You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Day 1

in #prepping7 years ago (edited)

I've got a packet of Mountain House "Chicken and Rice", and a packet of Backpacker's Pantry "Mashed Potatoes & Gravy with Beef" to test out. These run 400-500 calories per package.

Are you only running on 1000 calories a day? I don't know your age or height(ed), but you'll need about 2200 calories a day (https://www.lifespanfitness.com/fitness/resources/calories-calculator) to be functional over time.

Watch out for dehydration, weakness, dizziness, and muscle loss.

Don't feel bad about bailing on this test if necessary.

Good Luck!

Sort:  

Watch out for dehydration, weakness, dizziness, and muscle loss.

Thanks for the heads-up, and for the resteem. I don't think I'm risking muscle loss, given that I'm fat, but if I lose weight that's not a good sign.

a couple of things off the top of my head...i.e, may be wrong. best to verify these ;>

  • calories are burned off muscle before fat in situation where they arent being used; IF you are exercising, tho, you are burning more calories
  • you will start losing weight (260 lbs) if you take in less than 3000 calories/day

A couple of days on a "starvation" diet isnt going to hurt you regardless, but BE CAREFUL!

I will; thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65