Walk with me - Landscape Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I took this photo on an early morning walk through the French countryside, in the grounds of a castle called Le Château de Bresse-sur-Grosne, in the region of Burgundy.
The circular structure you see behind the horse is a dovecote or pigeon loft, translated from the French colombier or pigeonnier.
The first pigeonnier can be traced back as early as the Middle Ages. They contain multiple pigeon holes for birds to nest as these were an important food source back in the day, and as such, were kept for their eggs, flesh, and dung (eeew). Dovecotes were also used to house Homing pigeons - the super smart pigeons carrying messages from one person to another! (widely used in times of war)

Horse.jpg

Photo taken with my Samsung Galaxy S4

Dovecotes can be found in various Western European countries including Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Belgium, United Kingdom... but also in other continents (North America and Asia) with similarly intended use. They are often found to be free-standing edifices of a variety of shapes (square, hexagonal, cylindrical) with sometimes interesting roof structures.

Here are 2 extra photos I took last summer (still in Burgundy) which display different roof shapes:


Square-shaped

Circular with small top wooden entrance

Thanks as always @juliank for hosting these contests



To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Walk with me LISBON - Part1

Palong HillTribe Woman

Walk with me LISBON - Part2

MERRY CHRISTMAS!



“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osm0sis sndbox.gif

Sort:  

Another walk :p

I did a bit of cycling at lunch time, trying to burn some xmas food/booze off! x

Burning off the Christmas pudge😜

Yes and the pudge I had before!

Magical :*

Beautiful landscapes, glad to be able to take part of this! The first photo is so wonderful, I live the deep green colours and contrast.'

Thank you dear @kerlund74 :)

Don't you find it incredible the amount of time and detail that went into buildings for doves and pigeons? They'd make cool little starter homes in the over priced cities in the world!

Funny, I was just thinking the exact same thing while examining them.
I think some of them have been recently restored to create small rooms and recycle the space in some ways... but imagine having to find furniture that fits in the circular ones?!

Or to fit through the doors.......they look tiny!

Thank you, you solved a riddle for me. I did not know what these buildings were for. I saw them in Burgundy, but I did not know what they were.

Well there you go @clio! Happy to investigate if there is anything else you need to know 😉
Will be going to Autun tomorrow by the way.

I am curious to know whether you liked the museum, the mosaics and of course Eve!

You're going to laugh @clio... I went yesterday and saw the gorgeous mosaics but Eve wasn't there! I think they transferred her somewhere so that others can admire her. Bad timing for me 😞 But at least now I have a good excuse to go back.
Luckily the museum was way bigger than I thought and had some beautiful artefacts and paintings. I took millions of photos and will have to make some time to blog about it soon.

Update: my aunt just told me I probably missed a room... the one where Eve was! PWAAAAhahahahaha! Feeling super silly :(

such charming buildings with a rich history and as always, excellent photography!

Reminds me of my holiday in Brittany many years ago. Thanks for the journey!
 

Oh waw. c'est beau les pigeonniers... ca a l'air magique de part chez toi dis donc !

Mais c'est magique, c'est la Bourgogne! T'as pas les mêmes en Belgique?
(joli bonnet au fait)

Pas vu beaucoup de pigeonnier. Pourtant, on est un pays de colombophiles.... Mais bon, tu sais la vie à la ville..... :D
(Merci pour le compliment, je devrai l'enlever et changer de photo mais j'adore trop :D) @osm0sis

Oui, si tu es a Bruxelles même je suppose que les pigeonniers se font rares!

Beautiful countryside 👌

amazing photography dear. i also like to photography so plz chek my last post i post a amazing photo

Thanks @saadahsan. I will check it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66