Indian summer in Burgundy

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

To celebrate the beginning of Autumn (a few days late - in the Northern hemisphere at least), here is a compilation of some of the photos I have taken while walking through the French countryside, in the region of "Bourgogne" a.k.a Burgundy (which most of you may know for its excellent wine, and amaaazing people, hehe... shout out to my homies).

Autumn8.jpg

A patchwork of colours.
Can you tell how many different types of leaves there are?

images.jpg

Village.jpg

Let's begin our bucolic tour by walking through the vineyards. The village you see in the back is quite typical of most villages you would encounter in France - mainly consisting of a small church (commonly found in the heart of the village) surrounded with houses and residences, humble for the most part. Although a great number of people have chosen, over decades, to migrate to big cities in search of jobs and better living conditions, village life survives, with newer generations now choosing to "return" to smaller towns and villages, granting them a second chance.

Vineyards.jpg

Grape harvesting in Burgundy generally takes place over a few weeks during the month of September. The harvest date is determined according to the ripeness of the grapes which often varies from year to year, and from region to region.



“There is something incredibly nostalgic and significant about the annual cascade of autumn leaves.” ― Joe L. Wheeler


“Autumn is as joyful and sweet as an untimely end.” ― Rémy de Gourmont


images.jpg

Autumn4.jpg

text.JPG

source

Mushrooms.jpg

The months of September and October are an ideal time to go mushroom picking. My mom, younger brother and I really enjoy this seasonal activity. Here, we filled an entire basket with Boletus and Porcini (bolets et cepes).
Believe it or not, the little heart you see on one of the mushrooms was actually there before I picked it. Adorable example of what I like to call "slug art".

Autumn7.jpg

Autumn1.jpg

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”

― Lauren DeStefano, Wither

images.jpg

Grass.jpg

The wind blowing gently through the tall Autumn grass.


Frog.jpg

And here is a frog, relaxing on a leaf-raft floating on a nearby stream.




I hope you enjoyed wandering through the French countryside with me today.



I've been playing around with different display formats as some of you may have noticed.


Hopefully I learn to edit my photos and context with more ease as time goes by.


images.jpg

All photos in this post were taken with my CANON EOS 500D and Samsung Galaxy S4.

Please don't hesitate to leave comments, share ideas, upvote/resteem. Et si des francais me lisent, faites-moi signe, ca me ferait plaisir :)

To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Pashupatinath Temple

HONG KONG - through my lens

Bhaktapur lady

Nepal earthquake 2015

Map Location: !steemitworldmap 46.6201364 lat 4.2540403 long Bourgogne FRANCE D3SCR


“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

Sort:  

Seriously that little heart mushroom! So cute! Looks like the kind of thing I would draw as a kid.
I was thinking if I can find and pick mushrooms in here too, that would be cool. Maybe @clio knows more about it.
And I've never been to Paris, but I love French countryside. I've been in few places in France and I love it so much! @exyle and I always say how you can get to any supermarket and pick the cheapest wine and still have something good.
Great post!

I know!!! It broke my heart to cut it up and eat it!
@clio would be a great mushroom picking partner. What a great idea, blog it if you go :)
And for the wine, I completely agree... it's always stunned me how expensive French wine is abroad when you know that you can get such a wide range of excellent bottles back home for 2, 3, or max 4 euros at your local supermarket.
Thanks for the lovely comment Bianca.

Autumn brings nature some amazing colours! Lovely :D

I can hear you singing Pocahontas

meep

meep

meep

meep

meep

meep

Meeeeeeep!! Meep's-on-my-post dance

Great shot @osm0sis !
Love your work .

Nice pics, great post!
And not too far from me, must visit!

But where's the wine?!?

Cheers

You're right... This post looks a bit "off" without the wine :)
Are you in Switzerland?

Yep - we had a few nights booked in Beaune in August but had to cancel - need to go back soon, looks beautiful!

Beaune sure is beautiful. I highly recommend staying a few days to see the nearby villages as well. Driving, cycling... whichever.

Yes, @osm0sis is right, you should see the nearby villages as well.
But Beaune itself is very beautiful, you should visit the Saturday market, it's amazing. For instance, I say a market stall with only truffles! and don't forget to visit the Hospices de Beaune, the old hospital, now a museum.

Thanks - will do it all at some point!!
Just need to work out when

Wow, what a fantastic story and the pictures! I'm a little jealous because you made the whole post so beautiful. What you did with the pictures is so nice. I hope to learn to edit my photo's also, and make my post nice like yours!
I'm also going to read your earlier posts. You don't live in Burgundy anymore, you wrote, where do you live now?

Thank you so much @clio! I've been working on my editing skills a lot lately. I used photojet.com to make the collage (its free to use). I have so many photos I figured making collages would reduce the length of the blog and make it a little more original.
I live in Valencia for a few more days, then off to Mallorca and Nepal :)

Great photos as always.
There is something wonderful about the passing of the seasons. Unfortunately you can really lease touch if your living in a city.

Very true @eroche. Its nice to have both options available on a weekly basis, but it often comes with a price...
Thanks for the kinds words :)

I can truly appreciate the time you spent bringing this article to fruition Sylvia. It's wonderfully laid out, beautifully written and your photography is superb ~ Bringing the scapes and the details together. You always takes us on the journey with you.

Love the autumn vine leaves and vines, the frog on the leaves and the grasses ~ As well as the way you have collaged your images. 🦋

How lovely to have so much encouragement and such wonderful comments! Thank you so much @allyinspirit. It really means a lot

Truly a pleasure Sylvia. Has been wonderful reconnecting with you and your work today. 🦋

OMG I love your photos <3
your blog it´s GOLD!! ^_^ Followed

YAAAAAY, FRIEND!

Thank you dear Sir ;) Waiting impatiently for yours and your better half's. WooohooOOoo!

Un post magnifique ! Quand j'ai lu rapidement le titre, j'ai cru que tu allais parler du Burundi...LoL
Je ne savais pas que Bourgogne se disait Burgundy ;-)

Merci Barbara! Le Burundi c'est pour le prochain blog haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37