Ready for Takeoff

in #photofeed6 years ago

Reykjavik's Hallgrímskirkja doesn't have anything in common with the churches that I have seen! The huge concrete construction looks like something that was born in the mind of a die-hard communist architect. It instantly reminded me of Buzludzha - the abandoned communist monument in Bulgaria.

P1170983_1.jpg

Hallgrímskirkja is also minimalist on the inside - big windows that let light in and nothing redundant or kitschy to distract you. Very different compared to the Bulgarian Orthodox churches, which are typically dark, with big chandeliers, and with lots of icons and candles. Does anyone know if all Lutheran churches are like the one in Reykjavik?

P1170976.jpg

The benches were nicely padded and comfortable, and there was a shiny big pipe organ.

P1170975.jpg

I don't know this guy...

P1170985.jpg

The rocket-shaped church is located on top of a hill in the centre of Reykjavik.

P1170987_1.jpg

Have you seen a weirder looking church?

Thanks for stopping by!

Dan


I know this girl - @agniese
P1170973.jpg

Sort:  

Look at you getting all churchie!! 😇

Amazing minimalist linear shots.....there are lines everywhere. I feel like someone with OCD following the lines inside the church photos!! hehe....

Lutheran church buildings are usually plain inside. No statues, or ornate stuff. Simple.

I love the quaint little street in contrast to the modern other worldly building that is used as a church....very scary looking in a way.

I see @agniese rocking it in the front pew. Interesting :)

Nice post - very clean looking....the soft greys mixed with soft green , golden lighting and lots of wood - I like it. But it doesn't match the charm of the village. It would be interesting to know who created the architecture and why. Most towns build to keep a certain feel or theme. I can't think of the word. ha! Annoying brain.

Dan, church and rock & roll? Okay, it sounds weird... Anyway, that's a good point - "the village". Because the shots were taken in a capital city. But it's true that Reykjavik is more a town alike.

Dan, church and rock & roll?

😁 Would you agree that Iceland is a country for weirdos?

Did you manage to read the story behind the church? If not, take a look at the link that I sent to @countrygirl - there are some weird facts.

Hey, I moved there! Sure you cannot be "normal" to live in Iceland ;)
Thank, I'm gonna check it out!

Haha! You world like Hoven, South Dakota, if you like the mismatch between village and church. Some German guy, back in the 1800's had this idea that, if he built a huge cathedral in a farming community, in the middle of the pains, people would come. They didn't.

I feel like someone with OCD following the lines inside the church

Hahah 😁 I knew you are going to love it!

Yes, the building is a complete mismatch with the rest of the architecture. I think it was built by an Icelandic architect who was inspired by the countryside nature. Wow, I just read some pretty crazy facts about it: https://theculturetrip.com/europe/iceland/articles/a-brief-history-of-hallgrimskirkja-icelands-picturesque-church/

By the way, in the city where I stayed, most churches looked weird :) Imagine something like a warehouse that has been transformed into a church. I should have taken photos of them.

I see you guys in Canada are almost 50%/50% catholics and protestants.

Agniese is always willing to pose for me 😁 Great model!

Most non denominational churches are very warehouse like. Not big church buildings with steeples and the like that you are used with the Orthodox ones. You won't usually find pews, but rows of chairs. No organ, but a band and a screen hanging at the front to project words for the songs. Some even rent out old theatres. I can see that looking strange to you. It was for me as well. I grew up in the catholic church and grew away from that and am a non denominational type of christian. In other words, I don't have a label to identify me to a group, like a Baptist Christian, or Pentecostal Christian, or Luthern Christian type of thing. My identify comes from knowing Christ. Makes it way simpler.

But there are still many old church buildings around, some very ornate - mostly of the catholic variety or eastern orthodox and within the protestant denominations you will see plainer versions without the pomp and circumstance decor.

