Portrait photography - Woman from Palong Northern hill tribe

in #photography7 years ago

This is my first entry to @juliank's Portrait Photography contest.

I took this photo in Chiang Rai, Thailand. This woman belongs to the Palong northern hill tribe, nicknamed the "big earring people".
They were once a proud nomadic tribe from Myanmar (Burma), but many now live in refugee camps in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai in northern Thailand. In the past 200 years, many tribes migrated to Thailand because of the conflicts in their countries.

Thailand.jpg

Photo taken with my Canon EOS 500D



To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Walk with me LISBON - Part1

CryptoKitty

Walk with me LISBON - Part2

Black and White



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osmosis small2followme.png

Sort:  

lovely photo reflecting the people as they are.

I can't wait to go on my world bicycle tour. Your photo reminded me of all of the great photo opportunities I will have. you chose a great subject and lighting for this one. thanks for posting.

How exciting @imaginationicon! When does your cycle tour start? Where from? Where to? Too many questions 😜
Thanks for dropping by.

I am going to start in the Spring and tour the western half of the states. It will be a trial run. After I will start in Alaska at the Arctic Ocean and head south to the southern tip of Argentina. Then I will head to Europe and complete my way East from there. I will be doing some extensive touring, no rush, five years should do it.

I will be starting a series called GONE. It will be a continuous series documenting all of the things I do and see along the way. Scuba, Paragliding, Zip-lines, B.B.Q.'s, etc. Everything I can do and experience.

I just purchased a drone and camera slider. I will also edit as I go. I hope you follow along and enjoy the experience. I also have two series out now, one on my walk across America and the other of my kayaking the Mississippi River. Flow is on DTube and I am starting to upload The Path. I also have a full featured documentary of my hike on the Continental Divide Trail.

Anyway, happy holidays and a happy new year to you and your family.

You can find me on youtube.com/user/imaginationicon. great meeting you!

WOW! Some amazing projects you have!
I'll be following your adventures with much interest.
My brother cycled from Dijon (France) to Valencia (Spain) in 2 weeks this summer and I thought that was quite an intense effort. He loved it :)
So lovely to meet you here @imaginationicon. Happy holidays to you too 🎄

beautiful image! there are so few tribal group in existence, it's so sad to think of them in refugee camps. Then I think well, it's sad for anyone to be a refugee!

Yes, and just about every country has their refugees. If you do a search on the hill tribes in Thailand you'll find out some very sad realities :(

So true...this world is full of tragedy

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 16:07:49
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.80/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39