Winter Wonderland (Part2)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

For the holidays, I've traveled back to France to be with my family and friends for a few weeks. My parents live in a small village in Burgundy. It is a beautiful region which most of you may know primarily for its wine and picturesque vineyard landscapes.

During Winter, these famous landscapes take on a very different appearance than the one they like to display in magazines and TV shows.
I am writing these posts to promote this amazing region where I spent most of my summer holidays as a child.

Remember, Paris may be a must-see if you are ever in France, but it does not define the rest of France... Each region has its own very particular identity, traditions, and landscapes. One would not go to New York and say they have seen or "know" the States, or make assertions regarding culture in England just by visiting London. There can be so much variety even in such a tiny country (to give you an idea of its size, France is just slightly smaller than the state of Texas!).
I would also like to show you a side of Burgundy you may never see - Winter can often be a "love-hate" relationship for most of us living far from the equator (ok, sometimes a bit more hate than love).
Remember, beauty can be found equally in all four seasons - if you only care to look.

So put on your scarves and gloves... it's a bit chilly.

Buxy.JPG

We continue our walk from part 1 into the village of Buxy, where I caught a small glimpse of sunrays briefly shining onto this 18th century castle.

Who can tell me what the small structure on the left is?
HINT: I've written a post about these last week.

Two maps to give you a better idea of where we are in the world:


Map of France source

Close-up of Burgundy region source

1002985.gif

gate.JPG

Main gate entrance to the castle.
In Burgundy, you will find that villages, towns and cities have their fair share of castles, manors and mansions. Due to the high market prices and the enormous budget needed to maintain such massive structures, more and more of these are left to abandonment or have a hard time finding/keeping worthwhile owners.

freeze.jpg

On the way back to the center of the village, I walked through a small forest where I couldn't help but sing "Let it go" at the sight of all these frosty branches.

The church of Buxy, to the right, looks particularly gloomy on a cold Winter day.


Rocks.jpg

These rocks, called "Chaos" can be found higher up North in Uchon and are a part of a strange granite formation caused by wind and water over thousands of years.
They are very famous as they look as though they have been purposefully placed on top of each other. You can imagine they have been key elements to quite a few local legends over the last centuries.

vineyards.JPG

It's really quite funny how beauty in the same landscape can vary from one day to another... if I were to show you what these vineyards look like on a boring typical (rainy) winter day, you wouldn't be very impressed.


Moss grows anywhere and all year round

Abandoned spiderweb - frozen in time

Sercy.jpg

Chateau de Sercy - one of the rare ones which is still inhabited throughout the year, and restored bit by bit thanks to national heritage foundations created to help preserve and renovate old edifices.

Village.JPG

This is the tiny village of Chenoves which some of you may recognize from the Autumn post I made a few months ago.

Below - roses which seem to have been trapped between two fast changing seasons.


roses.jpg

I hope you liked tagging along with me on my Winter Wonderland Walk through the region of Burgundy.

Do you live in a country where the first snowfall makes everything look magical?

What do you do to keep your spirits up in Winter time when the days shorten and the sun rarely shines?

1002985.gif

All photos were taken with my Canon EOS 500D, Samsung Galaxy S3 (and testing out my mom's Lumix camera)

Please don't hesitate to leave comments, share ideas, upvote/resteem. I love to hear from all of you!

To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Winter Wonderland 1

Palong HillTribe Woman

Walk with me LISBON - Part2

Landscape Photography

Map Location: !steemitworldmap 46.7808 lat 4.8539 long BURGUNDY D3SCR



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

The last one photo just kill me softly. :D What's a wonderful province :) I bet you had incredible time with your family. Wish you all the best my dear ;)) Happy New Year ;))

It really is beautiful and nice to be able to breathe fresh air after living in big cities.
Happy you like it @margaretwise. Happy New Year to you too!!!

I am a lover of the province and such a scenery like on your photos. My heart is full of positive emotions . Thanks to you :))

You are so very welcome - nature has that effect on those who take the time to observe😉

I enjoyed the two episodes of Winter Wonderland. You are a gifted photographer, I hope you realize that! You take really beautiful photographs, no pictures like most of us.
Coming Sunday, my husband and I go to the Morvan for about 6 weeks. We are looking forward to it to be there for a longer period of time. Maybe it will snow during that period, who knows!

Thank you so so very much my dear @clio. You have no idea how much that means to me. Even more so because I know you have adopted France as one of your homes, much like I have through all my travels, it means a lot to both of us :)
I hope the snow falls in the Morvan, but the sun remains so you can also show us some photos. I am off to Paris next week and hoping for at least a few sunny days.
All the best to you for the year to come - health and happiness 🌟

Yes, it sure does mean a lot to us, there are places that you close in your heart, and Burgundy and the Morvan are such places.
I will certainly post in the next weeks, so you will see more 'pictures' of Burgundy.
I wish you, your family and Asher also all the best for this new year.

Love your photos... have to go back visit France again, one day ;-)
Ciaooooooo

Yes you must Steemitri. Lots of sexy French mannequins here. And ours put shoes on in the snow 😜

Oh sexy mannequins... Maybe I can meet my soulmate ;-)

YES haha! 2018 resolution :)

Wow....amazing snow fallen photography @osm0sis. Perhaps unbelievable. I guess that's wonders of the world and nature.
Outstanding landscaping view. Thanks for shared.
Up-Voted & Re-Steemed.

Happy new year to you!!!

Thank you so much @dragonking.
A very happy and successful 2018 to you too🌟

Thank you for taking me on this journey with you.

What an absolutely stunning post! With so many gorgeous photos to call my favourites, one stood out the most and that was the rock formation.

Something about those rocks call out to me. Did you hug them? Tell me you hugged them. <3

Haha! I forgot to hug them but I did climb them, and sit next to them in the grass for hours when I went during Summer time.
I do love rocks and the stories they tell. I imagine these ones were probably placed here by giants to protect the forest gnomes and fairies from evil trolls.
Thank for dropping by @bearone! Hope you are loving your new home and there are tons of magic rocks to be found around it :)

Oh wow these photos are stunning! I love the frozen spiderweb and the roses! And some of the landscapes look like they belong into these small glass things that you shake and then it snows inside. Whatever they are called :D

Beautiful!!!

Snow balls?! snow shakers....uuuhhh... snow landscape shaky balls!
Haha, I can't remember either but I see what you mean. Thank you for the original compliment, its refreshing :)

Snow landscape shaky balls, that's it! It was on the tip of my tongue... 😆

it looks magical there! 😍 Thanks for posting. Beautiful photos as always

Thanks for your support Lisa!

Beautiful. You do have a great eye for details and pretty picture potential.

I agree with @margaretwise on the last photo, it's good enough for a Harrods Christmas card set at least!

Great! That's my Christmas cards sorted for next year.
But the real question is: did I convince you in re-thinking how amazing Winter can be?

Nope. I'll just continue happily looking at winter and not feeling it!

Foo.
You're missing out on so much... mainly snowball fights and skiing backwards down the slopes.

Such beautiful wintery photos, I enjoyed these views of the Burgundy region as much as part 1. Hope you had a really lovely holiday with your family!

I did, thank you Ruth. Now back on track... let's get this 2018 party started!

Frozen spiderweb is such a big wower! Great art from the nature.

Thanks @fr3eze. Happy you like it :)
Happy New Year buddy 🌟

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01