You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thanksgiving 2018 (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Your photos are beautiful! I love how you focused on the napkin ring and angle that you focused the dining plates with the blurred candles and chairs and table (I think the term should be bokeh?), just like an article in a food magazine :) And the pie looks yumm!! Oh, looking outside the windows, was it snowing? The last shot is really interesting in which the angle it was shot. The camera looked high up, was it?

Sort:  

Thank you! There was snow on the ground but, fortunately, it didn't snow while I was back in Rochester. That last one, I stood up on a stool and used an ultra-wide lens to warp perspective a bit. It was one of those stools with the spinning seats, but what's a little danger for a different viewpoint, right? The room only has 8' ceilings, so it wasn't too high up.

Oh spinning seats stool can be dangerous but you balanced very well to have taken that lovely shot. I know I have fallen off from one before :D what camera do you use, if you don’t mind me asking?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm using a Canon 7D. It's an old model and I'd like to upgrade, but being a grad student has put that on hold for awhile. When I was working full time, I did manage to buy a couple high-end lenses.

Those stools are dangerous—I hope you didn't get hurt falling off!

Ah thank you. I am surveying on cameras to take photos like yours (I love photos with bokeh effect). When you upgrade a camera, do you trade-in? Does it work that way? I am also thinking, if I were to get a camera myself, what happens when technology changes 🤔?
Thank you, just a little bruised but I do have a little phobia with spinning stools :)

Most of the cameras are systems. With my Canon, I could buy a new body and the lenses would still work. You can upgrade lenses individually, etc. Sometimes you can sell the old bodies, depending on how old they are and what condition they're in.

Things have changed a lot this year, though. Canon and Nikon just released new systems and, while you can use the old lenses, you need to have an adapter. If I had the money, I would be tempted to just sell all my gear and start with a new system. Canon's mirrorless lenses look amazing, but the camera body is a little underwhelming.

I have been eyeing up the Fujifilm X series for awhile. I'd rather have a full-frame system, but the X-T3 body is very nice and the Fuji X lenses are less expensive than full-frame equivalents and very high quality. They also tend to have large apertures (more depth of field) and nice bokeh.

A lot of people like Sony, but I find them to be too "gadgety." The new Nikon Z looks like it might be a good system, but there aren't any nice lenses for it, yet.

If you decide to get a camera, there are a lot of things to take into consideration. You might want to look at some of the different systems and watch some YouTube reviews to see what would be the best system for your uses, budget, etc. Photography is a lot of fun, but it can get expensive fast :-)

Thank you so much @fotosdenada! These are very good information for me to take into consideration. I will check them out. Fujifilm X series sounds interesting. I love a nice bokeh. I think marketing wise, I see Canon and Nikon more than the other brands. Haha yah, it is because it can get pretty expensive fast that I am taking some time to decide. But I won't want to rush into it. Now that it is nearing Christmas and year end, I will be on a look out for the deals that are available. Thank you so much again and have a good Sunday there! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64