Her Barking Knight In Sparkling Green Armor

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

b.jpg

Have you ever heard a duck bark? This one does. They call this "kuifeind" in Dutch. 5% up to the first one who can remember what this is called in English. When I first presented this to you I only had the male and he looks like that - seemingly all black till I stalked the couple and found out he's actually sparkling green.

a.jpg

I was just taking my usual stroll and I intend to go to where I saw them the other day - in the huge mere where people go sunbathing when it's summer here. Luckily, I saw the male on the mere across from the bus stop close to my place so I ran back home to get my D Eye cause this might be the last day I could see them since they're not really often here and weeks after I spotted the first male, I haven't seen him again till I got lost in that huge mere. I spotted three male and one female in there. I suspect this couple is another batch.

I stalked the female and she swam here and there to avoid me and for some reasons she seem to know am after taking her picture even though there were coots, mallards and geese in that mere. Here, they're already giving me a stern look as if saying; "Stop it lady! You haven't got bread."

c2.jpg

c.jpg

I kept following them though they swam pretty fast till he decides he's had enough of me stalking his wife and spread his wings to lead her across the bridge on the far edge and luckily my D Eye was set on "sports setting" so I've managed to capture this. I know, they're not as clear as i want them to be but that was all in a split of a sec. Right click on the image and click open image in new tab to get to see it wee bigger than this.

c1.png

'course, I didn't give up that easy so they decided to fly further and cross the road to the bit hidden mere on the other side of the street probably thinking I don't know where they're going but of course, I know every nook in this place so I went exactly there and although they were both floating on the mere they seem to be waiting for me cause they were both looking at me and they didn't waste a chance and try to again, fly away far away from me.

a1.jpg

a1a.jpg

I've managed to capture one of them walking on the water like coots do, that's what coots usually do when they take off but apparently, this seem to be normal to these ducks, too.

They looked so clumsy during their short, sudden, out of panic flight compared to the ever graceful mallards.

c1a.jpg

I spotted another male under the bridge so I went there and as if they've already warned him, he swam towards his wife and all four of them swam far away from me. The male seem very protective so I had to keep distance cause I was worried they'd peck me in a duet but they seem kinder and tamer than the geese nor the swans.

c1b.jpg

I tried to get closer but they just kept clumsily flying away from me so I've decided to leave them alone. If they're not the same group in the huge mere that means, there's ten of them specially if they're also not the same male I've seen and presented to you earlier in this post.

c1c.png

Have you ever seen an unusual looking duck? Did it quack or did it bark? Maybe it's just me but I find this one's quack sounds more like a bark.

d5.jpg

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my D Eye.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Ivy,
I have a message for you here.

message received and thank you
don't worry I like learning after all I don't know it all :)
thanks a lot!

I sent you a reply at least we both don't have to go through all that scrolling again hahaha

don't worry I like learning after all I don't know it all :)

That's good to know!
I'm a bit cautious, because my ex-girlfriend didn't like it when I gave her unsolicited advice.

No, you never never never have to scroll again ;-)

Have a nice evening!

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Spending the day with ducks......can be tricky indeed.

Lovely photographs and write-up.

To answer your query...no...I never have heard a duck bark....looks like you have some readers who have now. ^__^

Appreciate the information.

Wishing you all the best mon ami.....A bientot.

Those "kuifeends" are called "tufted ducks" in English. You know I can't resist a challenge like that ;-) However, I never heard a duck bark, so I had to look up duck sounds:

https://www.thespruce.com/sounds-ducks-make-386223

Nature is really something. Never fails to surprise anew.

well it's worth it isn't it!

Depends. I was supposed to be in bed on account of an appointment tomorrow. You know how they say "tomorrow never comes"? Well, THEY'RE ALL LIARS!

which tomorrow? haha
there's many tomorrows in the calendar :D

...and if I order right now, I get an extra helping of the nicest ones at no extra charge?

Come to think of it, I've never seen real ducks in water ever.

wait .. I'll ask them to head to Singa tomorrow
hahaha
btw, some of the mallards are seen in South Korea these days
that's quite close isn't it?

Better not. They may end up on some dining table

ahahahah
I thought only the Peking would !

There are some stalls getting famous calling them London Fat Ducks.
Here is the evidence.

hahahahah you're very very funny!
good morning out there!

I had seen several videos on you tube of barking ducks, but I assumed it was a sound superimposed, now that you mention it in your post, I think they actually barked.
The images as seimpre very beautiful, I love the green color of the male, judging by the images was a very pleasant walk
Thank you very much for these beautiful images
I wish you a beautiful afternoon dear friend @englishtchrivy

thanks, I actually cropped them cause those two were swimming on the far end of that mere :D

Beautiful photography with nicely described.Thank's for sharing with us.@upvoted and resteemed.@englishtchrivy do you knoe anything about international mother language day?If you don't know then follow my blog og click this link https://steemit.com/blog/@rupok/international-mother-language-day

Have you read the story?Every one should know the true story behind international mother language day.Plz read it.

looks like a duck but that's what it is ...?

if I become a duck charmer, I really want to help you catch the ducks ..haha..

not allowed to catch them here :)

Wonderful story.
he swam towards his wife and all four of them swam far away from me.
I love the way you organised your words!

Woo very classy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70