Riding a bike out in the middle of nowhere!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

One time I was out treeplanting and we ended up being like 270km out in the bush staying at some oil and gas camp. But not actually staying in the actual oil and gas camp. Oh no, we were treeplanters and therefore too uncouth/dirty to be sleeping inside(even by oil/gas industry standards, which are reaaaaaally low) so they made us pitch tents.

Well every time it rained everthing would turn into a muddy hell. The 5 minute walk across the 'parking lot' would turn into a ten minute affair and yeah, that mud stuck to everything. Thankfully it rained almost every day!

 Stuck in a Rut


So we were stuck out in the middle of nowhere, basically here for anyone really interested and every few days we would get a day off. On one such day I decided it would be a great idea to go for a bike ride - on acid. Not a completely bad idea, really, and don't let me misguide you - nothing bad ended up happening. But out in the middle of nowhere, biking 'full bore' you can cover some ground in a short little bit of time. So there I was frantically biking along, like 300km out on the Sierra Yoyo Desan Resource Rd. and it's like getting windy and stuff. Really windy and dark omnious clouds forming. I was just having a great, great great time biking along! Nevermind any of that! Everything is awesome!


out

Click for full version

--

At one point this gentleman drove by, and had to check and make sure everything was all-right... I probably should have wondered the same thing, biking in the 'wrong' direction with telltale signs of a storm coming. I didn't really heed that, I was just having a great time biking along. But then it did rain, and yes. Everything. Everything. Turns to a sticky, clay hell. I don't know how long I was biking for or how far I went, but I realized if it got bad, I'd be pushing the bike back.



So I was like allright, yes, let's turn back... and it started to rain harder.... I kept biking... and I AM SO LUCKY that some fellow treeplanters were driving along going back in the direction of camp... they had been out hunting and saw me biking in the rain. They saved me lots of distance off my muddy bike ride and I was really grateful for that. 👍



All in all it was a fun day off, when I came back to camp it was pretty destroyed by the wind. Nobody was around and I was like 😱

It really wasn't that bad though. And I'm glad I chose to go on this bike ride!!! The pictures speak for themselves!


 The Neverending Road

 Bike, Yeah

 Selfie 1

 Selfie 2


I'd really love to post more treeplanting stories!!! Let me know if you enjoyed!



Check out some of my recent photography posts[in reverse-chronological order]:

Thanks for checkin me oot! 😄 💓

Sort:  

Biking on acid - you hit me right in those nostagic feels ☺🖒

Haha yeah, seems like Dr. Hoffman had it all figured out from the beginning! ;) Glad you enjoyed :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @synrg
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Wow. What a nice post!

This post received a 12% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @synrg! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

This post has received a 1.38 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @synrg

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 13.79 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @synrg.

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @synrg to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

wow very great post
plz reply my comment

Its interesting !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74