It's time for an old-fashioned Barn Raising STEEMIT style to help a Steemian in need: @klye

in #payitforward8 years ago

According to Amish America, a barn raising is synonymous to hard work, community, and socializing, all in an effort for mutual aid to fulfill a practical need. Supplies, livestock and labor are provided for free from the community because they know one day they may need help. citation


image source

What is a "frolic"?

In Amish terms, a "frolic" is a joint cooperative work project in a social atmosphere. As many of you know, several hands on a hard project makes it seem easy. Plus, when you have the backing of an entire community behind you, there is a sense of security. You are not alone. Someone has got your back.

Ohio Amish Barnraising


What's @klye got to do with this?

Not many people, myself included, are humble enough - or strong enough - to ask for help. To express one's vulnerabilities is something I admire and something I personally need to work on because there have been times when I needed help but pride got in the way.

Do you know where pride got me? Absolutely nowhere. I've had cars repossessed, my house foreclosed on, bill collectors galore. Asking for help is not an easy thing for me to do.

Others have asked for help and the community responded

@l0k1 needs help for shelter and food -- and I just read that his Dell laptop is dead. Oh no! He's currently staying in a shelter located in an old prison.

@everlove asked the community for help to get to Steemfest. Her contributions on Steemit and at the @gardenofeden are recognized because she gives so much of herself and asks very little in return. She lives about as minimally as anyone can.

Getting back to @klye

He's a backup witness and has been busting his ass trying to get to the top 19 Witness list for a somewhat steady gig. He's currently at #27. I know that witness pay has been dramatically affected since the December 6th hardfork, to the point where many Witnesses are putting Steemit projects, initiatives, and sponsorship on hold.

He has donated an extraordinary amount of time, effort and resources to make Steemit a better place. And you know what? Steemit has made him a better person. Read about his journey from troll to advocate - or better yet, read about his current situation.

I haven't known @klye for very long and I don't know him well but I have been keeping an eye on his witness progress and the projects he's been developing like Steem.global (a steem faucet) and Steem-roller (a provably fair game of chance in development) - and, of course there is his amazing art work


image source


What can YOU do?

I am not one to tell anyone what to do or how to do it. I'm really only the boss of me, get it? But here are some suggestions on how you help anyone on Steemit who may be in need.

  • Direct donation - send STEEM or SBD directly to the recipient.
  • Donate proceeds from your post - Write a post. State your intention to donate to a person or cause.
  • Upvote and/or resteem their content
  • Share their post on your other social media
  • Advocate for your community because one day you may need them.

Come frolic with me!

This is a 50/50 post. All proceeds in STEEM & SBD will be donated to @klye

Additionally, @timcliff surprised me with my
Name In Lights and awarded me the proceeds from his post!

What a blessing and generous gift!

I paid it forward by donating 10 SBD to @klye.

Yeah, @timcliff - I totally wrapped it up and regifted it. LOL

Screen shot of @klye's wallet


One last thing...

I'm omitting my usual signature line for this public service announcement.

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

#payitforward

Sort:  

Tell me how to donate some steem and I'll be happy to do it. I don't know @kyle, but you never know!

@richq11 - thank you so much! That is very kind of you.
If you go to your wallet, select the drop down of STEEM or STEEM DOLLARS
Select TRANSFER.
In the box for TO: you can send funds to anyone. Do not include the @ in front of a user name. In klye's case - just type in

klye

not kyle
You may add an additional note and then click SEND. A confirmation window will pop up and then you're done :)

Excellent @richq11! That is very kind of you. Every bit helps, doesn't it?
Have a wonderful weekend.

<3

I hope so...I don't do this for the money. Good thing...If I was to do an article and donate the proceeds, Klye would have got 12 cents!

LOL It kind of looks like @klye might only get a dollar from me at this point, which is why I also donated $10 sbd to the cause. it was found/given funds. Easy come, easy go, right? :)

Thank you very much Rich! <3

Haha, I though his name was kyle for sooo long. It was funny when I realized it was klye :p

UV&RS. Don't fully understand the whole witness thing, but trust your judgement and willingness to help someone, mostly based on our interaction talking about fathers a couple weeks ago!

Thank you for the Upvite and Resteem @anarchrysalis
I'm still learning my way around the witnesses and what they do. The easiest way I can explain it is Witnesses from around the world set up and sync their equipment to run/host Steemit. By outsourcing it, Steem, Inc. does not have a lot of overhead costs by housing and cooling a building full of servers. This offsets operational costs and is largely why we can sign up and earn without actually investing first into Steemit. It's way more complex than that but I encourage you to read the User Guide to Steem Witnesses. You will have a better appreciation for the inner workings and why Witness votes are so important. :)

I saw that and read through his page-definitely a worthy barn raising. Donated.

Thank you @dreemit.
There are so many people who are right on the edge of need here - but many of us don't show it because we want to put up a good front. But it's amazing how people will help one another if asked.
Oh! Check out @skapaneas' post - he's shared an art piece to collaborate on. Dali - I thought you'd like to join in and play :)

I love the payitforward ideal (I watched that movie many, many times :) I will check it out, thanks!

Thanks a ton dreemit. :)

No problem, wish I could do more! I'll get there ;)

It's so cool to pay it forward on Steemit, right?

Indeed! I think it's cool to pay it forward with every opportunity. Even if it's just a smile. :D

Excellent post my great friend @ merej99, congratulations for this action,
I already made my contribution to the account of friend Klye.
Thank you so much for what you do for the community and the people that make up. thanks for sharing. This valuable information

That is wonderful @jlufer and I am sure he will much appreciate your kindness and generosity.
I fear I may have more payitforward posts to highlight steemit friends in need. I can't give much but I can shed light on them and donate a few posts. :)

What a great post! More proof that you are awesome :) (Resteemed)

Thank you for the resteem, Tim!
How was your anniversary celebration? Did you two completely nerd out or did you leave the house for a decent dinner?

It went well! We did a little bit of both. We ended up getting Red Lobster take-out and eating it at home :)

RED LOBSTER.
::droooooling::
They have take out now??? Dang. I need to get out more.

Yeah - it's so much cheaper too when you don't spend on drinks + tip :)

Wow. thank you a million merej99 for creating this post.

<3 I have to admit I didn't expect such community response.

Dare I say you're my biggest fan on here?! Thank you again lovely!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Up voted and resteemed! Good luck to you in your #payitforward endeavor ! Steeming on !

Thank you Karen! You are very appreciated. And I'm so glad I can send Klye more than $1 tomorrow. LOL I was a bit worried. :)

Lol ! Im the same way ! I have been replying to him to keep his post going and I resteemed 3 blogs about it ! Wishing him much luck ! 👌👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31