And we're done. Congratulations @beercake on a resounding victory.

in #poecomp6 years ago (edited)

A couple of late deaths close to the finish line, but half of us made it

Here are the final results:

Beercake, powering on from the first, finishing on level 85. A class act. ~ 50 steem sent
Gamingchimp, Level 82; never letting him rest, always sniffing at his heels. ~ 30 steem sent
Cipriang, Bouncing back with a level 72 necromancer after the tragic loss of a level 59 templar ~ 20 steem sent

Buggedout and Ratticus, my bushrangers; tying at level 39, setting the stage for an epic rivalry.
I was keeping a careful eye on them both, and didn't notice Gamingchimp has a Level 42 ranger, giving him second place as well as top ranger.
SamuelDouglas with a tanky Level 35 marauder
Cryptosenpai storming back with a level 26 witch after the loss of a promising shadow.

Alannapendragon, Enjar, Holoz0r, and Moonwalker failed to cross the finish line.
Jimmybreeze and o07 failed to cross the starting line.

Lots of great images in the different update posts from competitors #poecomp

Leave feedback below. What did I get right, what could be improved. Can someone shed some light on the SSF mechanics? I'd love to have it back as a requirement if possible. Was the race too long? Too short?
Speak now or forever hold your intestines in.

I'd like to thank everyone for getting involved, putting yourselves out there and having a go.
I'll be doing this again when the next league launches, hope to catch you then.

Sort:  

Wooooo ! Thank you @mattclarke for making this competition!
My highest level character before this was lvl 60 shadow... and it was like 2 years ago :D
I ended the league with 44k tooltip dps and 6.1k life, around 500 life/s regen. Honestly - I think my butt has developed new muscle groups from all this clenching. I had always died to Kitava before so this was a huge achievement for me on it's own. I'll admit that being able to trade helped me a little. Buying a decent weapon and armor gave some decent protection.

Originally I wasn't planning to get the ascendancy branch which granted stun immunity but after one Canyon map where the boss almost stunlocked me to death I decided to sacrifice dmg for stun immunity.
And of course one of the challenge was balancing life/gaming time.

After all this I regret nothing. Monsters were slain, midnight hours burnt and steem won :)

Thank you mattclarke again for this contest. Let's drink to next one being bigger and better!

Top effort, beercake. It's been a pleasure having you in the competition.
Ironically I think playing only hardcore, as I do, would kill my chances in a competition like this.
I have no idea what happens after Avarius, and learning by dying is a real slow strategy in hardcore :)
I look forward to revisiting the concept when the next League arrives.

Congratulations on the win! I hope to see you next time.

It was a great competition, I really enjoyed it, well done @mattclarke and @ratticus! I'm really hyped for the next one too, I hope I'll have a little bit more time to play! :D

Actually, I played a Ranger too, and got to lvl 42. I think you missed it because you didn't check my other characters. I'm not going to log in until you see this comment and my character, so you can see that I didn't play after the end of the race. I logged out like 8 mins before the race ended.

@beercake Congrats to that 1st place man! :D

Edit: Actually, I stopped playing like 8 mins before the end, and logged out right at the end of the race.

Congratulations on second place! That is a smart strategy to have a couple of toons just in case things don’t go so well. Looking forward to being more of competitor next time!

Thanks a lot @enjar! I made that ranger to have a faster character to farm with, but spectral shield throw felt a bit meh, so I stopped playing it. I'm really waiting for that next league already too, lol. :D

Damn, I thought you'd left him at Level 33 long enough that you'd conceded that while you tried for the top spot.

Congratulations. I wasn't in a position to spend any more time on playing, and was watching @buggedout's account level last night before I had to sleep.

I'm on the road for the next couple of days, but a wrap up post from me will happen at some point soon

Sorry yes. I missed Captainmurica :)
I'll edit now.

No worries @mattclarke, you did a great job! :)

I was saddened to see my character fall at that level but it was a great race overall!

I've learned that I shouldn't open a strong box with a curse on it since it's way too dangerous. :):)

Congratulations to the winners and thanks for the opportunity!

I opened up a few that almost caused my death due to being too lazy to check them with a Scroll of Wisdom first. Sometimes I just can’t say no to the things I know can end me.

Same, same. Drops can be crazy good and it's tempting to open them but could mean the end. After a while, I identified all but because the curses meant like nothing 4-5 times, I got brave and ran into something that kept me in one place till they killed me. I pressed Alt+F4 when I was alive, logged in and saw that it's over. It seems not even closing the game could get me out of that situation.

There are YouTube compilations of hardcore gamers diving across the room to pull the plug from the PC.
Not much help if you're on a lappy though.

