ColorChallenge - Cerinthe - Saturday's Indigo

I'm always surprised when I find gaps in Wikipedia -- and this flower is one of those gaps. It's Cerinthe major, also known as Honeywort, the Blue Shrimp Plant, or the Pride of Gibraltar. Wikipedia's entry begs off by saying "Cerinthe is a poorly studied genus of vascular plants..."

xtsu DSC05840-1 WEB.jpg
Sony DSC-RX-10, 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 9m, 1/500 sec, f/4, ISO 125

I'm not sure why this information gap exists. This pretty plant has been part of cottage gardens for a long time - and isn't hard to grow. This portrait is from a big patch that self-seeds and thrives with little care in a parking lot median at my local Post Office. The bees like them a lot!

The indigo color of the leaves develops when the night-time temperatures are cool, but changes to a silvery green with warmer weather. They grow about 2 feet tall and hold up well in a vase if they are kept hydrated right after they are cut.

Do you grow Cerinthe? If you know more about it, Wikipedia needs you! And I would appreciate learning more about your experience with the pretty plant in the comments below!

Here are some other flower portraits that you may like, from earlier this week: Do Red Roses Taste Better? // Can I Eat Any Rose? // This Rose is Worth Eating! // True Blue Lobelia // Big World for a Little Snail



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @ haphazard-hstead congratulations on the beautiful image you have captured, I must admit it was my copleta ignorance, I had never seen it, thank you very much for all this information and the beautiful image

I'm glad you liked my picture of a garden flower that isn't very well known. I hope you see one in a garden someday!

Beautiful flowers with lovely blue color! Very interesting information! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo. I was surprised to see so little information about this plant on Wikipedia. That doesn't happen very often, lol. It seems like Wikipedia has a lot of information on almost everything!

You're welcome! Yes, that was my big surprise, too! :)

I have to admit that i can't recall ever seeing this beautiful flow that you've taken a picture and shared with us. I'll have to do some digging and see what i can come up with. I'm sure Cornell University has something on them. Thanks for sharing.

I'd be interested in reading about what you uncover. I see basic information about this plant in plant sales listings. But it's pretty basic information. As a kid, the seed catalogs would have fantastical descriptions about it -- "A BLUE SHRIMP on a PLANT!!!" lol!

Just looking around a little bit i found this. Pretty much describes everything you need to know. Even how to successfully grow them. Thought you'd like that.

Did you mean to put a link in your comment? I'm curious about what you found! THanks for looking for information about those Cerinthe!

Thanks, @jakeswingle16! That's some good information about cerinthe. It would be nice if Wikipedia had that!

I'm not sure but maybe that information can be passed along to Wikipedia and they might update their record so they have that plant on file. Worth a try, but the internet is full of information and almost everything has a little something on it that can be found if you are looking something up.

Oh yeah, there's a lot of information on the Internet. But I'm surprised to find some gaps. I made a post about eating the Insidious Gomphidious, a wild mushroom. I think that's the only post where anyone on the Internet actually shows how to cook it! There are still gaps in the Internet, lol!

such a beautiful color!

It's an amazing plant, just self-seeding and growing like a weed at my neighborhood post office. I was really glad to find it. I'll be looking for seeds this fall! :D

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Incredible photo with such a pretty combination of blue & indigo colors. Great information. I had never seen this flower before. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @haphazard-hstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I've never seen this flower, its very colourful :)

Its a different kind of blue. Very nice picture!

These are gorgeous! What zone are you in?! OOOOH I just saw you are in Oregon also!! How cool! Well you're in the valley, you've got a much different climate than I do over here in Central Oregon!

I hate when I find gaps in information! It's frustrating!

I don't know how those Cerinthe would do in Central Oregon. There's gap in the information, lol! Enjoy your beautiful country over there across the Cascades! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57068.68
ETH 2988.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27