Salute your Health | Sunday Sumo Who? Energy Bites!

DSC_0093 (2).jpg

Good Sunday Morning my friends!


The Bird nest is really humming, the grand baby bird has arrived! That means more giggles and gluten free treats for my daughter who can’t eat gluten!


But wait! Don’t leave, trust me you’ll love this!

Before I share these treats, I must ask! Have you tried any new fruits or veggies lately?


Well, I have! And that’s what I want to share with you today! I was visiting market the other day, and basically most of my time is spent in the produce area. I love finding new fruits and vegetables to try! Today I was lucky, Mr. Bird loves oranges and as I grabbed a couple of his favorite oranges I noticed an unusual variety…..


DSC_0011 (2a).jpg

Sumos!


Have you eaten them? I hadn’t, so I was pretty excited to get home and start doing a little bit of research. You’ll probably notice they’re a bit odd, you probably noticed the little knob on the top of the fruit. The Sumo as you probably guessed is an orange, a mandarin orange! These cute little oranges are so sweet and delicious. They say many times they are given as a gift in Japan!


Native to Asia these little guys are often grown in the forest. They’re of course packed with vitamin C but also this beautiful fruit also helps in lowering bad Cholesterol! Because they also contain high levels of potassium, they’re very beneficial in lowering high blood pressure! High in fiber, they’re also beneficial with weight loss and great for digestion

And, they’re really tasty too!


I wanted to try to make something fun with these little guys, not your average bread or muffin so I started experimenting! I hope you’ll like what I’ve come up with!


todaysjourney.jpg


Sunday Sumo Energy Bites!


All it takes

  • Sumo Oranges (qty 1)
  • Sumo Zest (2 tbsp.)
  • Almonds (1 cup)
  • Cashews (1/2 cup)
  • Hemp Seed (2 tbsp.)
  • Cacao Powder (2 tbsp.)
  • Coconut Oil (2 tbsp.)
  • Medjool Dates -pitted (qty 6)
  • Unsweetened Shredded Coconut (1/3 cup)

Sumo Zest…


was what we needed first! I grabbed my zester and away we went! About 2 tablespoons later, we were good to go! The Sumo was done!
DSC_0015 (2).jpg

Walter to the rescue…


that’s my old food processor! He’s almost 42 years old now and he continues to amaze me! A real trooper, always showing up when I need him! I threw the nuts into the processor and processed until they were fine! Added the balance of the ingredients and pulsed away until everything was nicely mixed! I decided to make little half-moon bites by using my cake pop molds, first sprinkling a little orange zest and then adding the dough. Press a little coconut on top and refrigerate or freeze until you’re ready to enjoy them!
DSC_0021 (2).jpg

Voila! A little bite of Sunday Sumo Sunshine!


DSC_0113 (2).jpg


The kids loved these! If you see these cute gems at the market, give them a try! Great in juices, breads, muffins and of course lunches and snacks! A bit of chocolate, orange and good for you!


Thanks for stopping by!
And as always, blessings to you all!!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh, I thought they were lemons when I first saw them!

They sort of remind me of a tangelo (tangerine/orange) Thick skin an easy to peel.

Congratulations on the grandbaby!!!

Your treats are simply divine looking, as usual!

!tip

I was pleasantly surprised with these guys and my husband who is a major orange lover (navel of course) went crazy over these. In fact claiming they were "almost" better than navels, lol They are a mandarin relative according to my research and you're right so easy to peel. Thanks for the congrats...what an amazing blessing and wonder to have this little guy! He is a ball of energy and snuggles :)

I've tried these little guys before and I really like them. (I know. Stop clutching your heart. Don't fall over. It happens.) They're easier to peel than a real orange -- almost like a tangerine. And I think the sections come apart easier than an orange, too. Two or three of them make a really nice little afternoon snack ... so I'm on your side with this one. (Yay!!)

Oh my goodness.....a big win for the bird!!!! lol My husband is a crazy navel orange guy and when he had these he said...omg I think these may be better! You are totally correct, easy to peel and easy to eat. I'll buy them every time :) Glad for your vote of approval, (the bites are tasty too) Thanks @enchantedspirit! :)

I have come across Sumos, although I think they were called somehting else In asia where I came across them so I am sure I would love those treats

WOW a 42-year-old food processor still working well I bet anyone buying one today will not be able to say it in 20 let alone 42 years time

I know @tattoodjay! Every time I start to make something I wonder if it will be the last time...but it still works! Crazy, Waring food processor. It's really heavy too, lol Oh well, we'll see...maybe another 40 years1, lol These oranges are my husbands new favorite :)

They sure don’t make them now like they did back then, and may it last another 4 Years

They are really nice I think there my favorite variant of oranges

the grand baby bird has arrived

How's the little guy doing? Are we ok now?

Yes, yes....you know how little ones recuperate...they never miss a beat! I am totally in love with this little being. Can't play with him enough. My daughter tries to nurse him before he naps, but he's too tired, lol! Score for grandmother! Thanks for thinking of us ! :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 444 (03/31/19)

those look amazing! good old walter - always there for you when you need him!! enjoy all of the time with grand baby bird and the fam xoxoxo

Walter is a great name for him, formal but durable, lol He just keeps on kicking, my personal sou chef! We're wearing that baby bird out...your sister can't keep him awake long enough to feed him! Score! oxoxox miss you :)

Yup... we get these sometimes in local Thai markets. Very yum!! Dont need to cook with them... just peel & enjoy.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know, they're are definitely better than any other orange we have. In fact, my husband loves them so much I had to grab one out of his hand in order to make this recipe, lol (jk) Glad you get to enjoy them too!!

Oh sweet... just by looking at that huge orange, it gave me the 'sour' face. Zesty! I could use something like that right now

This orange is a beast, My husband is an orange fanatic and he looooved them. The zesting was a little dicey....not quite the tough exterior of most oranges, lol Thanks @zord189 :)

Actually in Malaysia, in Chinese cooking, we use the orange skin to do desserts too. In several Chinese Cuisines, they use the skin to boil as well.

Never even heard of sumos before! How cool! And you got so creative with them! ♥

They are so neat @squishysquid! Even tastier than navel oranges. My hubby was soooo happy! :)

Can I have a bite? They look DELISH @farm-mom

They are, and my daughter loves them because they're low in sugar and gf! Thank you @farm-mom :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97