Technically Speaking 001: One Plus 3 is not 4

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Iphone has the best swipe technology, Samsung perfected the curved screen, and Google pixel makes stock apps look sexy! But which one really wins your heart? Android and Apple fans pit against each other with their best contenders.

Apple Invasion.png

Phone wars !!!


Image Source

So many phones on the market, so many variations; Each smartphone competing tooth and nail in terms of specifications. Which phone brand takes away bragging rights as the best phone ever?


I recently had a discussion with a friend on which phone is the best phone on the market.

The usual big players were mentioned, big players like the the Iphone X, the Samsung S8, Huawei, Google Pixel.... you know the usual!

But call me a rebel, I am promoting what I recognize and what they deem as the flagship killer.

I have always loved the fabled story of David and Goliath, and in real life I would support any "David" that wants to take on the smartphone powerhouse "Goliath"!

Pit this Flagship Killer with the Iphone X or the Samsung S8!

I support One Plus!

People near me usually would not stop hearing this. as I'm now sharing proudly to the world!

I am using the One Plus 3! 2 years from now and still loving it!

1452.JPG

Right off the box, the phone radiates proudly with the tagline "NEVER SETTLE"

1435.jpg

A beauty ain't it.
There it is, basking in all it's glory

Right off the Box
Ram : 6GB
Processor : Snapdragon 633
Storage Memory : 64GB/ 128GB
Price : 400USD~RM1600+-
Camera : 8MP front 16MP back and supports 4k video quality

**SoftSpots: **
OS: Oxygen OS

(Apologies though for the blurry camera as that time I was using my Sony Xperia which was at the brink of collapse)

BEST PHONE..............................for me

Like I said in my introductory post, I'm a self proclaimed minimalist and I do not like to dispose things which are still function able, be it if the item is less presentable , as long as it still does it's job!

Thus, I plan to use this phone to the death and I feel with the way it's built it can last me at least another five more years.

The main reason I prefer this over many giant phones is because with the monstrous 6GB RAM and it's smoth Oxygen OS which is comparable to stock android, this would have a very long expiry date! Not to mention the dash charging fully charges your phone in less than an hour!

As compared to other phones where their battery's explode or wont last, they keep updating your software which renders your hardware obsolete! Yikes!


Image from Giphy

BIGGEST DOWNFALL

Biggest weakness Is that it does not have a micro USD card slot. but honestly with USB type C cable;
You really don't need it. USB Type Cable is so much more faster as opposed to USB type 3.0 and USB type 2.0 but if you're using items like thunderbolt, well that's another story!

Two Years in, Final Verdict

which is what I love about the OnePlus phones, it focuses on the bare essentials of the smartphone. Two years ago, the flagship killer's main target was the iphone 8 plus and Samsung note 2.

Weapon of choice was a 8MP camera and 16MP camera, the most megapixels you could fit into a phone at that time. for half the price of an Iphone 8plus. Doesn't that just slash off the market into dividing parties!? It did for me! Their marketing strategy also cuts costs on advertising and relied on word of mouth through customer satisfaction!

Meaning to say you only get the beefed up version of a smartphone that you can actually use..... FOR HALF THE PRICE!

I don't really need to use Face ID. Honestly, I won't really need to use a waterproof phone. It'd be a great feature to have;

But do i always bring my phone to the swimming pool?
Do I always text in the rain?
I DON'T KNOW, Do you?

Would I want to take a selfie, and If I do, can I get a wefie? Only if you have crazy friends maybe!

so Overall,
If you're the badass minimalist, then go get yourself a nokia 3310. seriously. That's what I call the real bare essentials of a phone.

Image from Giphy

If you're like me, you're a decent self proclaimed minimalist, you want to keep up with the trend but still enjoy the benefits of today's technology maybe the OnePlus franchise could be your niche?

I like it despite it's oxy-moron tagline "Never Settle". Essentially in the OnePlus 3 what you get is what the average minimalist should be proud of; Less is More. (Not that I'm complaining though! haha!)

BUT really

Honestly speaking each phone is created to target a specific niche of people so when every one is talking about THE best smartphone, what benchmarks are they putting for themselves. If 0 is Nokia, and 10 is an Iphone X then... do we still really have a standard here? should we generally assume that all phones should be built and reviewed that way?

All phones imo are great phones, they just cater to a lot of other different people.

Maybe you're a designer and you love the whole idea of carrying your whole portfolio in a cloud, you love the whole ecosystem of Icompany; then Apple is what you want to go for. For a price... though haha!

Maybe you want a more universally accepted android and keep up to trend wit the latest technology has to offer, Samsung, Bixby, multitasking might be your thing?

Maybe you don't want to die by an exploding phone call but still take very nice pictures, perhaps try the Huawei P10 with the amazing Leica Camera?

To put the BEST phone argument to bed, just choose the device which best suits your lifestyle! You don't need to impress the Apple nor Android fans. You just need to impress yourself. As for me, I'm easily impressed, just don't overcharge me! So I guess being a an stereotypical Asian, OnePlus does tick off most of the categories being cheap and of good quality!

This is what I look for in a phone, functionality, durability!

What do you look for in a phone? Pop a shoutout and let's chat! :)


Technically Speaking is a blog series I plan to do that takes on most of the newest technologically advanced topics such as Electric cars to cryptocurrency. Get up to date with technology!

Thanks for visiting this page! If you've enjoyed this maybe you might enjoy posts from other series as well? Check them out here!

Food Blog

Concr.eat Foods 002: Deen Maju, The Best Nasi Kandar in Penang?
Concr.eat Foods 001: The Best Kept Secret in Penang you've never heard of?

Life Blog

Random Musings 004: My issue with Zack Snyder's Batman
Random Musings 003: Are you a bad communicator or just a bad listener?

Sports/ Lifestyle Blog

Sporting Stuff 002: Modern Football


Banner Steem-Music (1000x400).jpg

cws.gif


cws.gif

Sort:  

indeed cheap and good is my criteria for a lot of things in life as well. but maybe just when it comes to friends, I prefer them not to be cheap lah :p

ui! don't like that hahaha! okok bah, next phone I buy Iphone.... hahahha!

I don't really mind phone's shape or big screen. What matters to me most is ease of use and reasonably small phone size.

I still find the philosophy of Steve Job valid: Tabbing and clicking on screen and holding a phone altogether with all just only one hand.

Yea! Steve jobs was quite the visionary,
Sadly the trend of most phones is slighty moving away from it again haha!

I, too, enjoy using things all the way to their death. Bumped or scratched, doesn't matter to me as long as it gets the job done. Very nice phone, thank you for sharing. I recently switched to an ASUS, I was pushed into a pool with my old phone and was unable to bring it back to life. I think the screen is to touchy, but other than that, I like thus far.

That's the way man! If you get the chance, you should definitely look into the OnePlus series, I've been promoting so much it so much I think One Plus should pay me as an ambassador ahhaha! But I'm only promoting it because I am thoroughly satisfied with what it has been offering me.

Asus is a pretty reliable brand too, not so sure about the phone but my Asus computer is giving me a very good time 5 years down the road.

Theses days... eventually I feel, most phones will have waterproofing features... but I could be wrong. haha!

They should!! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71