Lamenting An Idea Lost

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

"Life is short, Break the Rules. Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably And never regret ANYTHING That makes you smile."
- Mark Twain -


Another week, another @jayna 50 word challenge.

This week's writing prompt? The word "snowflake".

As I am in a very rebellious mood this evening, I shall proceed to break the rules of this 50 word challenge with impunity.

After all, what fun is it to stick by the rules all the time? Especially in a contest designed to stimulate creativity and to encourage stretching our capabilities while having fun?

And so, it's time for a twofer.

Twice the words, twice the fun, right?

100 words instead of 50; double the pleasure, double the fun...

Table of Contents

Snowflake: Unique but Transient - Image courtesy of Aaron Burden

I have been wanting to write another sonnet.

Note: You can find some of my earlier sonnets in my Poetry Library here.

I have yet another sonnet in the works (not this one), but I've been struggling with it.

Quite in contrast, for some reason this sonnet simply flowed from the fifty word challenge. It sprung into existence, appearing in words in a relatively short time, and I am pleased with the way in which it conveys my idea.

Counting both words in sonnet and also words in the title this time (yet another departure from tradition!), the total word count makes for a double challenge, i.e. it is exactly 100 words.

For the greatest possible enjoyment, I encourage you to read my sonnet, "Lamenting An Idea Lost," out loud.


A Sonnet by Duncan Cary Palmer

~Lamenting An Idea Lost~


Like lightning on a darkling afternoon,
The flash of insight came without a sound.
No virtuoso playing a new tune
Had ever inspiration so profound.

The revelation was a perfect fit;
The key to unseal some forbidden door.
A glimpse of glory late beyond my wit,
My path to bounty unknown heretofore.

Then, like a bird escaping from a snare,
Ephemeral, my idea flew away,
A frozen snowflake, so unique and rare,
Dissolving in the heat of waxing day.

For, carelessly, I did not write it down;
My thought then vanished, no more to be found.


~FIN~


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.

P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry,
please check out our Library Poetry Shelf - CLICK below:


@creatr


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

A glimpse of glory late beyond my wit.

The glimpses of glory through the dim glass, though only for a few fleeting moments at times, do nevertheless leave me in awe.

Beautiful words, @creatr.

Thank you, Lydon!

Yes, Thank Jesus we have so much to look forward to!

First of all, let me tell you your sonnet is musical and beautiful.

The occasional and brief alliterations make its reading delicious, and I like the sounds you picked for your final rhymes.

It is so funny I chose to write my last fifty-word tale in verse, too. But I did use only 50 words (which gave me a lot of trouble; it was like putting a small world into a even smaller bottle).

I've been working on a sonnet about my city. I'll let you know, so you can read it when you have the time.

Hugs and thank you for this beautiful piece! :)

P.s. Write it down next time ;)

Hi, my dear Marlyn,

I am so glad that you enjoyed my sonnet! :D Thank you for your very kind words about it.

Please do let me know when your city sonnet is complete, I look forward to reading it. And, yes, I will write it down next time.

Big hugs! ;)

Honestly this happens to me all the time! That is why I use Google Keep and my Alexa Echo to record the idea instantly!

I am reluctant to have the big goog in the sky listening to my every word... :O

I figure my ideas are not worth much attention from Google LOL

Friend your story reflects hidden feelings. Congratulations

Thank you, Felix.

I find that experience familiar especially regarding the wording of a line and I used to lament the loss until I realized I was fixating on the grains and missing the beach - you can't lose a really profound idea, if it were profound at all - you can lose the wording but that's just the packaging...something profound you'll remember - it's the utterance of those kinds of ideas that make a room go silent but unvoiced they still should light up the dark network inside you. Treat an apparent 'lost idea' as mulch to prepare for new growth.

"...fixating on the grains and missing the beach..."

So true... Thanks for your commentary, John.

In the long term, nothing truly good is lost. God in His kind sovereignty may temporarily illuminate my brain, but then divert me to something else more temporally important.

Blessings, my friend!

Very true...lately I seem more diverted than usual myself :)

Nicely done my friend @creatr. Yes write an idea down before it's forgotten kind blessings

Thank you Troy...

This is quite beautiful, @creatr!

Thanks, Jayna! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84