Basil Life

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

So many plates of spaghetti
Garnished from these leaves
From the leaves of one seed

A seed I planted in a cup
Left on the window seal
Flowered and grown shoots

The plant that filled the room
With fresh air and life
Bent to the path of the sun

The fate of a cut rose
It withers and dies
A cut basil grows

Afraid of what will be
I put it in a cup

Slowly roots appeared
Out of nowhere
Shooting from the stem

Leaves give fragrance once again
A plate of spaghetti
A salad bowl
Leaves
Nourish my stomach
Through what I grew

The original basil was cut but is growing back

This is my poem for day 89 in the 100 day poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) All images here are from my cellphone. This tells a small part of my window garden story. If you are ever in Korea then call me and I will give you some fresh basil.

Verse of the Day/ Revelation 22:2

“And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.”

Mineopoly Quote:

Let it grow

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Clean Water
COM Cartoon
Old School
Ticket to the Moon
Singing Room
Joe DJ
Eagle Spirit
Shut Down
Poetry Slam
Who Cares?
Some Day
Fish Tales
Steeped Tea Bag
Community
Freedom
Bukhansan National Park

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

Do you know any other stems that take root in water?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

I could use a sprig of basil in a Bloody Mary right now. 😃 🍹. Nice to have your own homegrown herb, Christopher. Lovely ode to basil .

Now you are talking sister. Tomorrow is a Korean holiday and that sounds like a good way to spend my afternoon. I will have a ton of Basil waiting for you when you get to Korea.

Excellent poem "organic". Beautiful metaphor of life despite the difficulties. Good work, my friend. Bravo!

Thank you @zeleiracordero. We are really all connected whether we like it or not.

I could have done some research first but I just wanted to test what would happen to the stem in water...

I was so happy when it took root.

It is painful for me to cut it off and it is painful for the plant but it grows stronger.

How much wisdom, my friend!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

beautiful poetry and photos. and i like way you refer to them as spaghetti 😃

Hahahaha.... you caught it. I have the day off tomorrow too. This day is turning out to be ok.

"Basil life" is a poem that uses the basil plant as a symbol of reproductive life, of nature as a mother that allows her children to reproduce and multiply. Life producing life from a seed or stem and a little water and sun.
Another present aspect is the satisfaction for the production of food in the home. Nothing more rewarding, I spend it every day with my little garden.
He has done a great job, reminding us of the importance of the seemingly simple and that is as great as the life that God granted us. Congratulations, friend.

Right on brother @corderosiete you got the point. A little garden gives great satisfaction. I'm glad you can enjoy your garden and good luck. I really hope will all finish these last ten days strong.

As one in-a-cup gardener to other, I love your poem.

Your poem characterised by a style that discreet and hushed. The simplicity defies the complex theory about existence while unerringly ease the taste of contemporary readers.

You nailed it. The words are usually simple and humorous but there is a story behind them not written directly. why write about relationships when you can write about basil?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.21
ETH 3313.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38