Women and Torn Thorny Roses

Woman! Yes! You! Have you ever been compared to a rose? Why the question?

"Roses are not my favorite flower - just because one kind caused me rashes when I was poked by its thorn one day. I never thought roses could give allergies nor rashes but according to some folks here it could. Do I love roses? Who doesn't? Specially if one is looking down at you like this - in a bunch!"

It's the first time I've seen one in a bunch twice the size of my head and mind you I don't have a small head. Aren't these lovely? Luckily I just had to tip toe and reach for them and bury my nose on those. I took minutes sniffing them because they remind me of a perfume my Mom used to wear - it was called Tea Rose - don't remember the brand I was high school damn I'm almost 40 - I forgot!

a (2).jpg

**The note in Dutch is self worded - it's for my late Momma!

A tourist saw my reaction and couldn't help but take a pic of me. He said;" Lovely, aren't they?" I couldn't agree more.

If you'll be compared to a rose because you're beautiful I think that's fine. If you're compared to it because you smell so good one would very much love to smooch you I think it's a great compliment to be compared to a rose.

However, I was hanging out with some lady friends of mine enjoying some food and being the introvert in the group I normally just listen to their chirps and butt in for some laughs or when asked. That day I think their gossip gal's mode were turned on so the mouths were on fire. I'm not a fan of small talks(unless it's with a guy, guys don't leak stuff out as far as I know) but who are we to judge specially - friends? Besides, they are mostly funny during our very seldom meet ups. I have to admit though, I had thoughts of totally avoiding them and cutting the strings attached but in general they all have been very kind and funny so I kept them as friends and try to just enjoy the beautiful moments we have together.

Am well aware that this group loves dishing so am mostly just not the most opinionated person when am with them but I'm all ears of course! I'm also aware that they probably dish about me, too on those times I don't give in to some of their invites. They were comparing another woman to flowers and at first it was quite a funny conversation till they compared one to a rose. It was someone they no longer keep in touch with because apparently she wears thorns.

Innocently, I asked; " How could someone wear thorns?" Like chikadees in a chorus they all chirped; "because she likes pricking us. We encourage each other but this one only find faults. Can you imagine someone throwing a compliment of your hair and then right after that she'd tell you to sue the salon?"

" That's a famous joke where we came from - isn't it?" I asked back "so .. she must be kidding?"
"You could say that if she's only done that once but she did that to all of us, over and over - in almost every meet up so she's such a thorny rose. " I never thought there's such a thorny rose till I saw this in one of my weekend dates with my husband.

These are pretty lovely aren't they? However, I won't try touching those indeed with all those thorns on their stem - that's a red flag for me! I asked further; "If you knew she has been like that have you tried telling her that you don't like what she's doing?" " Of course we did but she also happens to think she knows it all so she never listens, besides - old habits don't die. We all left her but she doesn't care cause her reasoning is she'd just make another set of friends again. That was another huge slap for us when she said that - cause it's like saying "we don't matter to her!" - Such a thorny rose!" I guess that makes sense.

They asked me back ; "Haven't you had such an experience?" I can't deny that I did but with open pipes it's better to seal yours. I gave a misleading answer (not totally misleading but I prefer to not answer questions like that)so I said instead; "Most people who prick were probably hurt in the past - others call them "broken", I guess hurting another person by saying something negative to them sort of make them feel better inside. It's possible she's a torn thorny rose inside - who are we to judge we don't know her? She must have been through a lot!" The eldest of them butted in ; "She did go through a lot of meanness, rejection and she was looked down by so many people around her till she made it so rich." "There you go ~~" I said back.

Just when I thought she was done talking she grew her own thorns. "You, you don't talk that much and I notice that you often answer far from the questions. Haven't you had any such experience?" Deep inside I thought - I just did but instead of blurting that out I just shrugged my shoulders and smile the sweetest and sipped my tea and proceeded eating my cake so she would hush. She gave me that stare and someone's nasty spicy remark about the thorny rose lead to laughs and nastier remarks and the dishing continued so I excused myself out to get more carrot cake on the table, ate inside instead and sat next to the husbands who were talking about cars instead.

Yes, I have experienced that, yes.. indeed in some circle of friends and relatives, too. It's also possible that I have done that some time ago when I was not as matured as I am now. I was quite a straight forward lass when I was in my 20s my sisters would probably say that its an understatement. I may have hurt some unconsciously so I can't really play Pontius Pilate and wash my hands cause am as innocent as these yellow roses my husband once gave me as a "kiss and make up gift".

I went back outside and found out they were not done dishing but it has somehow toned down. On the drive back home, I told my husband about "the dish" he just smiled and teased me ; " Yes, you're all like roses, indeed" and laughed hard! "You have your thorns, too honey!" I told him I am very much aware of that but in defense like roses I think that I only use that to protect myself or to stand up for myself - or .. have I actually used them to prick, too? I quietly asked myself the later.. perhaps.. unconsciously .. And I quietly utter.."Oh damn - if I have ever unconsciously done that to someone may that someone forgive me for I probably was not aware of what I was doing."

So woman, got yourself thorns, too? Do you use them to protect yourself or to prick others, too?

If it's the later .. we already know that base on this story - if you go on doing that you shouldn't be surprise if your friends no longer join you in the table. Why do we do this anyway? Is it because we do want to feel better? To hurt? Out of envy? Out of jealousy? Is it because we have got something to prove to the world? To compete and prove we're so much better or have something better than what the other person has? Can't we just use our "feline-ness" to help and empower each other instead? Why o why? Would you dare admit and share your reason or personal experience with a thorny torn rose in the past? Do you still see that thorny rose? Why and more whys?

