5 Tips If You are Traveling Rabat, Morocco

in #travel6 years ago

DSC_1758.JPG


Morocco maybe one in your bucket list to travel this year and it really should be! A rich in culture country, flat roofs, amazing architectures, walled city, markets and nice people. A great experience for sightseeing! It will not disappoint you.


DSC_1525.JPG


Rabat is the capital city of Morocco. And is the only city I've been during our visit. Though Rabat is accessible to other cities like Marrakech, Fez, Casablanca through tram or train. You can go anywhere and to the desert that we are not able to do.


DSC_1472.JPG


We are having our holiday, my husband and my daughter a 3 hours and 15 minutes direct flight from London Stansted. We didn't change currency and just decided that it is much convenient to lift money from the ATM.

1 GBP = 12.9536 MAD

Source

And these tips can be useful to your coming visit.


  1. Arabic and French are their main language in Morocco and they cannot understand or speak English.
    French because Morocco was invaded by France. So if I were you, try to learn some basic French sentence or you can have google translate ready!
    It is really hard to communicate to them and google translate do the job for me. Even street signs don't have English Translation.

  2. Have small bills and coins.
    You need to take taxi most of the time to go somewhere. We experienced paying a bill and not getting our change back. But others are so honest that will give you exact change based on your meter. Some will give you a fixed price(much higher). Make sure you asked the fare first before anything else. And a tip for anything that satisfies you!

  3. Check the weather and their season.
    I don't know why It's programmed in my mind that Morocco is a hot country. Maybe because I'm thinking of the camel and the Desert and I end up packing for the heat. We chose Rabat because we want to go to the beach. I even bring our swimwear. And all of a sudden, it's freezing cold and I didn't bring coat with me. June, July and August are their summer. So don't do the same mistake that I made lol. Check the weather to know what you need to pack in your luggage.

  4. Dress comfortably when you are going to Rabat Medina.
    The Medina is full. Different varieties of shops and restaurants, full of people anywhere I go. Forget about wearing sandals for some places are dumped and get ready to bargain for the prize to pay.

  5. Choose the best means of transportation.

You can go anywhere but you have a choice to go around and save. Aside from walking which is worth it you can roam around through:

1517019277880.jpg

Tram
It only costs 6 MAD for one use and it works from 6am to 11 pm from Monday to Sunday. There is a tram every 10 minutes during the week and every 20 minutes during Sunday.

Petit Taxis
Yellow in colour, mostly Fiat UNO and Dacias. The minimum fare is 5/6 MAD and won't exceed to 30 MAD. Check the meter to avoid over charged. This is the most inexpensive way to get around the city.

IMG_20180127_021221.jpg

Grand Taxis
White in colour and if you don't want to be ripped off then avoid the white Mercedes Grand Taxis because they are much more expensive to travel around Rabat.


DSC_1833.JPG


Morocco is a great place! I did not see a single dog, cockroach or ants either. Prizes in shops compare to UK are roughly just the same. I really not see anything cheap here. Lots of restaurants and food everywhere but be careful. On our first night and we are so hungry, we seen a street shop and order sandwiches and the man literally just using his bare hands to prepare the sandwich. I have a child and I don't want to be sick while on holiday so be careful of what you eat. Lots of places to go to and feed your eyes with beautiful views. And this I'm gonna be talking on my coming posts when we come back. Still in Maroc!☺


1517017440314.jpg


Feel free to ask me anything. I will try to answer if I can!


1517018674776.jpg


THANK YOU SO MUCH!

dearjyoce-1.png

Sort:  

Hi there! :) so if i usually boil 1 egg for 10 min. does that mean that if i do 7 eggs at once, i boil them for 70 minutes??

Chinito I don't usually do lol. So you have the answer 😂

:P but for real.. i found that 12 minutes to boil a whole pot of eggs works good..

great tips!!! thank you for sharing... great post!

Thank you dear. I appreciate ♥.

I will think of this post if I will be there :)

Haha.. Thanks Jason! Cheers 🥂

Nice tips, sana makapnta dyn someday. :)

You will Madam. Anywhere in the world you wished to go to!

:) tnx for the tips!

Thanks Ben! Yey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23