You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ready for Takeoff

in #photofeed6 years ago

Look at you getting all churchie!! 😇

Amazing minimalist linear shots.....there are lines everywhere. I feel like someone with OCD following the lines inside the church photos!! hehe....

Lutheran church buildings are usually plain inside. No statues, or ornate stuff. Simple.

I love the quaint little street in contrast to the modern other worldly building that is used as a church....very scary looking in a way.

I see @agniese rocking it in the front pew. Interesting :)

Nice post - very clean looking....the soft greys mixed with soft green , golden lighting and lots of wood - I like it. But it doesn't match the charm of the village. It would be interesting to know who created the architecture and why. Most towns build to keep a certain feel or theme. I can't think of the word. ha! Annoying brain.

Sort:  

Dan, church and rock & roll? Okay, it sounds weird... Anyway, that's a good point - "the village". Because the shots were taken in a capital city. But it's true that Reykjavik is more a town alike.

Dan, church and rock & roll?

😁 Would you agree that Iceland is a country for weirdos?

Did you manage to read the story behind the church? If not, take a look at the link that I sent to @countrygirl - there are some weird facts.

Hey, I moved there! Sure you cannot be "normal" to live in Iceland ;)
Thank, I'm gonna check it out!

Haha! You world like Hoven, South Dakota, if you like the mismatch between village and church. Some German guy, back in the 1800's had this idea that, if he built a huge cathedral in a farming community, in the middle of the pains, people would come. They didn't.

I feel like someone with OCD following the lines inside the church

Hahah 😁 I knew you are going to love it!

Yes, the building is a complete mismatch with the rest of the architecture. I think it was built by an Icelandic architect who was inspired by the countryside nature. Wow, I just read some pretty crazy facts about it: https://theculturetrip.com/europe/iceland/articles/a-brief-history-of-hallgrimskirkja-icelands-picturesque-church/

By the way, in the city where I stayed, most churches looked weird :) Imagine something like a warehouse that has been transformed into a church. I should have taken photos of them.

I see you guys in Canada are almost 50%/50% catholics and protestants.

Agniese is always willing to pose for me 😁 Great model!

Most non denominational churches are very warehouse like. Not big church buildings with steeples and the like that you are used with the Orthodox ones. You won't usually find pews, but rows of chairs. No organ, but a band and a screen hanging at the front to project words for the songs. Some even rent out old theatres. I can see that looking strange to you. It was for me as well. I grew up in the catholic church and grew away from that and am a non denominational type of christian. In other words, I don't have a label to identify me to a group, like a Baptist Christian, or Pentecostal Christian, or Luthern Christian type of thing. My identify comes from knowing Christ. Makes it way simpler.

But there are still many old church buildings around, some very ornate - mostly of the catholic variety or eastern orthodox and within the protestant denominations you will see plainer versions without the pomp and circumstance decor.

I visited a very old church in a small town - it was not being used and was for sale - my son was going to purchase it for the land so he could instal solar panels. Anyways, the church building was amazing. I wanted some of the pews - they were the kind you'd see in a movie theatre but without padding - all gorgeous wood and the seats pulled up like at the show. I really did want a couple for my house - they'd be very interesting. And I also wanted the pulpit. It would have made a great computer stand. :) But the building was full of mold, there was no way I'd want to bring that into my house. It's too bad it was in such condition bc it was deemed an historic site and wasn't allowed to be torn down (which is why my son didn't buy the property). It was the church that was started by the first female evangelist. Ami Semple McPherson. She had quite the history - a lot of scandal - true or not, I don't know - but it was interesting.

The Iceland building is amazing. That photo of the ceiling that you didn't take - the one from the link you posted (achem - very surprised as it was minimal and had gorgeous lines) is beautiful and I can see why you said somewhere that the acoustics are most likely fabulous. I can almost feel the base from that organ playing. I still enjoy music like that.

Agniese is a beautiful model, not camera shy at all. :)

Just a short comment for your reading pleasure :)

Just a short comment for your reading pleasure :)

Haha, I love your short comments! :) It's a pity that you were not able to get some of those pews - I am sure they would have been a great addition to your collection of chairs :)

I remember now that I have several pictures from a church that was no longer in use. A few years back, we (I and my ex-ex) went to a village up in the mountains, and upon seeing us with cameras, a young man asked us if we could snap some photos of the local church. They were to be used in a book about the village. We agreed, of course, so we went to the house of an old lady that kept the keys. She took us to the building and said: "Don't be worried, you can enter everywhere and touch everything." That was the first and only time I had the chance to explore a church in a proper way.

I will share a couple of photos with you once I get back home :)

P.S. Photos
DSCF0048.jpg

DSCF0041.jpg

My chairs!!! thanks for reminding me :) I love chairs. and books.....and maybe dishes....in that order :)

What a sweet lady to allow you inside to explore. Did you get a copy of the book they were making? That would be a nice keep sake.

I look forward to that post about this little church and the village - and myabe about your ex ex. haha...never heard that term before.

Haha, that's the one before my ex-girlfriend 😁 Too many exes, Deb.

I didn't get a copy of the book, unfortunately, and apart from 4-5 church shots, I have no pictures from the village itself. We visited it during a cold day in March. I don't think I will write a post about it, sorry :)

thats okay :) No worries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79