Thanksgiving 2018 (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It's been a very busy end of the semester, though there are still two weeks left, but Thanksgiving break has come at last! With it has come a little time to take some photos and write. As with most years that I'm in the USA, I spent Thanksgiving in Rochester, MN at my parents' house. This year, my sister was even home, so it was just like the "old days."

MM201820181122-EOS_8070.jpg¡Qué detalle!

For those of you unfamiliar with Thanksgiving, the holiday basically revolves around a large meal and spending time with family. In my family, everyone is involved in the preparation, though the clean-up seems to draw less interest in participation. This year, in addition to the relish tray (my usual task), I also made the pie crusts. I hadn't made my own before, so it was a good chance to figure out how. The results were delicious. Of course, the inside of the pie gets all the praise.

MM201820181121-EOS_8016.jpgDrool-worthy

Every year, my parents buy, bake, and squash pie pumpkins by hand. In addition to an impressive mess, this yields a much more flavorful pumpkin for pie and whatever else they use it in. Canned pumpkin just isn't the same! When I lived in Spain, I also used this process to bake pies for my fellow teachers during Thanksgiving. Canned pumpkin isn't a thing you can find at Carrefour or Día grocery stores!

MM201820181122-EOS_8056.jpgRabbit-food platter

It was a delicious meal and, while I did eat a little too much, I didn't overdo it this year. There are a lot of left-overs, which is a good thing. I'll be bringing some back with me to eat while scrambling to finish the last couple weeks of the semester. There is a lot coming up due and not much time to get it done!

MM201820181122-EOS_8048.jpgTake a seat

Unfortunately, the manual / automatic focus switch on my most-used lens is now broken. I'm not sure how it happened, but I'll have to send it in for an expensive repair... when I have an income. It still works in auto-focus, so it's not terribly pressing. The downside is that I can't use it for long-exposures. It flickers between manual and auto and will mess up focus before taking the shot.

Now, if only my estimated Steem account value were for real, and I had over $150 billion to work with, this wouldn't be an issue!

MM201820181122-EOS_8054.jpgUltra-Wide Place Setting

Overall, though, it's been a good Thanksgiving. Hopefully, You'll all see me a little more frequently after the 10th of December, when everything's turned in and I have a bit more free time. Until then...

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Now that last shot looks like you may have been swinging from another chandelier? lol.
What beautiful presentation and I can't believe how perfect that pumpkin pie is. Me, it would have cracked in the middle, had some sort of burn mark in it, and the crust might have looked like that BUT mine would have been store bought lol.
Really glad to hear you have just about got the semester under your belt.

Thanks. I can't wait to be done with all the semesters, so I might have a chance at a stable income again. The pie was very tasty!

A burn mark and crack could make for a pretty interesting photo! lol - process it with a lot of contrast in black and white...

The last shot was taken with my ultra-wide, standing on a spinny stool. I didn't even fall and break anything!

I think the lens' mf/af switch got moisture in it somehow. It's not supposed to, since it's a water sealed lens, but that would explain why it's shorting out in MF mode. Sending them in for repair is expensive, so I'm trying prying the switch up with a toothpick and leaving it to, hopefully, dry out. It's possible moisture got in, but couldn't dry out because of the sealing.

Can you submerge your lens in a bag of rice to possibly get any moisture out?

I ended up buying a rather larger bag of rice than I'd expected to. So, with my lens sitting in a bag of rice, I started thinking about making some rice pudding. If it doesn't fix the lens switch, at least it'll be tasty!

Lol, good idea!!

It's definitely worth a shot. I'll have to pick some up tomorrow. All I have is couscous and garbanzos at the moment!

I love the rich colours, I can't seem to get my camera to give me that saturation, the other day I changed something and it looked like damn cellphone photos haha. Well done.

Thanks. Settings can be tricky sometimes, but shooting raw file and using Lightroom helps. I've been tempted to switch to Fujifilm a few times because their film simulations are really impressive.

Your photos are beautiful! I love how you focused on the napkin ring and angle that you focused the dining plates with the blurred candles and chairs and table (I think the term should be bokeh?), just like an article in a food magazine :) And the pie looks yumm!! Oh, looking outside the windows, was it snowing? The last shot is really interesting in which the angle it was shot. The camera looked high up, was it?

Thank you! There was snow on the ground but, fortunately, it didn't snow while I was back in Rochester. That last one, I stood up on a stool and used an ultra-wide lens to warp perspective a bit. It was one of those stools with the spinning seats, but what's a little danger for a different viewpoint, right? The room only has 8' ceilings, so it wasn't too high up.

Oh spinning seats stool can be dangerous but you balanced very well to have taken that lovely shot. I know I have fallen off from one before :D what camera do you use, if you don’t mind me asking?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm using a Canon 7D. It's an old model and I'd like to upgrade, but being a grad student has put that on hold for awhile. When I was working full time, I did manage to buy a couple high-end lenses.

Those stools are dangerous—I hope you didn't get hurt falling off!

