Reflections On My Trans-Mongolia Train Journey: Less Material Things Is More

in #positivity7 years ago


Image Source

When packing for this trip, I tried to pack as little as possible. But I still end up with a cabin sized suitcase and a small back pack. During the trip, I found out that there are a few things which I brought which were necessary. For example, I bought a few souvenir t-shirts along the way and so I should have packed less clothes. I have seen others struggling with huge suitcases, trying to drag them when boarding or disembarking train or trying to store them in the compact storage provided.

The additional luggage that I brought became burdensome, and this reduced my agility, restricted my movement and in general diminished the enjoyment of my trip. It was tiring to carry the luggage up and down stairs of train stations.The same principle applies in our lives. We need to ask ourselves, whether we are focusing too much of our lives in the accumulation of material things. Are we acquiring too many material possessions that they have become cumbersome and are a burden to us. We must also remember that some equipment and gadgets that we own need regular maintenance and care which in turn require our time and effort. When we have too many material things, our houses become cluttered. This will deprived us of the enjoyment of the few important thigs that we treasure. The solution here is not more storage space but to get rid of or donate things in our house that we no longer need.


Image Source

As with the physical baggage, the same can be said for the emotion baggage which we carry. Are we worrying too much about the things that we have no control over? Are we thinking of the past too much or worry about the future that we forget the present moment? Are there past hurts, sad incidents, hatred or unforgiveness that we still cling to and are unable to let go. We must remember this very important fact. If someone has wronged us, it is normal for us to feel hurt. If we keep on remembering the past act and continued to feel hurt, it is not the person that hurt us now but our memory of that person’s act that is hurting us. By letting go, we are caring less emotional baggage, and are able to enjoy our lives better.


Continue to follow me on my adventure.

Do check out my previous posts.

Newbie Nuggets: Using Spectacles To Enhance Engagement With My Followers
Reflections On My Trans-Mongolia Train Journey: Health Is My New Wealth
Is Taking Too Many Selfies A Symptom Of Mental Illness
God, You Are My Everything
Hidden Gems Of Magnificent Moscow Part 2: The Izmailovsky Market

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks for sharing.

Reminds me of my journeys!

Thanks for stopping by. Do write about your journeys as well. I love traveling and will continue to write about it.

Excellent!
Yes, I will introduce myself and in a week or two, then write about travels and interests almost every day, soon after.

Great post ! We all have emotional baggage we need to learn to let go of , you are so right my friend ! Thanks for sharing , less truely is more ! Steem on !😊👍💙

Thank you my friend. We must all learn to let go, even we want to move ahead.
So what is mom cooking in the kitchen now?

This post is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15