You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Artists (and Everyone!): What Makes You Feel REWARDED?

in #rewards7 years ago (edited)

This is exactly why I stopped using bots. I felt that my payout was hollow and I doubted whether or not my writing was actually reaching people aside from those who commented. I've actually noticed my comments going up since I stopped using bots . Now I find myself feeling that perhaps my writing is actually worth much more but that it's not reaching all the right people which i can solve by going out and interacting with others more which I enjoy doing anyway.

It is really encouraging to see people become my patrons on patreon though. It's not the fact that I'm earning money as much as the fact that people think that what I'm doing is worth value, and unlike steemit they are actually willing to sacrifice their hard earned dollars to support me. It makes me feel like I should work harder and become even more deserving of it.

I would much rather have people express interest in my art, to really connect then to just make money. Ideally we can have both but we need to change the culture of how people enjoy art and how they spend their money. Currently many people are more willing to support an artist who is a distant stranger than a friend. I know very few people who go out of their way to support their friends artwork, some even feel uninterested in checking it out, even if they really like these people. It's been much easier attracting my online friends to my patreon than my real life friends for example.

And yes, a big reason it's hard for artists to survive is that most people around them doing have that much disposable income, especially not the other artists they know.

There's too much say about this topic, you may have inspired a few future posts.

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @whatamidoing!

Not to get too "deep" about things here, but it seems to me we have to go back to the fundamental underpinnings of why each of us is here.

Let's agree that we're all here for the rewards (on some level)... BUT do the rewards "lead" or do they "follow."

For me, they follow. I am here to create content, and to raise awareness of art, artists and our gallery. As a nifty consequence, we may get some rewards. Knowing there are rewards, inspires me to create high quality content that's hopefully interests, teaches or inspires people... while supporting art.

Now, if I were someone for whom the rewards were leading, I wouldn't care. My only objective would be "how do I get paid?" so I'd use bots, upvote rings and every other dubious mechanism to simply maximize my rewards RIGHT NOW.

As for art, I create because-- in essence-- it's a form of therapy; a meditation... a way for me to keep my mental health in a good place. It's also cool that I occasionally sell some of my creative output... not because I am "trying to make money," but because it's cool that someone likes it enough to actually pay money for it! That serves as a validation, of sorts.

And yes, it's a very complex topic that I shall no doubt be exploring further here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53