White Bean and Mexican Sausage Chili

in #food6 years ago

Chili is one of those foods that was around my whole life but I never really had an appreciation for it until I was an adult. Now I make my own and this last batch was so tasty it was worth sharing. The recent hurricane weather here in Acapulco has brought the type of weather that justifies a good chili, so I made it happen.

1 onion chopped
6 cloves garlic, chopped
500 oz white beans, soaked with a teaspoon of baking soda
1 500 ml jar plain tomato sauce
1 guajillo chile
2 fresh jalapeno, chopped with seeds removed
1 fresh poblano chopped with seeds removed
1 T ground cumin
1 T garlic powder
1 T oregano
3 Bay leaves
100 g double concentrated tomato paste
1/3 lb beef, ground
3 mexican sausages, sliced (we love the artesian style Mexican sausage from Johnsonville)
4 T butter
1 T worsteshire sauce
Salt to taste

It's a fairly simple recipe although evidently just a bit too lengthy for a cute little recipe card image.

  1. Start by sauteing the onion, garlic, italian sausage, ground beef in a pan until golden.
  2. Add the beans, with the soaking water.
  3. Add tomato sauce
  4. Add the chopped chiles, garlic powder, oregano and cumin and the dried chile.
  5. Cover and simmer on low for 3-4 hours or until the beans are soft.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Chinese Wonton Soup Recipe with Homemade Wontons
Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
Cherry Garcia Dairy Free Ice Cream

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Farm Update: Tiny Pet Chicken Meep Has Gone Motherly Over Babies that Arent Hers
Tequila Dog Two Years After Being Run Over Photo Shoot
Farm Update: Two Silkies Left, meet "Cracker" and "Jack"

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

Besides chill, what is your favorite Mexican dish?

I don't actually think chili is mexican, but my favorite "mexican dish" is not an easy thing to pin down lol.

I would say I love Mexican Pizza. It's guacamole and chili based, with sour cream. I tried some at a restaurant. It was kind of like this picture, but I prefer thin crust with cheddar.

1.jpg

muy picante pero ricoooooo

Es no muy picante, este tiene mucho sabor.

Good recipes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88