Artists (and Everyone!): What Makes You Feel REWARDED?

in #rewards7 years ago

One of our long-time artists came by the gallery yesterday.

It turned out to be a bit of a sad visit, because it turned out that he had mainly come to see us to let us know that he was no longer going to be bringing us new work.

"It's just not fun or rewarding anymore," he said "and my girlfriend and I have been talking about starting a family so I've decided to go back to a full-time drafting job."

Caught in a Squeeze

AliceSavage
Original illustration by Alice Savage

As we talked a bit more, it became clearer that our friend was caught in the same kind of "squeeze" we see more and more artists wrestle with, these days.

For years, James had been making most of his living from doing outdoor art shows and festivals during the summer months-- and a few during the holiday season-- supplemented with consignment sales through a small group of regional art galleries. 

He cited a trend we see at the gallery, as well: People would very much admire his work and commend him on his talent when visiting his booth... and then increasingly leave with smartphone photos of his work, rather than his actual work. 

Not a "Price Thing," a "Changing Lifestyles Thing"

SarahFitch
"Dragonfly Dreamer" ceramic plaque by Sarah Fitch

Guessing-- at first-- that his declining sales were the result of a poor economy (this was 5-6 years ago), James had started making smaller "open edition" prints of his work. But it had made little difference.

But he'd noticed that his "older" (over 50) clientel were still buying his art as before but they were fewer and fewer, while his younger visitors-- who loved his work-- were simply not art buyers

Either they were not homeowners, or were living in multi-person housing situations, or buckling (financially) under the weight of student loans and other debt. 

Art... and Commercial Viability

BradenDuncan
"Purity Unchained" print from original watercolour by Braden Duncan

Of course, James is not retiring from Being An Artist. He assured us that he would always be an artist because he "had to create." However, that creativity would now have to be accommodated within the framework of a "regular" full-time job. 

An interesting aside to this story was his admission that in spite of being "a full-time artist," he'd only had time to paint three original paintings this year! The rest of his time had been given over to the business end of "being an artist."

And so, creativity was just not rewarding, anymore. And not in the "financial" sense, but in the sense that it felt like a burden, or an obligation... and not something fulfilling and enriching.

What Makes Us Feel Rewarded?

James' visit-- although a bit sad-- made us think about the whole issue of what makes us feel "rewarded," in life.

IngeVandormael
"Filling in the Blanks" original illustration by Inge Vandormael

Whereas it can be very nice to "have enough money to do whatever we want," what good is that really if it requires us to give so much of ourselves to get there that we have no energy left over to actually enjoy our success?

Aside from monetary rewards, we can also talk about psychological, emotional and spiritual rewards. These are intangibles... like the old saying "You can't put a price tag on happiness."

If we look at the microcosm of Steemit, it might be "rewarding" to watch the dollar value scroll up when we get upvotes... but many a writer might like to have a $10 post with lots of comments and interaction more than a $30 post purely upvoted by bots.

For an artist, the "joy of creation" and being able to pursue that on your own time might be "the reward," but then again, "being commercially viable" might be the reward-- or some combination of the above.

So this is where we open it up to discussion: First off, are you an artist, writer, musician or other creative? Do you materially depend on your work "for a living?" Whether you do-- or not-- what makes it "rewarding?" What does "rewarding" feel like? Even in you're NOT in a creative field... how does something "being rewarding" manifest in your life? Leave a comment!

 The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Red Dragonfly Footer

Sort:  

My hubby is a painter and sculptor from 30 years. 20 years ago he decided to be a "full time" artist after some years as journalist and it was great because many buyers bought his artworks thanks some exhibition in Italy and in France. He teached art in his lab too, because (as you know) it's very difficult to live just painting or sculpting, but for many years was ok. In these last years the world changed: economic crisis and a different way to show own works. Fortunately my hubby has always been intrigued by the use of the net and the social media, but it's true: in the last 4-5 years we spent more time in marketing on line than on painting... sad but true...

Thank you @silviabeneforti... your husband's story is not unusual; more than a few of the artists we show in the gallery have become "master marketers" in social media, but it also means they have less time to work on art... it can be a difficult balance, in our modern times.

This is exactly why I stopped using bots. I felt that my payout was hollow and I doubted whether or not my writing was actually reaching people aside from those who commented. I've actually noticed my comments going up since I stopped using bots . Now I find myself feeling that perhaps my writing is actually worth much more but that it's not reaching all the right people which i can solve by going out and interacting with others more which I enjoy doing anyway.

It is really encouraging to see people become my patrons on patreon though. It's not the fact that I'm earning money as much as the fact that people think that what I'm doing is worth value, and unlike steemit they are actually willing to sacrifice their hard earned dollars to support me. It makes me feel like I should work harder and become even more deserving of it.

I would much rather have people express interest in my art, to really connect then to just make money. Ideally we can have both but we need to change the culture of how people enjoy art and how they spend their money. Currently many people are more willing to support an artist who is a distant stranger than a friend. I know very few people who go out of their way to support their friends artwork, some even feel uninterested in checking it out, even if they really like these people. It's been much easier attracting my online friends to my patreon than my real life friends for example.

And yes, a big reason it's hard for artists to survive is that most people around them doing have that much disposable income, especially not the other artists they know.

