish you a very beautiful time my dear friend,happy steeming.

This is awesome and scary at the same time. Way to stick it to the man

Hi @kafkanarchy84,

Being an anarchist in a "said" State means
dealing with stuff like this everyday.

We have to sacrifice our "State Freedom"
to have real freedom ; )

What's nice about it, in your view?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84