I visited a very old church in a small town - it was not being used and was for sale - my son was going to purchase it for the land so he could instal solar panels. Anyways, the church building was amazing. I wanted some of the pews - they were the kind you'd see in a movie theatre but without padding - all gorgeous wood and the seats pulled up like at the show. I really did want a couple for my house - they'd be very interesting. And I also wanted the pulpit. It would have made a great computer stand. :) But the building was full of mold, there was no way I'd want to bring that into my house. It's too bad it was in such condition bc it was deemed an historic site and wasn't allowed to be torn down (which is why my son didn't buy the property). It was the church that was started by the first female evangelist. Ami Semple McPherson. She had quite the history - a lot of scandal - true or not, I don't know - but it was interesting.

The Iceland building is amazing. That photo of the ceiling that you didn't take - the one from the link you posted (achem - very surprised as it was minimal and had gorgeous lines) is beautiful and I can see why you said somewhere that the acoustics are most likely fabulous. I can almost feel the base from that organ playing. I still enjoy music like that.

Agniese is a beautiful model, not camera shy at all. :)

Just a short comment for your reading pleasure :)

Just a short comment for your reading pleasure :)

Haha, I love your short comments! :) It's a pity that you were not able to get some of those pews - I am sure they would have been a great addition to your collection of chairs :)

I remember now that I have several pictures from a church that was no longer in use. A few years back, we (I and my ex-ex) went to a village up in the mountains, and upon seeing us with cameras, a young man asked us if we could snap some photos of the local church. They were to be used in a book about the village. We agreed, of course, so we went to the house of an old lady that kept the keys. She took us to the building and said: "Don't be worried, you can enter everywhere and touch everything." That was the first and only time I had the chance to explore a church in a proper way.

I will share a couple of photos with you once I get back home :)

P.S. Photos
DSCF0048.jpg

DSCF0041.jpg

My chairs!!! thanks for reminding me :) I love chairs. and books.....and maybe dishes....in that order :)

What a sweet lady to allow you inside to explore. Did you get a copy of the book they were making? That would be a nice keep sake.

I look forward to that post about this little church and the village - and myabe about your ex ex. haha...never heard that term before.

Haha, that's the one before my ex-girlfriend 😁 Too many exes, Deb.

I didn't get a copy of the book, unfortunately, and apart from 4-5 church shots, I have no pictures from the village itself. We visited it during a cold day in March. I don't think I will write a post about it, sorry :)

thats okay :) No worries.

Got some "man in black" flash back on the photo of the man in the front.
Science fiction feeling over it super cool. in my home town in norway the church is a octagonal stone church. not weirder but its unusual.

That is so beautiful @norwegianbikeman.....!

yes its a super nice place it u are in norway one time u most visit Gubransdalen in the summer time :)

Wow! That's a pretty one, and the scenery is amazing, too! With such a steply sloped roof, it must be an exceptionally snowy area...

What a cute looking small church 😊 Maybe this would sound weird, but the graveyard is pretty cool, too! Where are you from in Norway? Are people religious there?

You know, I spent 4 years living in Denmark and I never went to Norway...

actually is room for 750 in there :)
this is Sør fron is in the middle of norway 80km from Lillehammer where the 1994 olympics where held.
in the my village is 300 people ish its 4km from the church is called baksia like the back side because the sun i gone there most of the year. :)

Are people religious there?

not anymore, but my grandmother and my mother are

a spend a couple of summer in Denmark one of my father faders friend
had a summer house on fyn

Wow, so it only gives the impression of being small? :)

How did you find Fyn and Denmark compared to Norway? I spent 2 years in Odense, and the summer houses around Fyn were quite nice :)

its almost the same a think the Norwegian people are more quiet.
a haven't been to Denmark in many years. so a bit vague on the how it is there but a remember is was super nice it had straw roof. where we stayed.

Wow... That does look like it's about to take off! It looks nicer inside, in my opinion. Can you climb to the top? It looks like it has a set of bells up there, and I bet the view is spectacular!

Oh yes, you can climb but you'll have to pay something like 10 euros :) considering it's the tallest building in town, I assume it would be worth paying the money :))

10 euros seems kind of steep, pun intended :) but it would be cool to see the design on that entrance sidewalk from above.

I will climb up there next time im in Reykjavik :))

Beautiful. I have never seen any pics inside that building before. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting, Robert :) Glad that you liked it!