There's too much say about this topic, you may have inspired a few future posts.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @whatamidoing!

Not to get too "deep" about things here, but it seems to me we have to go back to the fundamental underpinnings of why each of us is here.

Let's agree that we're all here for the rewards (on some level)... BUT do the rewards "lead" or do they "follow."

For me, they follow. I am here to create content, and to raise awareness of art, artists and our gallery. As a nifty consequence, we may get some rewards. Knowing there are rewards, inspires me to create high quality content that's hopefully interests, teaches or inspires people... while supporting art.

Now, if I were someone for whom the rewards were leading, I wouldn't care. My only objective would be "how do I get paid?" so I'd use bots, upvote rings and every other dubious mechanism to simply maximize my rewards RIGHT NOW.

As for art, I create because-- in essence-- it's a form of therapy; a meditation... a way for me to keep my mental health in a good place. It's also cool that I occasionally sell some of my creative output... not because I am "trying to make money," but because it's cool that someone likes it enough to actually pay money for it! That serves as a validation, of sorts.

And yes, it's a very complex topic that I shall no doubt be exploring further here.

A lot of the reward is in the work itself when you know you are doing something meaningful but there are great doubts too. Small discoveries and insights in the process are really great. Some rare times you get feedback that makes you feel you have really reached someone and that is quite something. Financially it is really tough and you are putting in more than you are getting back, but that occasional sale does feel nice and somewhat validating. balancing with government check and part time job is not ideal but i can keep a studio space and paint when i got time and energy. I don't have a family to support but imagine it would be quite hard. Steemit does help and now there is even some luxury.

@mikkolyytinen, thanks for sharing your perspective and experience. My own art started merely as "something to do" and a bit of a personal quiet meditation... and then grew because others made nice comments, and I made some items for gifts.

From having a small art gallery and offering 40+ artists' work for sale, I see a wide range of experiences... but for most, it is very much a struggle-- something done during spare time; those pursuing art full-time have very minimal lives and often a part-time "regular" job.

I am a mixed media artist primarily using watercolor and paper. I've never sold my work or been in a gallery, I use my art as a journal to explore myself and grow my artistic skill set...I'm intrigued regarding art sold from POD sites and Steemit is the fist time I've made money through my art skills.

I love your writing skills @reddragonfly, very soothing flow!

Thanks @reddust! One of the intriguing thing about Steemit-- if things go well here in the long run-- is the possibility of creating a mutually supportive network of artists and galleries where everyone can supplement their income to a small degree simply through finding and promoting each other. In a sense, iy would be like a non-stop online peer-curated art show. Of course, just dreaming, at this point...

I loved your story, im an artist, self taught, its just been three years since i started to paint, but i feel so blessed to be able to come up with a masterpiece, the inspirations flows so easily, nature itself is my inspiration. I feel rewarded by comments and appreciation, my greatest critic is my wife. If she is not satistfied with it, i change the whole painting if i have too sometimes to make her satisfied and it also brongs satisfaction to me seeing it done. Im a nurse and i very much enjoy painting as a hobby and a side line, by word of mouth i never run out of clients in the hospital from employees or friends or family, i dont really need the money, but i use it as an investment for better tools and colors, i want the best quality for my work and just seeing what was created makes me feels so rewarded

Thanks for sharing @errymil... sounds like you have found a really nice balance between your creative life and the "external" life... which is surprisingly rare. I am currently on the path to finding that through creating art, and through having our gallery which supports art... and then writing about it.

Being happy even when things don't seem bright makes me feel a sense of reward for myself

And that's a great thing to be able to do! Most people tend to spin into depression when things aren't going well.

I enjoyed your article it was informative and well put-together. I am retired now but for 40 years I supported my heart through teaching.
My son is a gallery artists and much more successful than I ever was having shows throughout the world; nonetheless, his art won't support him and he is forced to work other jobs to get through. Bottom line is it's not easy to be an artist but it sure is fun.

You're exactly right-- it is NOT easy to be an artist. It's a funny thing-- art is widely appreciated and many people would be sad in it's absence... but at the same time, it's not necessarily valued in the sense that people willingly pay for it. Thanks for sharing your insights!

I've spent a decade working long hours dreaming of spending what little time I had to create. Now that I've got the time it's hard to go back to what I was doing before. You've got the choice to work a regular job, make a good wage to support your needs and then you've got the flip side of it. You make less money but dedicate more time to creation. I make my art for me and I'm very happy to share it. I find it rewarding to finish a creation that took months of planning.

This was such an enjoyable read. I wish James lots of luck.

Thanks for sharing @vermillionfox... I always come back to the same thing: Nobody promised these choices would be easy or necessarily clear cut. You choose one thing, you give up something else... what "calls" to you more strongly? It's different for everybody...

Honestly, just having someone notice and appreciate something I have created, a photograph, drawing, sculpture, or something I built, is reward enough for me. Most things I create are just for fun, for me, not with any kind of sale/money attached to them, so seeing someone smile or connect with it in some way makes me happy.

Thanks @steempowerpics! "Being seen" is definitely a nice thing... my own creative endeavors grew out of my experiments I was just doing for grins; then someone said "Cool! Would you make me one?" and I did.... and those were the beginnings.

Congratulations @reddragonfly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44