Opinions - Of Mortal Dreams and Motorcycles

in #motorcycles6 years ago (edited)

Couple of days ago, a few friends were sitting in a cafe and having a drink and a conversation. All of us ride bikes as more than just a means of transport, and we all, on some sort of primitive level, feel a love that is almost visceral and primal towards our machines. And over time, the conversation naturally gravitated towards the two wheeled machines that make our day very often.

Our dreams are big, and most of us dream of owning particular bikes, and this brought up the question.

"What's the dream garage for you guys? Only bikes. Unlimited budget and no cars, nothing to carry around the bikes."

Our garages consisted of machines that are fast, and also large. A naive and untainted view of a world that is perfect and large and free. The dreams of youth. The conversation naturally ended with each of us loving the other person's rosy view of their dream garage.


Now, as I revisited this topic, I wonder, what will my dream garage look like? And will it show something about me that can be represented by the motorcycles I ride? My garage has changed over time, and no doubt will grow and evolve over time, but for now, this is how my dream garage would look like.

As I mentioned in one of my opinion posts, motorcycles are more than functional objects. They are an emotion to most of us, and while may not be practical to buy or use, they still appeal to the raw yearnings of our beating heart, making us weak in the knees every time we think of them.

R1.jpg

And very fittingly, at the top of my list is the motorcycle that has made me dream about it ever since I saw it first nearly 10 years ago. Not only the kid in me was overwhelmed and over excited, but profoundly aware of the effect it had on me. That bike is the 2008 Yamaha YZF R1. It is the dream. The biggest dream to fill at the moment. And naturally, this dream would be in the racing colors of Yamaha: Blue.

In second place, I would have the 2004 Yamaha YZF R6. This is a bike that I've had the opportunity to swing over a couple of times and it feels to be a bike that is very usable for a supersport. This 16000+ rpm revving machine scared the heck out of me then, and it still does. The rush is in being able to ride it like I want to: fast and aggressive, but calm and focused. This is a bike that has earned my respect and admiration. Blue would be nice, but a little silver grey can add some variety to the garage.

In third, is a KTM 690 Enduro R, a bike that I would like to be able to trash around on dirt trails, dunes, rocks and what not. It is nimble, handles like there is no limits. I would not mind dropping it every now and then. It can kill most roads it takes and not throw me off the bike when there are no roads. Looking at the way the Enduro R manages to handle anything you throw at it has made it a favorite. Plus, it does tend to get a little naughty at times judging from all the hours spent on Youtube videos and reading reviews. Orange is the new black, they say. The KTM is made for that.

20161203_115051-01.jpeg

In fourth would be my beloved Yamaha YZF R3. For those touring needs, go everywhere and do anything attitude, and to let my heart race everytime I take her out. The eternal joy of being able to enjoy this bike to its limits, or atleast close to it is what stokes the fire in my heart. She's a keeper. Hope is a proud bike, at nearly two years old.

And finally, in fifth place is a motorcycle that might make more sense for long distance riding when old age creeps in - A Red Ducati Multistrada. Not picky on either the 1200 or the 950, either are okay. I see that as a bike I would want to usher old age in.


And now, I sit back and relax, look at my dream garage. It is a garage that is filled with emotion, primal feelings of love and possessiveness, where the wild desires and fantasies of youth have been replaced by emotion, functionality and purpose.

My dream garage has bikes that are meant to be out there and enjoying the road, not a collector's playground. They would rather come with stories of a lifetime from the road, battle scars picked up along the way and with big numbers on the odo, and continue to burn bright and aspire to inspire. Kinda like me, then.

20161203_115430-01.jpeg

Upvote and comment. Read more of my opinions via the links below:

Motorcycles and Love stories - A Love Affair with Hope

Of Scuba Diving and Motorcycle Racers - A slow life between fast lanes?

How I got into Motorcycle racing

Motorcycling India

Introduction Post - My introduction for Steemit

A high speed crash and life lessons

Year One of Racing in Images

Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Sort:  

Awesome:) great list of bikes! I would love an r1 - a dream machine! Then to also have an r6 would just be heaven! I feel once a rider could master an r1 then they could really ride an r6 however they want:)
The ktm690 enduro would be great! One of the best adventure bikes ever - I love ktms.

I would have, the new Ducati v4, MV Augusta f4, and a Kawasaki kx250 2stroke! 2 stroke bikes are crazy, I used to have an Aprillia rs125 it was so much fun:)

One day hopefully we will reach our dreams and ride the bikes of our dreams :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44