Tips to get a photo pass, from a professional concert photographer

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

In the past years as a house photographer at a venue, I've encountered a large amount of really amazing experiences. I also hoard quite a bit of photos that have never been published. I'd be happy to give these images a home here.

Being in the industry gives me a chance to encounter meet and greets I'd have never expected but also introduced times where I felt very small.

With each event I've progressed but the same question remains, no matter the pay - how can YOU get involved with this dream gig?

I'd like to share some tips on how to get that elusive photo pass.

1.) Be polite. Type up the most professional e-mail you can. Don't forget to mention who you shoot for and where the images will be seen.

2.) Know your contacts. The first resource is to contact the venue's management team or the marketing/social media department. They get a specific number of photo passes, most which go unused except for by the house photographer. If they say no, don't worry - the management for the artist may be a little more lenient (trust me, this is an outlet everyone fears to try and it can work out at least half of the time in your favor).

3.) Start a blog! You don't need a career job a huge newspaper to get into gigs - start by reviewing small and local concerts that would be happy to have you to build a portfolio. This could be your foundation source - and foot in the door! This is how I was hired as a photojournalist for the Indiana Gazette and the made a venue house photographer.

4.) Plan ahead. You're not going to get a photo pass the day before, at least two weeks if not more prior to the event is an acceptable amount of time to ask.

5.) Have fun! This is important, because most concerts pay very little if anything, if you're in it to make big money this is not the industry!

If you have any additional questions - ask! I'm more than happy to share my experiences and stories.
Let me know if you'd like to see more from this side of me as I learn to tailor my blog.

xoxo
Beckie-Ann
www.beckieanngalentine.com

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @beckieann! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

Welcome! We are glad to have you.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

great shots! I used to do concert and band photography years ago....I hope to get back into it at some point. Looking forward to seeing more shots!

Thank you! I've followed you and am excited for your posts!

Hello @beckieann. Thank you for sharing your photos.

Friendly Reminder:
1. If you shoot this photo yourself but share at other web site before post on Steemit, please remember to link back to the web site because Cheetah is very clever.
2. If you share someone else photos, please remember to link back the sources of the photos and add some value by adding your own thought or comment.

Photography Slogan: A camera that puts a world of possibilities at your fingertips. Literally.

Hello @beckieann Great introduceyourself post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a couple of weeks, a can tell youThat steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!
Randowhale update 1

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to the Steemfamily !!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38