Literary Hostage; Steemit Slam #1 Entry

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3319.JPG

Hello everyone, Iggy back on your feed again! Today I am posting a new (hastily written) poem for @poetrytrail's Steemit Poetry Slam Contest #1 - Leaving. This first contest is based on the theme of leaving in which we writers were allowed to interpret the theme as we saw fit. I chose writers block and the inability of words to leave. So now I leave with you:

Literary Hostage

Words of prose and beauty
Bounce within my head
Describing truth and stories
Of those living and dead

But my pen became rusty
With stacking years of misuse
I no longer write for my sanity
Or to escape self inflicted abuse

And thus rusted the door of mind
Trapped words ever fleeing
To escape the haze inside
But the best words are never leaving

Check out my previous writing posts here:
Social Experiment
Life In My Hands
Angels of Hell: Tales of the Horsemen
Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Death

Sort:  

Just resteemed!

You are definitely appreciated!

I enjoy it. You deserve my vote.

Thank you. @Yehey

Awesome, thanks!

I love very honest poetry.. well expressed.

Much thanks. Thanks for reading!

I can definitely relate to this @iggyg85, there was a long period where I completely stopped writing, because it was becoming too intense and painful for me. Also, I started being very critical of my work and no longer thought it was good. I guess it's a good lesson, we should keep creating because it's healthy for our spirits, no matter how bad or good we may judge it to be. I enjoyed your poem, thank you for sharing!

Much thanks to ya! I've almost never truly liked any of my writing, just the fact that I created it. Not to say I hate it all, I just always see what I could've done different long after writing.

I really like it! :-)

Thanks for playing along Babe! You get 100% upvote & resteem for participating in the one human basket! :D

I curate poetry with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out about it here where there is also a poetry dice challenge!

Thank you much!

I guess that as veterans this is what we now do best, poetry, good job partner.

Much thanks, it's true that our experiences influence our creative needs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64912.75
ETH 3524.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42