Technically Speaking 002: Top FREE Budgeting Apps of 2018

in #review6 years ago (edited)

They say you have to budget while young! If your not 15 anymore it's ok! It's never not too late to budget!

A few years ago I was in the App market for a function-able budgeting app. I got sick of eating instant noodles and losing track of my money so I decided to try budgeting. I needed to plan ahead and manage my money better!


Why You should Budget

My old man would want me to jot everything down in a Diary, but hey...
I'm a milllenial and that's too old school!


Image Source

As an Engineer I decided to build one; But once I saw what it took to write an app, that motivation quickly faded.


Image Source

HAVE YOU SEEN THE AMOUNT OF WORDS YOU HAVE TO WRITE TO CREATE AN APP!?

So instead of creating an app (I don't know what I was thinking, don't ask xD ) I decided to search for one in the market!

There are plenty of budgeting apps on the market, good ones you probably have to pay for. But well, when you're having instant noodles for your meals... Paying for your app is not exactly a good way to start saving. So FREE it is!

So here we are my top three FREE budgeting Apps on the market!

3. Toshl Finance

There's a lot of good reviews for this one, it has good images, the user interface looks good on the outset too. The developers did well to have them connect with you. They would send email reminders and updates, and overall it's a pretty good app experience!


Image Source

On the left shows the expenses and the right shows you the layout of it! It's done very nicely, but for me, I don't really dig a one eyed demon bat thing hanging around with me too much while I plan my budget xD !

2. Pocket Expense

Pocket expense has a lot of very detailed algorithms that really help you sort out your data really really well.

The downside of it though, is that Pocket expense is only compatible to mobile devices like the Ipad, Iphone and other android devices just not your desktop. This is what's most disappointing to me cause I really love the user interface, the functions and the whole outlook of the app😔

Pocket expense gives you a very professional feel to it, but my biggest problem with it is that it is not supported on desktop.

1. Money Lover

Money Lover is the app that I have used for the longest time as I feel it has a great user interface, cute emojis and thumbnails AND it's compatible on your Mobile and Desktop.

It's so easy to use as Favorite feature of this app is that it remembers your most used expenses

The only drawback...

Ads.


Image Source

But If you learn to live with em, this is a pretty solid app to go to!

[Disclaimer: All photos here are all screenshots from my phone unless otherwise stated. Oh, and these numbers are not real numbers too. Just a figment of my imagination!]

Do You agree with my selection? What's your favorite financial app of your choice? Drop a shoutout and let's share notes! :)


Thanks for visiting this page! If you've enjoyed this maybe you might enjoy posts from other series as well? Check them out here!

steem-music

steem-music 004: The Answer //Kodaline Cover
steem-music 003: My virgin steemit roadshow
steem-music 002: Simple Plan Jet Lag Collaboration Cover

Life Blog

Random Musings 004: My issue with Zack Snyder's Batman
Random Musings 003: Are you a bad communicator or just a bad listener?

Sports/ Lifestyle Blog

Sporting Stuff 002: Modern Football

Tech Talks

Technically Speaking 001: One Plus 3 is not 4


cws.gif

cws.gif

Sort:  

I support you make your own, you can call it BUKU 555 !!!

I used Financius for many years. It's a cool little app but it disappeared from the market, so I have to rely getting an APK from somewhere untrusted. It has been replaced by Expensius which I don't know if I like yet.
Great article though, I am also a programmer and I understand the want to create your own..oh and the laziness :D

Thanks for sharing! I had a look at it and Expensius and it looks pretty solid! But I guess I won't make the jump as I'm already very comfortable with the one I'm using.

Programming essentially would be a great skill to have these days though! I visited your blog interesting stuff there! :)

My favourite is money lover!
But I’m not very consistent in tracking my budget haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69