Old Medina in Rabat, Morocco

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Morocco, Morocco though at first you failed me with your weather when I thought you are warmer than the UK but the beauty in you didn't fail my wondering heart.

Here I am again sharing my recent trip to Morocco, giving you ideas of what you can do, where to go or what you need to know if you are visiting Morocco in the future.

For this post, let me bring you to the Medina. If you read my post about our Riad in Salé where we stayed during our trip then its just a taxi away to the Medina.

"Medina" is the old part of Rabat and it's walled. It has narrow streets, mosques and marketplace.

DSC_1818.JPG

Whenever we're walking in the street I feel like we're really in the old city. It really feels ancient! The wall as you can see protected the city during war long time ago.

DSC_1755.JPG

DSC_1758.JPG

DSC_1763.JPG

DSC_1882.JPG

Watch this:



We get inside the medina and I want you all to know that it's full. Without any idea whats inside before we go, now I know it's like being in Quiapo or Divisoria in the Philippines.

There are some establishments there I don't know what is it because it's in Arabic. Let me remind you, there's no single sign in English. It's either Arabic or French. Morocco is colonized by the French and that's the reason why.


DSC_1769.JPG

DSC_1765.JPG

DSC_1767.JPG

DSC_1768.JPG


The marketplace is really full! I remember how I had a hard time getting a coat because honestly I didn't bring any coat with me and I packed for summer holidays kinda thing because I really thought it's hot in Morocco! But no, it's just same in the UK.

Guys just watch this short video what's in their marketplace:


Did you see how many people go to the medina and different varieties of stuff they have? I also saw the sugar cane(fresh juice) that I love to sip when I was young.


DSC_1773.JPG


Here are some more pics.


DSC_1771.JPG

DSC_1777.JPG

DSC_1774.JPG

DSC_1775.JPG


And when you keep walking, you get tired and hungry and so you must eat lol! I'm with my husband and daughter and bringing the stroller in Medina was not a good idea. But nevermind, let's eat!


DSC_1782.JPG

DSC_1779.JPG

DSC_1778.JPG


And see, I'm too hungry I forgot to take a picture before having a bite on my fish lol. The food is okay for I love seafood! There are lots of restaurants to choose from. But if we eat what we usually eat, we will not taste there's. And this is a great experience to taste other country's food!

And while we're eating, Tia walking around and everyone's kissing her. Like really man and woman passing by. Be warned if you will bring your child and they started to kiss your baby so you will not be surprised. They not mean any harm I know, they just want to say she's adorable.


DSC_1805.JPG


We came out of the medina and this is what it looks outside. I love it! It's so alive! The palm trees, the wall, the crowd, the street. I love everything about it! Still, have lots of vendors. There's fountain, cars for rent for kids, lovers haha .. And me taking pictures and selfie!


DSC_1811.JPG

DSC_1808.JPG

DSC_1827.JPG

DSC_1834.JPG

DSC_1815.JPG

DSC_1856.JPG

DSC_1872.JPG

Watch this:




And after that, walking down the street heading to the beach. The sunsets give that effect. ❤


DSC_1894.JPG

DSC_1900.JPG


Hahaha.. See how they look at me? They think I'm crazy lol.

The beach would be in my coming post as it has it's own story to tell and best sight-seeing ever. So stay tuned!

Photos and videos in this post are all mine and are all original, especially made for Steem community !

Thank you so much once again and I really appreciate you reading this. 😘



Put Morocco on your bucket list and experience it for yourself! Share your experience and if you have any questions or feedback please comment below! I will be glad to read and respond. Cheers!


"Related Posts regarding my Morocco trip:"

- Visit Rabat Zoo in Morocco

- 5 Tips When You're Visiting Rabat

- A walk to Morocco's La Plage

- Where to stay in Rabat, Morocco?


THANK YOU SO MUCH!


Vot a for your Witnesses!
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

@steemgigs | @precise |@cloh76.witness | @ausbitbank | @donkeypong | @blocktrades | @beanz | @patrice | @reggaemuffin | @curie | @aggroed | @themarkymark | @jerrybanfield | @adsactly-witness | @utopian-io | @cervantes | @roelandp | @timcliff | @netuoso | @ocd-witness | @blueorgy | @suggeelson


DQmfY2F1Au78A46UAtdTk9BgfiNuHo1DYSss2EonkQkBTsu_1680x8400.png
IMG_20180131_104817.png

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! Wonderful shots. I have been planning to see Marrakech for 2 years now since seeing some photos from there.

You should make it this year Max and share us your experience! 🥂

Thank you for this! Planning to go to Morocco soon too! Will definitely refer to this article.

We only went to Rabat but Marrakech, Fes, Casablanca are very well known cities! Check that out. You will not regret your trip if ever. Cheers! Followed you.

wow ganda pala dyan maam, nasa morocco ka pala.?

Sir, nung katapusan pa nakauwi. Maganda po talaga! Isama mo sa bucket list ng pupuntahan mo Sir! 😀

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dearjyoce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-medina-in-rabat-morocco


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

cool! :)

Thank you as always @chinito!

Nice pics & welcome to my country !! If you decide to visit the the north (tanger-tetouan) you can contact me 😊

Oh my, thank you! I will remember you @diibrour! I wasn't able to do camel trekking. I wish to do in the future. You really have a beautiful country!Cheers!

Enjoy the trike & next time you should visit the north it really worth it ...

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

May more blessings back to @steemitworldmap. I really appreciate it! Thank you so much.

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit..

Thank you. And I respect you too. Contributing quality content and engaging comments will help you to build your reputation! Cheers!

You got a 5.26% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @dearjyoce!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

great article ! There's a lot of places that you will without doubt fall in love with like : Chefchaouen, Ifrane, Imlile, Essaouira....
If u need any informations, feel free to ask !

Yes! Chefchaouen i want to visit there next time!!!! Thanks dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60897.42
ETH 3369.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51