Life In My HandssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

IMG_3270.JPG

Here is a poem I wrote many years ago. The story within is a 100% true event. My poetry skill is not the best, but it is something that I used as an outlet for stress for a long while.

IMG_3250.PNG

I am what one would call
A Person Otherthan Grunt
Generally I'm safe
From those that my brothers hunt

Communication is my skill
That helps grunts talk far and wide
When the sh*t hits the fan
And they try not to die

But they're lives aren't the only ones
With excitement in those lands
For we go on convoys too
That led to life balancing in my hands

A gunner has the dangerous job
To protect his fellow soldiers
I happened to be one of them
Vigilant in my endeavors

One fateful day in Baghdad
Cruising an open highway
When a car came across the median
Heading straight our way

I signaled them to stop
But they didn't even slow
No time to call it up
My heart was in my throat

As a pointed my weapon
The passenger wife was freaking out
Causing the man to slam his brakes
Any closer I would have taken them out

But not all soldiers
Are quite as lucky as me
They had to take those lives
That haunt them in their dreams

IMG_3247.PNG

Thank you for reading.

*Pictures are from google search with various owners
**Divider provided by @nixklick
***Signature provided by @thewolfofcrypto

#veterans

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing man. You should keep writing if you feel like it's a good outlet for your experiences. In my opinion expression can help anybody, whether it's music, poetry, visual art, etc., get things off our chests. Actually, even though I've never been in the military, I've thought of scenarios like this... like what it would feel like if someone ran into the road and you hit them.. and were haunted by guilt even if it wasn't your fault.

Too true, creative expression is definitely a key tool for helping those that don't like talking about their traumas.

Very interesting and amazing poem.I really appreciate to you.Thanks for sharing.The logo for follow,Resteem and upvotes Is also so good.

Thank you much! If you would like a logo too you should contact @thewolfofcrypto

Okay.Thank you.

What a terrible feeling that could have been. Thanks for Sharing.

It is a terrible feeling indeed, but I was willing to do what I had to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61281.76
ETH 3378.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55