Magic Color Changing Blue Butterfly Pea Tea with Video

in #recipe6 years ago

This bright cup of joy is something I've been waiting a long time for. I'd first come across butterfly pea tea in my kombucha research as I found it was one of the non-tea options for brewing. What really got me and everyone else that loves it is the magic color changing properties of this pretty deep blue tea. It starts off blue, just watch the video! Add an acid, in this case sweetened lemon juice and let it change!

My friend smuggled the seeds for the flowers for me and I just got some plants that started producing within the last few days. I celebrated by making a cup of tea. Butterfly pea tea by itself is pretty flavorless, so the lemon juice adds the majority of the flavor plus it turns it pink.

The pea plant with the frilly vine wrapped around is the butterfly pea plant.

There's also one next to that big bushy plant, known as hoja santa or the root beer plant because the leaves smell a lot like rootbeer and are edible.

The tea is made by boiling the flowers, either fresh or dried in some water then allowing them to sit until they steep this blue and cool. I then chilled it to make this drink.

The flowers are obviously strained out before drinking.

I just mixed lemon juice with some water to make the yellow liquid seen in the smaller glass in the video. Then I just poured the plain tea over it and bam, magic. I love this stuff and want lots more in my life.

Awesome, right?

Check out the links below for more like this one!

White Bean and Mexican Sausage Chili

Chinese Wonton Soup Recipe with Homemade Wontons

Blue Corn Tortilla Chips

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Good Morning Steemit from Rebel Dog

Craft adventures: Working on my very first custom fit bikini top.

Acapulco Nights: Cruise Ship Leaving Acapulco Bay at Night!

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46