Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #5 - If you feel too important...

in #photography7 years ago

If you think that holiday on a yacht is only sunshine and butterflies, think again :)

We woke up to leave Odyseas Marina in Katomeri for Vigla.

The morning was cloudy and it promised a rainy day.
20160918_145510.jpg

The wind would scatter the clouds occasionally, but the water blue was not the same.
20160918_112015.jpg

So it did not take long to for some heavy rain to pour. Does not feel like a holiday at all...
20160918_161055.jpg

Of course we were rewarded with a rainbow here...
20160918_161759.jpg


And a scrap of a blue sky there..
20160918_164637.jpg

But for a guy who lives in a country that has two seasons... i.e. 9 month of AUTUMN and 3 months of NO SUMMER second day of sailing while first being short and the second rainy...
20160919_090640.jpg

FUCK IT it.. you can flag this blog post as you wasted time reading it. Because like that rain was not enough we got bashed to the pier all night long by a storm.
20160919_064036.jpg

You can't tell from the pictures, but when you hear that wind wailing in the slings and boat bashing into pier and rubbing into rubber banks... It is some of experience that pays for the lack of the sun :)
20160919_064044.jpg

You just feel so small and powerless.

can not even imagine what a real storm that lasts days or even weeks feels in the middle of the ocean with waves of 10 meters and more rocking your small boat... and i hope i never will. My respect to all who went through it.

Stay tuned for further adventure with @BeScouted

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #4 - Set sail!

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #3 - Last day on the road

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #2 - Scammed Again :)

Travel with me: Sailing Greece, Day #1 - Scammed

Sort:  

Great and Wonderful post! Upvoted. Plis help me Upvoting my lasts posts and Follow me!! I follow back always!!👍👍🙈

There is no butterflies on yacht!

Did you ever watch "Deadliest Catch"... on Discovery or Nat Geo (Can't remember now). They get those extreme weather in the sea.

Yes, i saw it :) Those guys are working in crazy conditions :) But they are quite well paid and on the vacation you want to have sunshine! :)

They get payed if the catch those crabs. But those conditions are super extreme!
Hope you get the sunshine then :) Don't get sunburn!

I would probably die on those waves, hate storm on water, I've been on cruiser during the storm once and after that decided sailing is not for me 😊

I feel your, there is very little romance during the storm on the boat :) Or maybe on the contrary :)

I don't get seasick easily, but never experienced a storm at sea, hope I never will... Keep safe...

It's ok when all ends well you feel somewhat refreshed and learn to enjoy simple things once again. But it requires to experience how fragile our lives are to understand this.

Yes... so agree with what you said!

all this sounds too crazy.. ! thank you for your stories !

Thank you for reading it :)

Nice post mate. I like that you're showing the reality, holidays aren't always sunshine and bikinis :)

They definitely are not :) But even though i long for sunshine so much i also like different experiences as well.

The more different experiences the better! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66