Food Prep - Split Pea Soup - Part 2

in #prepper7 years ago

Today we make the soup, and hopefully get some canned tonight :)

Waking up the Peas

This part might sound crazy to some people...but...it is always a good idea to say good morning to your peas. Talk to them, give them some encouragement. Remember, peas are shy...

My grandmother used to wake me up on pea soup day and ask me to wake up the peas...she said the soup always came out better when I talked to them. So I would, "Good morning little peas, did you sleep good? You are such a pretty green, and will make a very yummy soup..."
I know, crazy, right? But I have made pea soup in homes where people are like, "Whatever, they are peas, and cannot hear you." and sure enough the soup came out funky and then fermented in a day and a half in the fridge.

So it was years after I started talking to the peas, that Emoto came out with his research on thought effects on the water crystals...and yeah, everything about split pea soup has to do with water.
In our family we talk with everything, because inanimate is not always what it seems.

Anyways, you can talk to your peas, or not...it is just our way ;)

After 24 hours, the peas will be double in size because they have soaked up all the water.

Pea Soup 2a.jpg

aren't they pretty? :)

First we will cut up 3 carrots per pound of dried peas...so I am using 6, and I cut them fairly small so they will cook down into the soup...

Pea Soup 2b.jpg

...and 1 1/2 stalks of celery...so I am using 3

Pea Soup 2c.jpg

Then remove the bone and fat from the broth (if you have dogs they love these), put the broth in a soup pot, with the veggies, and add a good amount of water.

I put this on a med high heat to boil for a while, until the veggies get soft, and some water boils off. We need to reduce it enough to add the peas in...the reducing is important, as it creates the broth. If you add in the peas with the raw veggies the peas will not cook down correctly. (personally, I think it is because the carrots and celery are watching...but science says something about enzymes)

Pea Soup 2d.jpg

Once the veggies are soft, and the broth reduced...

Rinse the peas once more (I just use a little mesh strainer) and then pour them into the pot...

Pea Soup 2e.jpg

LOOK, now these are happy peas :) We could start a garden with them...

Pea Soup 2f.jpg

Peas will sink in the pot and they are super starchy, so once they are added, I will stir it every 15 minutes or so until the soup is done. Burnt peas taste terrible...

I also keep a spoon and cup nearby, and skim off the starch foam before I stir...

Pea Soup 2g.jpg

I bring the soup to a low boil and keep it there until the peas begin to break down...

Pea Soup 2h.jpg

At this point I add in the pork, and 1/2 t each of salt and pepper. This was Not a salted pork, so I do need to add a little bit.

Bring it to a low boil again, until the peas start really breaking down and the soup begins to thicken some. The carrots will still be floating, but they will blend in as the soup thickens.

Pea Soup 2i.jpg

Now turn the heat down to close to low until the soup is nice and thick. Keep stirring every 15 minutes...and put a tilted lid on it so it can reduce some. It still has a couple more hours to go...

My soup still has another hour to go, but I am running out of daylight...so this is what it looks like Almost done. It is still very hot of course, and with the bone broth it will thicken alot as it cools. It is best to re-heat in a double boiler if you put some in the fridge, or can it.

But the only differences between this photo and the finished soup, is it will get smoother, and the carrots will cook in a bit more.

Pea Soup 2j.jpg

Once finished, it is awesome with a simple bread and butter... :)

Thank you for reading :)...I hope you enjoyed!

This is a {Steemit Original} All words and photos by Elew

To read my other Food Prep posts...
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-canning-tomatoes-and-some-red-sauce-today
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-basil-base-sauce-recipe
https://steemit.com/recipes/@elew/food-prep-basic-sweet-fruit-muffins-or-bread-recipes
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-peach-tart-filling
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-strawberry-jam
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-onion-soup
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-old-portuguese-kale-soup
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-first-time-pressure-canning-at-9000-feet-o
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-blueberry-jam-today
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-grape-jelly-part-1
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-making-grape-jelly-part-2
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-portuguese-vinha-d-alhos
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/food-prep-split-pea-soup-1

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 1.86 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @elew. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Delious looking, need some smello'vision here lol
Did you grow your own peas? Was surprised to see they sprouted!
Do you happen to have a cracker recipe? Your writing and pictures
are really great to look at and read @elew :-)

Haha, smello'vision would be cool :) and Thank you <3

No, these were just organic split peas, I bought them in a bag at the grocery store. But peas are legumes, so seeds by all rights. If they are rinsed and soaked the way I showed in part 1, they should always sprout. If they don't, they are not viable and so do not have the nutrients that they should.

I do have cracker recipes :) Once my canning is done I will get into breads and crackers. In the RV I can only can while it is warm enough outdoors to open the windows or we end up with serious moisture issues... The first one might be flippers vs frybread...

Canning will sure STEEM things up! there has been so much
rain here it feels like been canning all summer in this house lol
I await your crackers & breads :-)

Sharing to show others just how simple it is to cook!

Thank you Weetree :) Yes it really is :) This soup takes a long time, but there are like 4 ingredients, and it is sooo tasty and makes a complete healthy meal. I hope it is helpful to others who want to learn...

Agree on how simple it really is!

Haha, I thought I was the only one whos Granny told to talk to the garden and flowers. I've always done it and taught my children as well. Some folks think I'm nuts and that's ok. It takes all kinds, right? I'm not sure who is happier, me or the garden. Oh, and that soup looks amazing!

Oh good, I am glad I am not alone :D It is amazing, I hope you give it a try!

Looks delicious!...

I have to admit, the crockpot is as close to homemade as this recipe will ever get for me...;+)....And, that friendly immersion blender is going to have me pouring a cup of yummy soup on a rainy day. (lol)

I am sure, though I've never tried it; that a mashed avocado, and a teeny, teeny bit of subtle red-pepper flakes, with flecks of dark smoked turkey meat in lieu of the pork, would just be fit for the queen.

Now, nothing against carrots; but, when I'm eating my split-pea soup, I only want to see that beautiful pure green in my cup. Of course, if you set this before me, I'd be loving carrots ;+)...

After seeing all the work that went into this recipe, I am reminded to give thanks for the simple, modern-day gadgetry to save time in the kitchen. (lol)

This post was very-well organized...

Thanks for sharing!

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60