Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat

in #crochet6 years ago

That right there is a finished giant slouchy hat for my dreadlocks. I adapted a pattern I learned from a Youtube tutorial to make it bigger. It seemed like my hair would likely fit in the original pattern but it'd be tight and I wanted to allow room for growth.

When I make John one I will take pictures of the process and post my own tuturial on how to do it. All I did to modify the pattern was to add extra increasing rows, meaning rows that get have multiple stitches here and there to help make a wider sac.

I used Red Heart Unforgettable acrylic yarn which was nothing short of a giant pain in the ass. It had the extreme tendancy to come off of the skein (the roll of yarn) in giant wads that loved to mat together and form knots. This yarn was slightly sticky in texture in that it stuck to itself pretty easily. Many of the tangles weren't even knots, it involved me pulling two nearly velcroed pieces apart.

The one thing I do love about the yarn is the colors but I'm not sure it's worth dealing with it. I find acrylic yarn to be pretty itchy and since I wear a lot of these things every day I want something a little softer. I have more expensive bamboo yarn in route, something I'm more than excited for.

The pattern said that one 100 gram roll would make two hats but mine certainly didn't. Between my alterations and mistakes like the one above I ended up with only a small ball of yarn left, usuable only for a border or something small. The photo above shows what happens when you do the exact opposite of what a pattern asks, you end up with something like this.

What a mess, it's supposed to bowl in not get frilly.

The purple and pink blend yarn you see is another full skein of that sort of yarn I have left. While I'll still use it, I'm honestly not looking forward to it.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

5 Lessons Learned While Learning to Crochet
Craft Adventures: Adjusting Messy Bun Hat Patterns for Dreadlocks
Craft Adventures: More Yarn, More Projects

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Off Grid DIY Powerwall Adventures: Cleaning the Solar Array
Farm Update: We Have Baby Chicks! Lots of them!
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Safe, But Free for Those Who Want to Be Free

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Hi. I loved the way you describe your adventure. I liked the color of the yarn. I see that it was difficult for you to weave with that acrylic yarn. From what I see in the images the yarn is multihbras, which makes the fabric more complicated, it has happened to me, and then I am more careful and more patient when weave with that kind of yarn. Regards.

Yeah It's pretty but also pretty annoying lol. I briefly considered purchasing more but opted for a cotton acrylic blend instead, much easier to deal with and softer too.

My Dreads don't wear hats. Neither do the Killa Kans.

deff dreads and killa kans.jpg

These are Killa Kans and Deff Dreads from my Ork army for Warhammer 40,000.

Little known fact, I have spent many hours painting these figures lol. Not so much playing only a little but I had fun painting them.

I like Orks because they fluff actually encourages me to build stuff out of junk and extra parts!

I liked the alien race because looks lol

Orcs were fun though, probably my second favorite.

If I could crochet I would make so many hacky sacks

I actually considered the idea of making one the other day lol. Super easy to get started honestly and you wouldn't need more than a youtube tutorial in terms of training no joke. Theyre generally pretty good about showing you literally everything you need to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55