Sounds like a fun competition :D glad to see you guys had fun

Thanks Melissa :)
I've been enjoying your dtube songs while I'm at work.
Great to see you hanging around a while :)

Glad that you are enjoying the songs i was going to reply last night but i fell asleep lol.. been recording like crazy lately :)

I burst out laughing at "failed to cross the starting line" XD

Looks like not a bad effort all around :)

goatsig

Thanks for running the comp @mattclarke it was fun.

I always expected I was going to get run down for top ranger at the end. When I logged off after midnite last night I had tied it up with @ratticus and the @gamingchimp was still on level 33 as he had been most of the week.

I figure he played his main until he was confident of second, then called the ranger up to compete for the ranger prize at the post.
Effective strategy.

Yes. It was a pro move.

Very. While I was sleeping we went from tied with a 6 level lead to 2nd by 3 levels. Pro sniper that ranger is.

I did a bit of a writeup from my PoV HERE if you're interested. You got an honourable mention ;)

Oh excellent. I'll take a look in a little bit. I'm sure that you'll get a mention in mine also thanks to the provision of the ranger prize

Thanks a lot, guys! :D
After I saw that both of your rangers are at lvl39, I started using a lot of leveling stuff and actually got like 9 levels in a little bit more time than an hour (Only farmed Aqueducts and Dried Lake, I was scared to go in act 5, lol). I was going for the first place originally with my duelist, but in the end, I didn't have enough time and I didn't want to risk the 2nd place by playing with a pace that I can't keep up.

I'm pretty sure I'll write a post about this whole league too, even may do a video about how I planned and made my build. (Even though I feel like it's a lot worse than streamers' and racers' builds :P)

One of the things that this comp has really highlighted for me is how much I miss the race seasons that used to happen. Regular events with time limits and everything that was managed in game by them. So that 12 minute dash? the league opened and ran for 12 minutes. I imagine the amount of time required to run them wasn't worth the effort, but it would be great if they brought them back in some form or other

I never got involved, but always thought they looked fun. The 90 min races and Merveil runs etc.
They took total availability out of the equation.
Over a week, someone with an empty calendar has a huge advantage.

I only pushed it in one or two of the race seasons, but I did compete in others on a light basis.

I've never really really short races but I did a couple of the ones leading up to new a new season in the past. They where crazy because the toon was VOID afterwards so you have all kinds of crazy gear dropping, lots of currency, and good times.

yeah, lots of good times. I've still got at least one char in my list that's named obviously from the race event it was for.

GG everyone!

GG! Next time we will get them. Least hopefully still be living afterward lol.

Four tombstones in your plot, @enjar.
That's some heartbreak right there, buddy.

With how I play that is a low count lol. Not sure how I did not end up with double or triple that.

One week I think is the perfect amount of time. Anything longer than that and peoples wiliness to push themselves in unhealthy ways just for a win starts to become an issue. Anything shorter than that and it encourage people trying to stay up for the entire event without sleep.

1 week gives people time to join in late and still catch up. Lots of time if you have an early death. Those who can only be around for a couple days can push hard for those days they are free. Those that have much more time can spread it out over the entire event. Overall, I think it’s just the right amount of time.

I would really love to see SSF next time. I even noticed it was there as an option (unless I’m mistaken) from the start. Not really sure why we didn’t go with it in the first place other then we were not expecting it as an option. I think it forces people to play to the game and not to the auction house. It also makes you learn more about the game as those who are really knowledge will switch their build/reroll to take advantage if they find something very powerful.

I was tempted to just make a level 1 after all my deaths so I’d still have a toon up on the board. I, however, felt it was bit unsportsmanlike so I did not.

I’ve even started over now on softcore! I’m not sure how often I’ll create any kind of updates but I just love the game and hope to increase my ability in it. Yes, I’ve already died thankfully it's softcore!

Looking forward to competing next time at a much higher level!Thanks again for hosting this wonderful event.

I think perhaps its an option on established accounts, but not a fresh download.
Its easy enough to make it a requirement is that's the case.
When the issue came up (noob friends downloading didn't have the option) I assumed it wouldn't be an initial option in the new league.
Its important to note that currency spent and items acquired in the auction house are all fresh found in the new league.

Either mode works for me. Being able to buy stuff would be more new player friendly I think.

Anyways, you going keep going on hardcore for this season or you done for now?

I'm not drowning in spare time, but when I want to switch off I fire it up.
I only play hardcore :)

Amazing effort by all involved. I can't imagine how many enemies were slashed in the making of this competition...

(I haven't forgotten about your number generator by the way, work has been ridic so I've got some time on the weekend scheduled to look into it)

(Also, also, I'm running an RPG-type game on the @daclawboyz account if anyone's interested...)

I reckon we've had some red eyes :)

Hahaha, I'm sure all the partners of everyone playing were glad to see it over... except there is no 'over' for gamers...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41