Food Prep - First time pressure canning at 9000 feet :O

in #prepper7 years ago (edited)

So I am a little nervous, canning at 14 lb pressure, and I never used a Presto canner before, so thank you @mousetoes for a great how to video!

So I got the soup in the sterilized jars...

IMG_0590.jpg

Got them in the canner...and waited until it steamed for 10 minutes...

IMG_0601.jpg

The button popped up, I turned the heat down a bit and added the weight...and then THIS happened

IMG_0604.jpg

I am fairly sure this pressure gauge is toast :(

So I am now waterbath canning my soup until I can get a new regulator, and then will have to redo the entire batch...UGH

Edit... I decided the canner is going back, and am going back to a jiggler lid. All American. I cannot be relying on a cheaply made pressure gauge to do canning. All American is twice the price, but 8 times the quality...and the gauge on it is just a guide...the pressure is controlled by the jiggler. This means that if the gauge doesn't work...I can still can.

Sort:  

@elew got you a $1.46 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@elew got you a $1.46 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Agree on the all american! And in a SHTF it can be done on a grill type fire pit. Shared for others to see..

Yes exactly! It will be a far better canner for what we need...

You'll never regret owning an All American canner. I adore mine and if taken care of properly will last generations. Definitely worth the expense when your family's health is at stake.

I agree completely! All American is what we always used before too. When we left the east coast I gave the old one I had (used to be my grand mothers) to my oldest girl...When I went to buy a new one it was sooo much more, so I tried to be frugal, and the Presto seemed to have good reviews. My mistake :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69