Positive Reflections: Be Kind To Others And Myself

in #positivity7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

During my Trans-Mongolia Adventure, a lot of time was spent on the train as I traveled from Beijing all the way to St Petersburg. As such during the train journey, I had a lot of time on my hand and often I would reflect on what is happening in my life. In fact I have already shared my reflections in these two posts; Reflections On My Trans-Mongolia Train Journey: Health Is My New Wealth and Reflections On My Trans Mongolia Train Journey: Less Materials Is More. I am very much encouraged by the response that I received and I would like to continue writing more positive reflections posts.

During my Trans-Mongolia Adventure, I have experienced small acts of kindness, whether it is someone who helped my wife with her luggage when boarding the train, showing us which platform to board the train or explaining the train schedule. English is not widely used here and in Russia most of the information in the train station are in Russian. It is a bit stressful and can be confusing for those who can’t read Russian. These small acts of kindness mean a lot me and reassured me that I have not missed my train, or I am waiting at the right platform or I am boarding the right carriage. I also met a number of Russians who shared the same compartment with me and Roselind. The Russians could almost zero English and we could not speak a word of Russian. Somehow we can able to connect through our smiles, gestures, the sharing of food and showing each other photographs of our loved ones. Kindness however does not need words to convey and cuts across language barriers.

Besides being kind to others, I also need to be kind to myself and treat myself well. I need to learn to be not too hard on myself and beat myself up. A lot of people are kind to others yet treat themselves too harshly. I should treat myself the same way that I treat my best friend. That means forgiving myself if I made a mistake, giving myself at pat on my back if I have done something well and giving myself a break once in a while. When I can developed self-compassion, I can be more compassionate to others.


Follow me and be positive always.

Do check out my previous posts.

Newbie Nuggets: Using Spectacles To Enhance Engagement With My Followers
Is Taking Too Many Selfies A Symptom Of Mental Illness
God, You Are My Everything

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Great writing!

You are so right.
Just be kind to others and to yourself.
It's beneficial for us.

When we are being kind, we are showing our humanity.

We share the same thoughts. Another poem of mine.
Thank You Lord (An Original Poem)

Thanks for sharing.
I will read it :)

Small acts of kindness there is where humanity is.

That is very true bro. To the doer it may just be a small act but to the receiver it can have a huge positive impact.

Usually the recipient remembers. The giver may forget.

As the Malay saying goes, Hutang wang boleh dibayar, Hutang budi dibawa mati"

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thank you so much.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Always have loved your posts! Keep it up

Thank you so much for your compliments. It is encouragement like this that motivate to keep on writing.

Love your positive reflection posts , and like me spreading around positivity , one post at a time ! Great photos too , thanks so much for sharing with us all !! Upped and resteemed !🚀👍👍👍💕

Hi Karen, thank you for sharing the same vision. Together we can spread positivity and cheer at Steemit. Your support is very much appreciated.

For sure my friend ! Keep up the great work !!💕👍

@karenmckersie I agree with you. Spreading positivity is so important. I am also someone like that.
It gives strength, it empowers people and for me, I​ love it to see when other people rise​ :)

I think I​ have to check out your Profile as well :)

That's awesome !! The more the merrier !! Following you now ! And if you like food posts I just started a new account 2 days ago for all food stuff only !! My other account name is @momskitchen ! If you ever post about food let me know and I will follow you there as well , im trying to keep this account with only foodies and like minded people ! Hope you check it out !! Thanks!💕💕💕✌👍

You are honoring me.
That a person like you is following me is a blessing :)
I will check out your food page :)

Awe your to kind ! Thank you !👍✌💕

You're welcome. :)

Great message @positivesteem. Kindness us a universal language. We can our own worst critics sometimes. Life is a never-ending learning experience. We shouldn't be too hard on ourselves when we fail, but we must learn from the experience and move on. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for dropping by. The message that I shared is actually known by a lot of people. This is just a gentle reminder for us. As you say, we should not be our worst critic. Seems that we have similar thoughts. Following you to get to know you better.

Thank you for dropping by. I am so happy that more people from Kuching are joining Steemit.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

simply beautiful !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62781.37
ETH 2461.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64