Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #9 - Are you afraid of heights?

in #photography7 years ago

This is what i have been wanting to do for a long time already. i.e. Climbing the mast of a yacht and doing a selfie. Even though when you are watching from below it does not seem that high, but from the concern that you can see in my eyes you can see that things look a bit different from this perspective :) It is also rocking sideways and that amplitude up there is pretty noticeable :)

20160922_101854.jpg

Since we have arrived to this place at the dark already it was not until the next morning we could appreciate the whole beauty of the spot in between the islands that formed a calm lagoon to hide from the wind and waves since we anchored that night.

Click on the image to enlarge
20160922_095819.jpg

20160922_095934.jpg

20160922_100033.jpg

The weather was sunny and the water was clear. I have been asked a few times did we manage to catch some fish while sailing and now i can show you almost the only kind of fish we ever saw. Ain't much to catch, is it? :)

20160922_100001.jpg

With no catch again we set sail to Egina a small port city with amazing and ancient architecture.

20160922_125952.jpg

20160922_141247.jpg

20160922_174823.jpg

20160922_175057.jpg

Since we had no luck catching fish ourselves, we have visited a local market and tried asking how, where and when do they catch it. And again with little luck. Good fisherman never discloses good fishing locations :)

20160923_090749.jpg

But we were getting plenty of sunshine at least :)

20160923_084337.jpg

After exploring a city, having a dinner and a beer as usual we put ourselves at rest again till the next morning in our luxurious apartments :)

20160922_145944.jpg


Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #8 - Corinth Canal

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #7 - The Waves.

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #6 - Ancient Olive Tree Island

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #5 - If you feel too important...

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #4 - Set sail!

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #3 - Last day on the road

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #2 - Scammed Again :)

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #1 - Scammed

All images taken with Samsung S7 Edge
David aka @bescouted

Sort:  

steemit logic: if you post a travel whore on the pictures, you get 200-300 USD for a post. If its a normal guy, you get 10 USD

To be honest, i am not really concerned about this :) I am not that pretty and the world is not going to change :) I am doing this for myself, i getting this on the blockchain is assuring i will have my memories online all the time :) And i am getting paid for this so it is a win win for me. Also some other people have been here from the beginning and they have put much more time and work into it and have a much greater following. But thank you for your nice comment :) I'm cool, i'm really cool with ladies getting more money :) At least here they earn more than men so we have sex equality through different ways of making money lol

the images of the water's are amazing
& to answer the question
No ,but i don't like heights mate

Thanks, neither do i :) But i had to do it to get that picture lol

Nice photos, beautiful blue waters, little fishies. Now you know great photos can be taken from the top of the mast :) cheers

Yes they can :) actually i have seen some guys do before, that is why i wanted to make on too :)

looks like the weather is improving on your trip! Were you worried at all that being at the top of the mast might capsize your boat? ;)

Not really, the weight they put underneath the boat for ballast is probably 20 time more than my weight. But given a Galilee saying give me a long enough leverage and i can move the moon if the mast was some 20 times longer i could probably manage that lol

lol! anything is possible with the right leverage ;)

Could not agree more :)

I would like to see this blue water, If I am honest then I have not been able to touch this blue water really, only seen on the pictures...... But soon, but soon.. :)

I am sure you will :) And since you have waited for it so long you will really appreciate it :) Things that we get easy are of low value to us, no matter how valuable they might be to the others. Like... health while we are healthy.

Thank you!!

i just checked the google streets of Egina and via www.rome2rio.com i found the way to get there as fast and easy as possible.
but there are so many beautiful Greece Islands - one of them i visited just less then one month ago :-) thank you again for the great story and an info

You are welcome, and you are right, there are so many and each of them is different and unique in their own way.

Hah! I'm not afraid of heights but I must admit, that view you have there with the boat looking so tiny is a little alarming... :D Wonderful views and that water looks fantastic! Catching up with your trip... ;)

Too much reading isn't? Yes rocking up there was really scary but I'm happy that everything ended okay. Have been wanting to do this kind of selfie for quite a long time. I am happy I finally did it:)

Nooo, not at all... But so many stories... so lil time... :) No worries, I will overcome... lol
Am glad you accomplished something you set your mind to - Congrats!! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66