You a man reading this post now? Know anyone who's a thorny torn rose? What was your experience like with a thorny torn rose? Do only women shield themselves with thorns or are there men who "prick" their male friends with nasty comments/ attacks or fault finding, too? I wonder. Would you dare share?

I took each pic with a Samsung A3 2016.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out.

** My 1st Steemit Birthday Wish: Universe! Let There Be A Sustained Massive Steemit Growth ! Challenge to Other Steemit August Celebrants Inside
** Why Do You Cast Your Up vote Like You Do Huh?
** Learn The Art of Commenting in Steemit



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs and story.

To be compared to one of nature's phenomenons....the lovely rose...one had best do what the rose does....keep those thorns at a distance and out of view.

Oh my.....yes...there are ladies and then there are women.....loose cannons without their husbands...I'm afraid.

If you have ever watched chickens.....it should give one an idea of how low it can go.

It is best to stay far...far way from any such gathering....its name is trouble.

Wishing you all the best. Abinetotlater.

Thank you Mon Ami,

Mind if I say that if you were a rose you were the sweetest tiny pink ones with such fragrant blooms of them all? unfortunately I got no pics of that of what I am talking about but if I get to find one I shall send you :)

yes.. don't worry I wear an invisible shield when I'm near such thorny roses :D

I hope you're doing great out there!

Very kind of you to say so......mon ami.

With your description......you have brought to mind the Fairy rose....a floribunda...I think......it is a lovely rose to plant beside a pond as it drapes over into the pond.

Lovely...invisible shields up....a good way of putting it.

Appreciate your kind wishes and hoping the same for you.

Bleujay saved the best for last......replying to your comments....and now is off.

All the best to you...Cheers.

That woman was a darn thorny rose. Over here we would call someone like that a boot ah, glaswegian can be so evocative!

And those mildewy tomatoes, what are they like!

I bet those roses worked back in the day as a make up gift :O)

boot ~~boot ~~~!
hahahah :D
mildewy tomatoes aint chewy but rather leaky :D hahah
these yellow roses are just a few of the plants' blooms
yes of course they did :D

I thought they might! Always works does em flowers :O)

I really loe the smell of a rose too. They are beautiful as well. The red ones in your post are like the ones in my front garden, big bouquets!

yes! our next door neighbor has one but not as huge as these
when I'm weeding in the front yard and one happens to cross our wall I can't resist but stick my nose in it hahaha
You're very lucky to have those bouquets!

Take a cutting!! Sneak it!! ;O)

They are sometimes too big for its own weight which surprised me

no i can't ahaha

best neighbor in the world so I won't do that hahah

yes, pretty heavy but very very beautiful
honey bees love them

I have seen the bees. Given that it is right next to my front door I cant miss them! :O)

There is this song that goes like "Every rose has its thorn" and another one "La vie et une Rose." Maybe we all do resemble a rose in a way.

And some do have more thorns than others, like you wrote, maybe some have a good reason that they have grown them.

Very nice photographs by the way.

Thanks a lot
I guess we all do one's growing out of my forehead now oh oh!
don't prick me hahah just kidding :)

Hm, now that's not good when they grow out off your forehead, hahaha.
Unless you are a unicorn, then it is alright of course.

yeah a fluffy one hahaha

I love roses when they are cut and in vases or from a distance but I hate gardening or working around them.

As for women being prickly that may well be from time to time but their overall beauty, inside and outside is well worth it! I love my rose (@lellabird60)!

aw! that's very very sweet old dog! She's a very very lucky bird :)

I understand why you hate it, I do get pricks, too :D but I can't resist the smell ^ ^

You know us women - very very well :)

Beautiful Roses!!

Last week I got my best friend also some roses, a present from her parents who do not live in the Netherlands. They asked me to get some nice flowers, and although I usually get lilies, this time I went for red roses! I simple love them, especially when the flower itself is big, like you have in your photos.

Thank you!
your GF must have loved it man ! I don't know whether these are American roses I want the yellow American roses they're really really fragrant!
White lilies are a topperr~~~

Very beautifull roses. I love them))) and i think it's a very good compliment when somebody compares you to the most charming flower. Amazing post!!!

Thank you
I agree it's a compliment indeed but definitely not if its with that thorny rose :D

Thats for sure!)

beautiful Roses @englishtchrivy.
The color is red. I like that color, Make the heart calm and happy.

Peace

@usmanosama

thank you

In every rose, you can find so much beauty but when the thorns grow too big the true beauty will be hidden from the eye.
I love how a rose is build up, how it grows and how it blooms. I think you can see the same in people. Some wear their thorns so bright they hide their self and prick and prick and prick till it bleeds. However, there might be a deep pain inside who made them grow in the first place!

As always, I really love your pictures!

thanks much!
prick prick prick till it bleeds?
eeeeekkk~~~ I'll ran away from that fast and quick!

The pain of the prick ......
I cried once upon a time because I got stuck to a rose bush.... -_- No joke! My whole leg was a mess.

Beautiful red roses!!!
I should buy some roses for my roomate Dee... I think she will love it!
Big hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

yes they are indeed :)
you should! you should!

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorns have roses.” (Alphonse Karr) . It's just a matter of point of view .....

hahhah or both :)
also allowed and what we do most
but prefer to rejoice yes?

I thought that it's an interesting rose story. Rose is not my special favorite flower as well, but it's an attractive flower. :) @englishtchrivy Have a great weekend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85