[POEM] of Ella Wheeler Wilcox - "Love's Language"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DSC_3210.JPG


"Old" if you judged it by its cover. But this book of poems by Ella Wheeler Wilcox lives eternally for the words in it are so precious and very well said!

This is just a pound book I've got in a charity shop and this book worth more than that!

🌟

I love poems. And wish I am good. Wish that I could write as good as great poets in the world. But no, I am not. I am just a mere fun, adoring their works, their words. And this is the first poem that I've read from Ella's book.

I just want to share this lovely poem of passion and how she describes it so perfectly..

DSC_3212.JPG


L♥ve's Language

How does Love speak?
In the faint flush upon the tell-tale cheek,
And in the pallor that succeeds it; by
The quivering lid of an averted eye
The smile that proves the parent to a sigh.
Thus doth Love speak.


How does Love speak?
By uneven heart-throbs, and the freak
Of bounding pulses that stand still and ache,
While new emotions, like strange barges, make
Along vein-channels their disturbing course;
Still as the dawn, and with the dawn's swift force.
Thus doth love speak.


How does Love speak?
In the proud spirit suddenly grown meek
The haughty heart grew humble; in the tender
And unnamed light that floods the world with splendour,
In the resemblance which the fond eyes trace
In all fair things to one beloved face;
In the shy touch of hands that thrill and tremble;
In looks and lips that can no more dissemble
Thus doth love speak.


How does love speak?
In the wild words that uttered seem so weak
They shrink ashamed to silence; in the fire
Glance strikes with glance, swift flashing high and higher,
Like lightning that precede the mighty storm;
In the deep, soulful stillness; in the warm,
Impassioned tide that sweeps through throbbing veins,
Between the shores of keen delights and pains;
In the embrace where madness melt in bliss,
And in the convulsive rapture of a kiss
Thus doth Love speak.

♥ ♥ ♥



You know what my favourite line is?


How does Love speak?
By uneven heart-throbs, and the freak..

We all experienced it! This brings me back memories, like while reading it, when did I feel that sort of thing. Like it took me somewhere, made me feel that moment. Haha..high school days.. Crush.. When my heart pumping faster than usual..

How she writes it so beautifully with all those metaphors and like she knows everything going on.. How the poem connects to you while you're reading it. Like I need that connection she did easily made. It's great! I will keep reading more!

Which part of Ella's poem do you like the most?

🌟 SHARE WITH ME!🌟



I didn't copy anything online and type the poem from the book that I've got manually but since this great poem is surely on the web, here is the link I found that have the poem on their site.


Read more of my posts:

Poem

Travel Posts

Newbie Guide


THANK YOU SO MUCH!


Vote for your Witnesses!
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

@steemgigs | @precise |@cloh76.witness | @ausbitbank | @donkeypong | @blocktrades | @beanz | @patrice | @reggaemuffin | @curie | @aggroed | @themarkymark | @jerrybanfield | @adsactly-witness | @utopian-io | @cervantes | @roelandp | @timcliff | @netuoso | @ocd-witness | @blueorgy | @suggeelson


DQmfY2F1Au78A46UAtdTk9BgfiNuHo1DYSss2EonkQkBTsu_1680x8400.png
IMG_20180131_104817.png

Sort:  

Hello steemit user!
i just upvoted your post.
I use my steem power to help people like you to gain more attraction.
Please consider doing the same for my posts.
Have a nice day :)

thats a cool pen! and the poem is also good. the freak, huh?? :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61