Ah thank you. I am surveying on cameras to take photos like yours (I love photos with bokeh effect). When you upgrade a camera, do you trade-in? Does it work that way? I am also thinking, if I were to get a camera myself, what happens when technology changes 🤔?
Thank you, just a little bruised but I do have a little phobia with spinning stools :)

Most of the cameras are systems. With my Canon, I could buy a new body and the lenses would still work. You can upgrade lenses individually, etc. Sometimes you can sell the old bodies, depending on how old they are and what condition they're in.

Things have changed a lot this year, though. Canon and Nikon just released new systems and, while you can use the old lenses, you need to have an adapter. If I had the money, I would be tempted to just sell all my gear and start with a new system. Canon's mirrorless lenses look amazing, but the camera body is a little underwhelming.

I have been eyeing up the Fujifilm X series for awhile. I'd rather have a full-frame system, but the X-T3 body is very nice and the Fuji X lenses are less expensive than full-frame equivalents and very high quality. They also tend to have large apertures (more depth of field) and nice bokeh.

A lot of people like Sony, but I find them to be too "gadgety." The new Nikon Z looks like it might be a good system, but there aren't any nice lenses for it, yet.

If you decide to get a camera, there are a lot of things to take into consideration. You might want to look at some of the different systems and watch some YouTube reviews to see what would be the best system for your uses, budget, etc. Photography is a lot of fun, but it can get expensive fast :-)

Thank you so much @fotosdenada! These are very good information for me to take into consideration. I will check them out. Fujifilm X series sounds interesting. I love a nice bokeh. I think marketing wise, I see Canon and Nikon more than the other brands. Haha yah, it is because it can get pretty expensive fast that I am taking some time to decide. But I won't want to rush into it. Now that it is nearing Christmas and year end, I will be on a look out for the deals that are available. Thank you so much again and have a good Sunday there! :)

Howdy there fotosdenada! This is a gorgeous setting you had there for Thanksgiving so well done! What did you do in Spain?

Thanks! I lived and worked as a language auxiliar (co-teacher) in Spanish bilingual schools in the southern part of Spain for several years, and would love to go back indefinitely. Hopefully, having a masters degree will help with that, when I finishe here.

Howdy today fotosdenada! oh how interesting...you want to go back and live there permanently! It's that much better of a culture or what is the attraction?

Wow your photos looks so beautiful and polished. Each of them has wonderful composition and colours and shapes. Really lovely.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Your photos are beautiful, seems like you still can tweak it to get great photos before you get it repaired.

I love those tasty and delicious meals up there, they look so impressive and I am sure they taste just same!

Happy to hear that all of you guys had some bonding time during Thanksgiving this year and shared some delicious meals, plus, you cleaned the dishes. Lol! Oh, you didn't?

Great post, beautiful photos! I hope you enjoy the rest of the semester...

Thanks. The lens still focuses automatically, I just can't use manual focus. Unfortunately, I use manual a lot flr light painting and long exposure photos. When I'm done with grad school, I hope to find work and be able to get some repairs and upgrades.

It was a small Thanksgiving, this year, but definitelyl pleasant. In previous years, we have hosted extended family, but this year was just my parents, sister, and me. And I helped with the clean-up! My sister and father are very good at disappearing after meals... lol

Oops! Then you will have to adjust to using the autofocus before that gets fixed. Thankfully, you will soon be done with school and hopefully be able to fix that.

Those big gatherings sure are the best! But the small ones you aren't bad, they can be amazing too, love just needs to flow in there...😄 your Dad and sister are pretty smart, eh?

Whoohoo! Huge congrats on the Curie votes, my friend! So well deserved

It is nice that this is still a family holiday and people again gathering together, I believe our parents and grandparent glad to have such holiday because finally the children and grandchildren coming to parents home. For my parents it was really a happy moment, despite of cleaning the whole house, preparing the betting and creating some more place for those who stay over night. The tables and fridges are always full with delicious food, I love this time that brings a lot of joy and peace into my live. I really enjoyed your photographs, the pie and olive-veg. salad looks really delicious. It is nice to learn about your way of celebration. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you.

Thanksgiving is the holiday I enjoy the most, here in the USA. There is no expectation of gifts and the day centers on a single meal with family. Unfortuantetly, I have no grandparents left and neither my sister nor I have any children of our own, so our Thanksgiving dinner is a little smaller than most. In the past, we have had extended family over, but this year it was just the four of us. That's alright, though. It was a nice day and meal preparation was a lot less stressful than past years.

Your skills are amazing! To compensate for the broken focus mechanism is not an easy task but you nailed it, every shot is precious I love the compositions and dynamics of every picture especially the Rabbit-food platter, it looks like a drop o water entering a glass of water from above, congratulations!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Thank you. They were a lot of fun to take, although standing on the spinny stool for that lst one was a little precarious :-)

Amazing photos of your Thanksgiving celebrations @fotosdenada It is great to know you enjoyed a break in your busy schedule and made the most of your time with your family. Good on you for making your own pie crust too. It looks delicious. They are always much nicer then the store bought ones.

Sorry to hear about your lens. I hope you will be able to get it fixed real soon. Have a great week.

Thanks. It will, unfortunately, be awhile before I can have the lens repaired. Canon wouldn't even provide an estimate. They over-charge, so I'll have to wait until I'm out of grad school. It's still functional, though, I just cant do any long-exposures with it until it can be manually focused again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61