That building looks intriguing. Does it have six floors or?... because judging by interior photos it doesnt look crazy high inside. I have never seen church with pudded seats before 😊 and those organs look spectacular. At first I thought that you’ve done color isolation on photos, untill I saw people inside it. Great post and photos dear!

Thank you so much Di! You can actually climb up the tower for a small fee :) I think the view towards the city will be awesome. What do you have there in Australia in terms of church architecture? I'm asking everyone, lol 😂

Hahahhaha...Adelaide is city of churces, so you name it, you will find it here...there are three in area that I’m living in...

I bet you don't have an Orthodox church 😁

Yes we have, few of them...which one you prefer, Serbian, Russian, Greek, Macedonian...told you you name it you will find it here 😉. You will force me to start taking photos of them, hahhahaha

Haha! So you have many minorities living in Adelaide :)

Beautiful. An alien spaceship landed - and that's where they put it. Love the lines.

The lines are dope, man! Check out the link I shared to my Buzludzha post - I think it's my second post on Steemit. That's a proper spaceship!

How are you doing, by the way? I haven't got much time lately for beer posts.

I'm doing well, thanks for asking.See now, I'm thinking the inside of the church would have been a great place for a beer post.
I tried to get a good picture of the Mormon temple in San Diego for you, but I couldn't pull it up. I could go take a picture, but, you know, that's a lot of work. :-)) Anyway, if you're so inclined, you could look it up - - absolutely a spaceship, but more like one humans would make. Cheers. Glad you made it safely there and backagain.

I'm thinking the inside of the church would have been a great place for a beer post.

Haha! What a great idea! Knowing the temper of some of our orthodox priests, however, I will have to be extra careful when taking the pictures, as it could end up with me being anathematized and kicked out of the church 😁

I looked the Mormon temple up, and it left me speechless! Wow, is it made of marble?

Thanks for the pictures. I found one at a time and they really didn't show it.

Thanks man! Bizarre architecture at its best :)

I don't know what it's made of. It's very visible by the major freeway from San Diego to LA. Two different spaceships. :-)) Each is striking in it's own strange way. Cool.

Thanks for sharing! Nice pics!

I find it interesting that this edifice would trigger in you an association with Buzludzha. I take it this is a negative association? Or not?

On a different note, the word "church" shouldn't even be in the Bible or in our vocabulary. It's not a word that comes from Scripture. I would call this edifice a religious temple. But again, that's me and I realize most people don't care what words they use, even if horribly wrong.

Thanks for your comment, George! Glad that you liked the pics 😊

There are no negative associations - I love such type of architecture (I'm not sure though if the architecture of this temple can be classified as Brutalism, and Buzludzha is one of my favorite monuments :)

I didn't know about the word church. Are you religious?

The Communist monument which looks like a mix between a gigantic toilet bowl a flying saucer? You find that “thing” what? Artistic? Everything it stands for is evil and I hope to God is gets blown up ASAP!

What does “religious” mean according to you?

Omg... Get lost and away from my blog, please!

Why so triggered? The only people I know who get triggered like this when I call Communism for the evil that it is, are flaming liberals. In which case, I wear it as badge of honor!

What a stunning building!

Absolutely, and it looks kind of out of place :) But I like it! Thanks for your comment, man 🙏

Nope haven't seen a weirder looking church! :o) It's really cool though..

Glad that you liked it man :))

That does look pretty weird @irreverent-dan, especially when you see it at the end of a street like that. On it's own it reminds me of a mantle clock.

I find it too plain for my taste inside but then I'm not a lover of grey in any situation. The organ looks pretty stunning though, a work of art in it's own right. 😊

Can we agree that it's a weird looking mantle clock, as there's an actual clock on the top? 😁

I wonder how the organ sounds in such an empty building. I guess the acoustics will be amazing.

Are there primarily protestants in the UK?

Ok. Agree. it's a weird looking mantle clock @irreverent-dan! 😁

I wondered the exact same thing about the acoustics and also thought they would be good. Maybe that's why it is built the way it is.

I would say there are primarily non religious people in the UK. But of the denominations I think protestants out number Catholics.

Wishing you a fun weekend! 😊

Thanks Gillian, have a great week ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99