Opinions - Our toys have not changed. They have only gotten bigger

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Do you remember the times when you were growing up and you had a bunch of toys that you played with? And if you were some of the lucky ones like me, then you did get a good deal of lego sets to play with. Those were moments of never ending joy and trying to build the most craziest things my imagination could dream of.

I build a bunch of things with the Legos. Overtime, I got more Lego sets and I mixed them all to come up with some creative things. One of the things I kept building often was a motorcycle. Sure, it looked like it came straight out of the set of an alien movie, but hey, that was the best I could build with my mix and match strategy.

There was Hot wheels (every friend I knew had at least a dozen, and even a couple of girls had them!) We played a lot with them and came up with races, tournaments and whatever else our imagination could conjure. To us, there were more than toys. They were dreams. We knew most cars by name, thanks to Hot wheels. Combined, we had about 250 cars between us. Crazy times and chaos followed.

Then it was Maisto and its scale models of motorcycles.


Fast forward to 12 years and now, in my late 20s, I come to realize that the toys have not changed at all. They have merely gotten bigger. And possibly better. The playground has changed and the rules are different, but the aim is simple and the same: To have as much fun as possible and to enjoy the game with some great friends and comrades. To have great memories and dozens of laughter and giggling thrown around.

To live life in a way we did when we were children...

IMG_5863-Edit.jpg

Our toys have not changed. They have only gotten bigger. PC: @firepower, 2015

Which brings me to the point of this post;

You should never, never, ever forget the kid that was with you all the time when you were growing up. Growing and learning; The small kid with wonder eyes and a curious mind. The small kid with the eternal laughter, kindness and simple logic. The small kid that people tend to forget in the process of growing up, greed, and impressing other people.

Never forget that kid.

Because you were that kid.

And you need to be that kid in life. Because if your toys haven't changed, why should you? And if they have only gotten bigger, why should the spirit of your inner kid not get bigger?


Please upvote, comment and follow. Read some of my other opinions posts via the links below:

Opinions - Of Mortal Dreams and Motorcycles

Motorcycle Stories - How I got into Motorcycle racing

Opinions - Of motorcycles and love stories

Of Scuba Diving and Motorcycle Racers - A slow life between fast lanes?


Read the letters that my bike writes on a weekly basis:

Hope writes a letter - Hello world! I am Hope!


Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Sort:  

Absolutely. Men, Mountains and Motorcycles

Very well said! I’m also in my late 20s and feel the same as when I was a kid in many way - just our available toys have gotten bigger, better and faster! Kawasaki h2r, Ducati v4, MV f4! Now that’s a list of toys I want haha (can’t afford them yet but one day ;) )

Looks like a lot of sport bikes. You should check my other post on : of mortals and motorcycle dreams

I used to play with Legos often myself, and I know several others in the motoclub that feel the same way. Well said, gonna resteem this!

Ha ha thanks! Indeed Legos we're really fun and offered tons of creative space.

The mighty h2! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45