ColorChallenge - True Blue Lobelia - Friday's Blue - 2 original photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I never believed photos of lobelia flowers until I saw them in person. They are truly an intense blue! These blossoms almost look like butterflies. I like the white "runways" that guide insects to the nectar of each flower. I wonder what they look like in the ultraviolet wavelengths that bees can see.

xtsu DSC02408-1.jpg
Sony DSC-RX-10, 1/100 sec, f/2.8, ISO 125


Are lobelias hard to grow? Well, this little lobelia loves life! It self-seeded in the crack between two concrete steps! It's only a couple inches high, but it's mighty! Have you seen any flowers thriving in difficult places lately?

xtsu DSC01215-1-1small.jpg
Sony DSC-RX-10, 1/160 sec, f/5, ISO 200


There are a lot of different kinds of Lobelias. This one is Lobelia ericus. Do you grow any Lobelias? Do you grow any blue flowers?



Click on these images to see some of my other photos.

Existential Seagull // Waiting for the Sausalito Ferry // Ephemeral Arkansas Creek // Pennyroyal Wetlands // March of the Sweetgums - Landscape Change // Snake in the Grass



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

Wow that blue is stunning! I'm not familiar with that plant, but I love it!

It doesn't even seem real, in real life even, lol. Especially when it's close to sunset, the blue gets even more pronounced. All the plant catalog pictures that seemed fake to me, turn out to be right on, lol.

I love the one growing out of the crack

I was surprised to see it there. It had to be a tiny seed in that tiny crack. I like finding plants that are doing well in spite of their circumstance.

Very beautiful "intense blue" flowers! Yes, it's really amazing that they can grow naturally and have plenty of flowers at the difficult place like that! Great photos!

Thanks, @tangmo! That little plant didn't bother with many leaves. It put most of its energy into flowers and seeds, so it could reproduce -- and spread to a better spot! That's the determination of nature!

You're welcome! Yes, I absolutely agree with you, that's the great determination of nature! ;)

Nice pictures! :) I liked the first one a lot!

If you like surfing pictures take a look at my recent blog. :)

Truly magnificent ! Great shots @haphazard-hstead!

Glad you enjoyed my blue lobelias. They are an impressive little flower.

I grew some, but neglected them, they kept going! Sadly they were in the wrong spot and did not flower much. Mine looked more like weeds so I gave up on them :(

Awww, too bad. I hope you can find a spot that they would like, for another try!

A beautiful blue, looks so pretty :)

Thanks, @karenb54. They are tiny flowers, but they pack a colorful punch!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

wonderful color and great pictures!

Thanks, @sardrt! They are a wonderful color, for sure. I really like their white lines that guide the insects, too.

Staring into the top photo is mesmerizing, almost like hypnosis. So blue. Thanks for sharing the flowers, and the little one having a hearty go of it on the steps. Nature is rather resilient, that's for sure.

I don't think anyone would have tried to plant a lobelia in that crack in the steps. But there it is - a determined little lobelia. So they might do really well in a rock garden. They would look pretty amongst the rocks, I think. Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70