The Story of Christmas in Ten Haiku

in #poetry7 years ago

The Christmas Story presented again in Haiku form.

Last year, I diligently wrote many haiku to capture snapshots of key people, places, and events of the Christmas story, the story of the ages. I'm re-publishing it today for the many newcomers to Steemit, and as a happy reminder of the season.

This is the Story of Stories, the account of how God became a man, entering our universe from "another dimension," known in scripture as "the heavenlies."

Here, assembled in the order in which these events occurred, are all ten haiku. There is a title/heading for each that links back to the original individual haiku posting, where you may find a little more information about each stanza, as well as some other curated photo illustrations.

Almost all of this account is derived from reading the Gospel of Luke Chapter Two.

Our story begins with the unwitting action of Caesar Augustus.

As I've recently pointed out in the fictional account "Pulling Strings", the Omnipotent God uses even his enemies to accomplish his ends.

Augustus issues a decree that results in Joseph and Mary traveling to Bethlehem. When Jesus is born there, in the City of David, God's word through the prophets is fulfilled.

Augustus Caesar, chief tyrant of Rome

Augustus Caesar, Roman Tyrant
Photo courtesy of Lou Levit and http://unsplash.com


Table of Contents


🌲The Christmas Story in Ten Haiku🌲


Despot


Tyrant decrees theft;
knows not Who wields puppet strings.
Pawn in Sovereign hand.




Table of Contents


🐴Donkey🐴


Who rests on my back?
I must place each hoof with care,
she's heavy with child.




Table of Contents


🚼Parents...🍼


Working-poor couple
in love, not yet intimate;
Suddenly parents.




Table of Contents


🐄Stable🐑


Humble environs
superlatively honored,
host a regal birth.




Table of Contents


🐑Herdsmen🐑🐏🐑🐑🐑


Herdsmen overwhelmed
as sunburst heralds disclose;
God-man has arrived!




Table of Contents


🎺📯🎆🎇¡Messengers!🎇🎆📯🎺


Ethereal band,
beings from unearthly realm,
heard on our planet.




Table of Contents


📚Elder📚


Aged scholar's hope,
Spirit-promised child, Here!
Breathing in his arms.




Table of Contents


🗡Sword🗡


Many to rise, fall...
A mother's heart is pierced;
ominous future.




Table of Contents


🕎🕯Widow🕯🕎


Phanuel 's daughter,
bereaved, chooses joy and speaks
of Jesus to all.




Table of Contents


🐪Sages🐫🐪


Sages of Cathay
Come, heeding stellar beacon,
Infant King to fete.




Table of Contents

Gladius 1
Simeon prophesied that a sword would pierce Mary's soul...
Photo courtesy of Rama via Wikimedia Commons


Table of Contents

Please visit @lakshmi and @ericvancewalton who provided me with that "extra push" to write haiku.

Table of Contents

~FIN~


For more poetry, please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK An Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Thank you for posting @creatr.

Very skillfully done.

These haikus are a lovely way to bring the Christ-mas story onto center stage.

Wishing you and yours a Happy Christ-mas. Cheers.

Hello, @bleujay, So nice to hear from you today!

I wish you and yours a blessed Christmas season as well!

I've been all too preoccupied with survival issues recently, but I hope to at least re-tread one more story from last year, and perhaps--God willing and time permitting--publish something new in honor of our LORD and his birth. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for your kind reply and good wishes @creatr.

No worries...anything regarding Christ is alive and new.

The always new story.....or is it news story....

The Good News.

Cheers.

You have a rich collection of haiku and I like how you've compiled them

Thank you, @josediccus.

Certainly you are welcome I'm Josediccus and I'm a poet too

@creatr, this is a really great way to tell the story and, for me, it was very informative. I think my favorite Haiku was Donkey. Though the wording is rather simple, I felt it conveyed incredible depth into the moment it portrayed. Thanks for telling this story.

Hey, my friend! You've put a smile on my face.
Thanks so much for sharing your response to my work. :D

Definitely I learn something new every day, I don't know that haiku was a kind of Japanese poetry...

Why don't you try your hand at writing some?

It is an interesting form. :D

Thank you for reading and commenting, @eleyda78.

we have a plurality of haiku( sounds awkward, though correct in English) all showing a different aspect of the Christmas story. I remember these :)

We've been around a while, eh old friend? ;)

ha ha,back when I used to enter contests, lol I remember, Ampa too :)

What a beautiful way to share the Good News of the Christmas Season.

Thanks, Mary. I hope you're doing well. :D

WELL DONE! Individual poems telling the Christmas Story. Poetic Promise of the Christ! Thanks my friend.

I'm glad you enjoyed this, Troy.

I love your poem, thank you so much for posting poetry like this, the writer is you?

Thank you, @eliashossain,

Yes, I am the author of all of these ten haiku.

I appreciate your visit to my blog. :D

you are welcome my blog bro:)

Lovely work, creatr.
I was already feeling extra Christmassy this year; so these are the icing on the fruit cake.

Thank you, Matt. Glad I could add to your Christmas celebration in a small way. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55