Creamy Roasted Chestnut & Potato Soup (Vegan) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Can I just say that dealing with chestnuts is not exactly the most fun task in the world, which I’m sure any of you who’ve done it would agree with me.


They’re just sort of high maintenance compared to what you get from them. However, I really like using them and I’ve gotta say I’ve dealt with much worse ingredients in my foodblogging past so it’s not too bad to mess with them a few times a year. Plus, you all know how much I love to get into themes and stuff, and come on, chestnuts and Christmas time go together like pb&j! Am I right? Am I right????


Before I get into that, I wanted to ask those of you who celebrate it about your plans for Thanksgiving, do you have any? And if you don't live in the US then do you do any kind of "friendsgiving" or anything? I'm so curious what it's like to not live where it's celebrated.


Alrighty, aside from the chestnuts, this soup is a breeze to make and it has so many of the flavors that I love about the holiday season. I really wanted to get the chestnut flavor in there so I added quite a bit.

The thing is, I don't have a lot of chestnuts available to me here because they grow don't everywhere in this region like they did where I lived in Chile, so if you also live where they are hard to find you can cut the amount in half and you’ll still have a great soup. One more thing, if you want to make it a whole meal you can add some protein like leftover chicken or turkey (if not vegetarian) , or some type of beans would work well also. Just feel free to make it your own.

Okay, so you all have to make this, and if you live up North then take a moment to cozy on up by the fire and enjoy a big bowl of it with me! Hehe, and for those in the south, maybe you can crank up the AC and do the same thing even despite the warm weather.

Gringalicious-border.png

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's word : CHESTNUT

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

  1. Cute Pumpkin Spice Mini-Loaf Cakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  2. Nutella OVERLOAD Cheesecake Chocolate Cake - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  3. Beer Cheddar Pumpkin Gnocchi - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  4. Oreo Brownie Cheesecake Bars!

  5. Nutella S'cream Filled Chocolate Skeleton Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Ghostly Mocha Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Pastel de Choclo - AKA Chilean Corn Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Vanilla Crepes + Berries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Apple Cinnamon Hand Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

Sort:  

Always amazing photography and just splendid food ideas. Keep up the phenomenal work!!

Thanks @noboxes! You're so supportive!

Delicious!!! Where I live there are many many chestnut trees and I love every recipe with chestnuts, so thanks to share it ^_^

That's so wonderful @silviabeneforti! Enjoy!

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, diced
2 medium apples, peeled and finely diced
4 stalks celery, finely chopped
1 pound (about 3 medium) red skin potatoes, washed and cut into cubes
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon fresh sage leaves, roughly chopped
8 cups chicken or vegetable stock (use vegetable for vegan)
2/3 cup heavy cream or coconut cream (use coconut for vegan)
2 tablespoons flour (or arrowroot starch for gluten free)
2 cups shelled, roasted chestnuts (see this post for how to roast them)
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
Instructions

In a large, wide-topped pot or dutch oven heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add the garlic, onion, celery, apples, potatoes, rosemary, and sage. Cook for 7 to 8 minutes, stirring very often, until the potatoes are just starting to soften. Pour in the stock, then cover pot with lid and bring to a boil.
Chop the chestnuts into small pieces and add to the pot when it starts to boil. Remove lid, reduce heat to medium low, and boil uncovered for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are very soft.
Whisk the cream and flour together in a small bowl or glass until smooth, then stir it into the soup.
Continue stirring continuously until the soup starts to thicken. Season to taste with salt and pepper then remove from heat and allow it to cool off just a little bit before serving.
Notes

If you'd like to make this a complete meal you could add some meat or beans depending on your preference. 🙂

YOu are awesome...

Well thanks @funnyman, I am glad you think so.

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Loading...

Looks delicious, as always!

You are always so sweet and supportive @rkrijgsman, thanks so muc

Loading...

Yummy... feed me some please

swing by and I'll serve a bowl @princeshady5

Hi gringalicious I really love your food ideas the way you present is soo good...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59