Photos of the legendary Assen Circuit in Netherlands - The Cathedral of Speed

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2651.JPG

Circuit Assen in the Derenthe province of the Netherlands is one of the greatest and the wildest racing circuits in the world today. It combines history, unique conditions, a legacy that is revered by motorcycle racing enthusiasts and purists alike. It is a circuit that rewards skill, bravery and the occasional balls of steel.

I had the chance to visit this legendary circuit for the very first time in 2013, followed by 2014 and 2015. The first time I went to the circuit, it was to watch the Ducati Club races and just to have a glimpse of what a proper race track would look like. I went with a very good friend of mine, his dad and another friend of his. We drove down to Assen from the town of Delft. Here are some pictures from my first visit to Assen.

IMG_2635.JPG

It was a very rainy and wet day when we got on the road to Assen.

IMG_2637.JPG

When it rains, it really pours in this country!

IMG_2640.JPG

TT Assen Circuit welcomes us...

IMG_2641.JPG

The TT Hall, which is a museum of Assen's venerable history and has many things for the enthusiasts. I couldn't go in as it was closed.

IMG_2645.JPG

You cross the TT hall building and go further which is where the parking lot is. By this time, the sun had scattered the rain clouds and shone bright and warm.

IMG_2646.JPG

The entrance to the racetrack area.

IMG_2649.JPG

And of course, Valentino Rossi is the perfect poster boy for advertisements!

IMG_2650.JPG

The legendary Assen Track - Map of the circuit and the seating positions along the track.

IMG_2651.JPG

The Cathedral of Speed, because Assen was one of the fastest circuits in the calendar in the days gone by. Now the track layout has been changed to adhere to modern safety standards.

IMG_2682.JPG

Wall of fame! The view from the grandstand.

IMG_2688.JPG

The Start-Finish straight. The pitlane and the garages can be seen on the left of the picture.

IMG_2690.JPG

The other half of pitlane - the entry and the podium area.

IMG_2741.JPG

The entry to Timmer Chichane - One of the greatest corners in racing!

IMG_2861.JPG

Hanging out at the grandstands...

IMG_2865.JPG

Lap counter indicating 9 laps down.

IMG_2882.JPG

Timmer Chichane - The scene of many last lap battles - Overtakes here lead to victory, or to the gravel. Occassionally both.

I couldn't get many motorcycle shots because I couldn't pan the camera fast enough nor did I know how to shoot in sport mode back then. I managed a few though.

IMG_2870.JPG

IMG_2876.JPG

IMG_2850.JPG

Club races for the kids was a fun affair. Everyone jostled for position!


If you liked this post, do follow and upvote. Check out some of my other posts via the links below:

Read some of my travel stories and photologs via the links below:

Photos from the Professional Motorsport World Expo in Cologne, Germany

Motorcycling India

Up above the Arctic Circle - Tromso and the Northern Lights

A solo backpacking trip across the UK

Cycling 500km across Europe: Dtube

Another solo roadtrip - Pictures of the Western Ghats, meeting fellow Steemians and a blast of a ride!

A solo roadtrip across the western Ghats and meeting my favorite dog!

Exploring God’s Own Country on a Motorcycle – Dtube

500km of cycling across Europe - A photolog


Read some of my other opinion posts via the links below:

Opinions - The similarity between motorcycle racers and fighter pilots

Opinions - Going fast to slow down time

Opinions - We need to travel to develop empathy

Opinions - The importance of anchors in our lives

Opinions - Our toys have not changed. They have only gotten bigger

Opinions - Of Mortal Dreams and Motorcycles

Opinions - Of motorcycles and love stories

Of Scuba Diving and Motorcycle Racers - A slow life between fast lanes?


Read some of the letters my bike writes on a regular basis:

Hope writes a letter - Crazy fridays and I find out I am not a car person

Hope writes a letter - Hello world! I am Hope!


Check out some of my popular posts below:

Motorcycle Stories - How I got into Motorcycle racing

A high-speed crash and life lessons

Year One of Racing in Images

Introduction Post - My introduction for Steemit


That's it for now, cheers!
Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Sort:  

Haha amazing! Assen is such a cool track, I’ve never been to any big Tracks outside of England, but I would love to! What incredible races Assen has had over the years! Many spring to mind:)
I’ve been to Silverstone a few times, but I’ll have to start visiting some other European circuits... some of the best in the world!
I hope you had a great day there batz, it sound like you did!

I've been to Assen thrice now (twice for the GP) and to Sepang in Malaysia once. Quite crazy. It's a festival of speed, I would say! I was there the first time Marquez won in 2014, and then the last corner lunge and win of Rossi in 2015. Crazy races I would say.

I had the opportunity to visit Silverstone once, but somehow it didn't work out. I do plan for Mugello before Rossi retires. I have to go there!!!

I did have a great day at Assen. Cheers!

Wow that’s awesome!!! What great races 😀
I’ve watched the gp at Silverstone 3 times:) 2014, 2015 and 2017:)

Oh yea being within that Rossi crowd at Mugello would be amazing! Remember when he got his 300th podium and all of the fans were on the track, it was like a full blown festival! Amazing 😀 forza vale!!! VR46

Debe haber sido una experiencia increible visitar ese circuito de carrera! Supongo que cada visita la has disfrutado al maximo por lo que cuentas... saludos..

I did have a great day. It was my first time at a racetrack and I was like a kid who had been given a extremely tasty candy! Cheers! :)

Tuve un gran día. Era mi primera vez en un circuito y yo era como un niño al que se le había dado un caramelo extremadamente sabroso. Aclamaciones! :)

Como siempre es muy agradable ver las excelentes imágenes que nos compartes, se puede sentir la emoción y adrenalina que allí se vive con solo ver las imágenes, me encantaría vivir esta gratificante experiencia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65723.04
ETH 3470.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45