Acapulco Sunsets: Thoughts on Transforming Weaknesses to Strengths

in #photography6 years ago

I've been dealing with the struggle of lack of time and lack of energy. By the time sunset happens I'm generally pretty exhausted but still with a long list of things I'd still like to do. Sometimes I'm able to deal and make things happen, other times not. I've often wished for more hours in the day.

While I get this is a personal issue with time management I'm also aware that this phenomenon effects just about everyone (at least everyone I've ever met). We're always left thinking there's more we could have done. I rarely end a day feeling satisfied that I got to everything.

Now the opposite of this I suppose is to do nothing and I've been there too. While I can say my life is exhausting and stressful I can also say I wouldn't easily be able to return to a routine like what I used to live, heavily schooled.

So when I get stressed about my progress or what I still have to do I try and remind myself to be thankful, at least I'm not bored. Part of my issue with boredom before wasn't necessarily a lack of interest in things, it more boiled down to a lack of confidence in my capability to do things. I was told by many people I could really only read and do schoolwork well and that's what I stuck to. Other hobbies I took up never lasted long as I got stalled due to lack of creativity honestly because of underconfidence. When I'd make a mistake or get stuck I'd give up.

It was through that cycle of giving up that people's assertions that my interest in many things was actually a weakness got reinforced. I felt that it was bad to get interested in new things because I couldn't hold interest in them. Now that I've identified that was actually a learning problem given to me by my family and schooling my interest in many things is now a strength. In any one day I do so many tasks that it often surprises people. I also have a tendancy to switch from task to task...basically whenever I get bored.

I spent much of my life fighting these tendancies. The last several years have been a process of determining why I do those things and whether they're actually a problem. The more I explore this the more I move towards a work flow that works for me. It's not what works for everyone else but that's not important. It only needs to work for me.

If you've got quarks or tendancies you've always been poked at or prodded at about consider them from a different light. What if those drawbacks or weaknesses could actually be considered strengths?

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Acapulco Sunsets: Night Thoughts on Self Change
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Safe, But Free for Those Who Want to Be Free
Acapulco Sunsets: Early Starts Make For Good Nights

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Big Fat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat
Off Grid DIY Powerwall Adventures: Cleaning the Solar Array

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

We must never arend. We must always trust ourselves and truly believe we can change things. Congratulations for the post. See you soon.

Nice post 👍👍👍👍

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56665.04
ETH 3021.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22