Chinese Wonton Soup Recipe with Homemade Wontons

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Blue Corn Tortilla Chips (1).png

Wonton soup is likely at this point my favorite soup and this past week I found out how easy it was to make from scratch, dumplings and all.

I have loved this soup since I was a kid and this rendition was not far off from what I remember loving.

Broth:
2 liters chicken stock
2 sticks celery, chopped
1 onion chopped
3 cloves garlic, sliced
1 t ginger fresh, chopped
1 T soy sauce

Wonton Wrappers:
2 c all purpose flour
1 egg
1/2 t salt
Water

Filling:
1/2 lb ground pork
1/4 pound cooked shrimp
1 t finely chopped ginger
1 t finely chopped onion
1 T soy sauce

  1. Start the broth first, just put everything into a pan and boil for about a half hour with a lid on.
  2. Prepare the filling: Combine everything in the filling and let it sit while you prepare the wonton dough.
  3. Make the dough: Combine all ingredients, knead into a smooth ball. Cut the ball into fourths and roll out as thin as possible. Cut into squares.
  4. Fill them up. Put a small amount in the center of each square then gather the corners to pinch it closed. Set them one by one in the boiling stock when they're ready.
  5. Boil for about ten minutes or until they puff up a lot. You can cut one in half to make sure they're cooked but remember the shrimp will give the center a pink appearance.

Serve immediately although it does reheat well.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
Cherry Garcia Dairy Free Ice Cream
3 Ingredient Chocolate!

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Farm Update: Tiny Pet Chicken Meep Has Gone Motherly Over Babies that Arent Hers
Tequila Dog Two Years After Being Run Over Photo Shoot
Farm Update: Two Silkies Left, meet "Cracker" and "Jack"

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

Wonton soup seems to refresh my soul... giving me a feeling of being relaxed and at peace. Not to mention, it is so delicious especially when you take it right out of its boiling point.

oh dear thank you I love this soup and I don't know how to make really thank! my mouth is wather now!

GOOD. Have a nice weekend. ... from SEOUL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47