Dare To Fail: Dream Big But Fail Small

in #positivity7 years ago


Image Source

Today’s post is inspired by Billi Lim’s book “Dare To Fail”. The fear of failure is one of the major factors that prevent us taking actions to achieve our goals and dreams. But if we take a look at the successful people around us, we will find out that they have more failures than success. For each major breakthrough, they may have encountered a series of setbacks. Jack Ma for example was unable even to get a job at McDonald and KFC. But that did not stopped him from finding success with Alibaba. Therefore the question that we need to ask ourselves is this “Why are we so afraid of failing?”


Image Source

What Does Failure Mean To You?

Failure paralyzed us because of the meaning that we attached to it. If we defined failure as final and permanent, then we would try to avoid failure at all cost. It is as if we are only given one shot in life, if we failed once, we will never be able to succeed again.
However if we see failure as feedback, we are able to pick ourselves and try other course of action or options. Then we would have the courage to fail. Failure is only telling us that actions that we have taken had lead us in the wrong direction, learn from our failures and move on. Failure is an option but giving up is never, never, never an option. It is only when we give up that our failure becomes permanent. As the saying goes, winners never quit and quitters never win.


Image Source

Dream Big But Fail Small

When we have a dream for ourselves, make sure that we dream big. Give life all that we have and do not settle for anything less that we can be. And if we finally achieved our dreams, do not stop there but go for even bigger dreams.

So what do I mean by dreaming big but failing small? Success is a journey and this journey consists of a series of steps to be taken. The practical way of achieving our dreams is to break it into small doable actions that we can do on a daily basis. When we implement these actions, and we failed, we only failed small. It is very easy for us to pick ourselves up and continue to move towards our dreams.

My dream is to be a motivational blogger who is able to touch millions of lives. That is a very big dream but at this point in time I do not have to burn all my ships, quit my job and blog on line fulltime. What I need to do now is to produce quality content daily, find ways and means of spreading my message online and to build a following. Along the way, I have encountered a series of setbacks such as trying to find my niche, producing posts with very few views and most of all my lack of programing and coding skills. When I first started at Steemit, I did not let low views, almost zero earnings and lack of technical skills stopped me. Now as a veteran minnow, my posts has more views and higher earnings and I have picked up some technical skills along the way.

So what is failure to you? If you are able to overcome your fear of failure, what do you think you can achieve in your life? Do share your thoughts in the comments section.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Success Leaves Clues: How @jerrybanfield Succeed At Steemit
Wisdom From My Autistic Son: Turning Brick Walls Into Stepping Stones
Living The Life Of My Dreams
The Steemit Website Is Down But If You Looked Hard Enough There Can Be Some Opportunities
Positive Reflections: Continue To Dream And Dream Big

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

U are an amazing man. I wish to meet u one day.

Thank you for your compliments. I am just an ordinary person who is going after my dreams and at the same time to motivate others to do the same. Are we friends at facebook yet? if not do add them. I usually post my article at team malaysia facebook page.

Yes failure is an experience that scare most people until they fear to take on a task @cleverbot that carry's the risk of failure. So make your goals small as you build the stairs necessary for your steps to success.

But why should you care what I call you?

Good post. Please upvote my post if you dont mind. Thx

I liked your matter of time poem

thank you very much, i will write the good content to share my experience to the other

I am sure that you will have many experiences to share with others.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 14.58 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @positivesteem. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Great post, very impressive one. Thanks for sharing.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 25.12 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @positivesteem

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You provide helpful perspective. Very much appreciated.

Thank you for your comments, my intention is to motivate people to get out into the world and chase their dreams. Following you.

Your "indirect" approach is appreciated also, lol Yes, I've been working on a certain small- next step so that I actually provide something more for you to follow. I'm a chronic -starter-, putting time and energy into ideas but often I suddenly lose momentum when I need it most. Exposing the problem is a strategy I'm trying, to sustain my awareness and raise my sense of accountability. Thanks for the nudge.

It is very important to follow-up and to carry through. Otherwise it is just a lot of hot air in the beginning. We need to be able to sustain our efforts. Sorry for being so direct, but this is a reminder for me as well as for you. Good luck on your Steemit adventure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61