Poetry Dice 3000 Entry - Roll 12 - Losing My Religion

in #poetrydice7 years ago

religion.jpg
I turn and view the church one last time
its pyramid topped spire shooting upward
a metaphoric arrow aimed at the heavens
I wave goodbye to you, religion, and to the flock
No longer will I be held to your ideology
Your light casts more shadows than substance
I can no longer follow blindly with hope
The deity of your faith has failed me
taking from me what mattered most
his life extinguished in the blink of an eye
like a shooting star falling from your heaven.
As I lay my child into the earth, so shall you go.
I will burn the bridge that binds us complete.
My rage at his end was a lightning storm
full of fury and hatred and pain and tears.
Those tears washed you from my soul
as easily as you washed away my future.
I know not which way I go from here
I only know I'll have to move forward alone.

JAPH2.gif

Sort:  

This post has received a 4.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @japhofin8or.

Heartfelt, raw realness. Sometimes when it comes to pain, that is unshakeable and overbearing, during these dark hopeless, lonely times, there are no answers. This went beyond, writing a poem, or just a story, I received it as the expressions from deep inside of heart spirit and mind. Thank You @japhofin80r for lifting your voice in this way.

Thank You for noticing my poem and your insightful commentary of it. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69